Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Question About An Alcoholic Beverage
0

15 posts in this topic

Hi!

Does anyone know if Mike's Hard Lemonade is gluten free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

If you are in the U.S. it is NOT gluten-free. Neither are any of the other drinks like Sminoff Ice, Zima, Bacardi Coolers, etc. If you read the carton or the bottle they all say "malted," which means barley. Even all or almost all wine coolers are now malted. The only exception I can think of is the Kahlua bottled drinks.

In Canada, most or all of these drinks are made with liquor and are gluten-free. The difference is that in the U.S. drinks with liquor are taxed at a much higher rate than malted drinks. So the companies malt them to make them more affordable.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, what about Kaluha? I love it, but it is made with vodka (many of which are made with grain and not potato).

I tried the vodka I had at home after going gluten-free and it cramped up my stomach. So I looked and of course, mine was a grain product. :angry: I am looking for potato vodka in my little town so that I can add that in as an evening refreshment.

So back to my question, is Kaluha made with grain or potato vodka (the bottle doesn't say). I would try it but my reactions seem to be intensifying so that even cross-contamination is giving me problems.

I am currenly trying to create my OWN Margarita mix, one that does not have corn syrup since tequilla does not bother me at all.

As to other adult beverages, even rice beer has gluten which I had been hoping was safe.

-Kate

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

haha i think i post too much about alcohol but here i go again..

cider (except hornsby's) makes a great alternative to beer

whisky is gluten-free - bushmill's is a good brand jack d is ok too

i'm guessing you know wine and champagne are ok too

i just got that beer from ramapovalleybrewery.com it's ok i guess. luckily i live close enough to pick so i can avoid shipping costs. it's sort of like honey wine but kind of like beer too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




it's ok cos of the distillation process

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kaluha is gluten-free according to the manufacturer. I don't know what the vodka is from and it doesn't matter because even if you start with wheat, distilling takes out the part of the wheat that harms us. All distillers, all the big celiac groups (yes, even CSA), the dietician associations in the U.S. and Canada, and grain scientists agree on this. The only way a distilled beverage would have gluten is if it was added after distilling.

Kate, if you're still nervous about this there are also numerous vodkas made from corn. All Smirnoff's vodkas come from corn.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And Ciroq vodka is made from grapes. Expensive, but I think it's better than both Stoli and GreyGoose. ;-) (I was part of a dorm suite that served as a bar... we got snooty about our alcohol! ;-) )

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks!!!! I may try the Kaluha tomorrow...the weekend coffee just doesn't seem complete without it. I cannot have corn either so that one is out but thanks.

The vodka I did have (can't remember the label) did give me problems so I have been avoiding anything close and it said it was a grain product.

Rum is gluten-free - some of the dark rums may have carmel coloring which "can" contain gluten but mine doesn't seem to bother me.

Wine is my current staple.

-Kate

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i like drinkin scotch whiskey, tequila, and rum are those all gluten-free drinks?...i have no idea :huh:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As a I said, if it's distilled and no gluten is added after distilling, it's gluten-free.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are any of the Puckers (Apple, Grape, etc.) gluten-free? How about After Shock and 99 Apples? I can't find any info on those.

Thanks,

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Last weekend (labor Day) I did a goggle search for "gluten free alcoholic beverages" and the search brought me to this site and listed 3 pages of gluten-free beverages, I felt like a kid at christmas! Give it a try and see if your drink of choice is listed.

Melissa

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The home page of this website will link you to alcoholic drinks that are OK. As someone else posted, the distillation process removes gluten from grain alcohols. It has vodka, gin, rum, whisky, tequilla, etc. all listed as OK. With rum however, be careful of the dark rums because there might be coloring added.

Actually, this may sound odd, but I seem to NEED whisky.... :o I'm wondering if I'm getting some kind of mineral value from the grain used to make it, but without the gluten. If I have one or two drinks of whisky, the next day I feel GREAT, like I've had a shot of vitamins or something. I don't get that with wine or other alcohol. :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,131
    • Total Posts
      919,522
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Cyclinglady is absolutely correct, after hours of internet research the only gluten-free food available at JNB is a fast food chain called 'Nandos'. I was hoping for a bit more variety, but I'll take what I get.   
    • I'm so confused about my daughter's diagnosis.  I hope somebody can help.   My 4 year old daughter has a swollen belly, stomachaches, and lots of gas.  She does not have diarrhea or delayed growth.  Because of her symptoms and because it runs in the family (2nd degree relatives) I had her tested for celiac.   She was weak positive for TTG (IGA)  and strong positive for DGP (IGG)   TTG (IGA)  8   (0-3 neg, 4-10 weak positive, greater than 10 positive) TTG (IGG)  2   EMA: Negative DGP (IGG)  47  (0-19 negative, 20-30 weak positive, greater than 30 positive) Last week, she had her endoscopy.  The doctor found inflammation and little holes or bumps on her duodenum.  He started her on prevacid and said based on his observations, he was suspicious of celiac, but he would not be able to confirm until the biopsy came back. The biopsy showed no signs of celiac disease.  He said that he could not diagnose her with celiac without the biopsy report saying there was celiac damage.  He said he would categorize her as a potential celiac, keep her on a gluten diet and redo the endoscopy in a year or two to check for damage again.  My questions are: 1.)  If it is not celiac, something is causing her duodenum to be inflamed and have little holes or bumps on it, right?  Could it be a wheat allergy or gluten sensitivity?  What else could it be and how do they test for it?  Given her elevated celiac antibodies, how likely is it to be anything besides celiac causing the damage?  2.)  How likely are false positives for TTG and DGP?  I've heard they are pretty sensitive and specific.  Does getting two positives make false positives less likely? 3.) What have you done in this situation?  I want her to have an official diagnosis to make things easier at school and to feel confident that we are eliminating gluten permanently for a worthy reason, etc.  But, I'm having a hard time imagining keeping her on gluten and waiting for her to get more sick and have more intestinal damage just for a diagnosis.     Thanks in advance for your help.  I'm so overwhelmed and confused.  I hope someone has some insight and experience that will help clear things up for me.            
    • Yeah I actually live in Japan which is pretty similar, because Coeliac disease is rare over here so is the understanding and accommodating it. When I mention Gluten to some restaurants they think I am talking in English and they are unfamiliar with the word in Japanese.    So it seems I can write off my chances of getting some authentic Chinese gluten-free food at the airport, but at least there is a Thai restaurant in T3 so I won't starve. Its called  'Phrik Thai' for future reference. http://en-shopping.bcia.com.cn/store/739.html  
    • While in Boston I found Cheer's  Bloody Mary mix that says gluten-free on the bottle and have had no issues and  tastes pretty good 
    • I always assumed plain coffee was, but I have seen some controversy online about this. I know someone who is gluten free and only buys whole beans and grinds them herself because she doesn't trust how the grounds are processed.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,167
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Cristina17
    Joined