Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Bath And Body Works Lotions
0

8 posts in this topic

Hello All!

I have a question about these lotions. I received a TON for Christmas and looked at the label this morning and one of the ingredients is oats (there is some fancy word for it which I cannot remember). Anyway...is it OK to use these lotions?

Thanks! Gwen :rolleyes:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
Hello All!

I have a question about these lotions. I received a TON for Christmas and looked at the label this morning and one of the ingredients is oats (there is some fancy word for it which I cannot remember). Anyway...is it OK to use these lotions?

Thanks! Gwen :rolleyes:

I definitely would NOT use them. They could very easily get into your mouth and cause a reaction. I exchanged all of my lotions that I got for Christmas for body wash. Most of the body washes don't contain gluten. I think some of the body creams and body butters may also be gluten free, but I'm not sure.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have used all the Bath and Body Lotions and have never had a problem - they smell so good too!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use products with oats on my arms and legs, but not face and hands.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You could return them and exchange them for the body creams which DON"T have any gluten in them and are even MORE moisturizing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I wrote to them and this was the repsonse. They said that the following ingredients had gluten:

Wheat--------Triticum Vulgare

Oat------------Avena Sativa

Barley--------Hordeum Distichon

Rye-----------Secale Cereale

Soy-----------Glycina soja

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, the problem with the avena on the list is that we just don't know enough about oats to know if it is an official problem for Celiacs. Some researchers say that pure uncontaminated oats are safe, but some say that Celiacs may still cross react, etc. So, technically, we don't know if their oats contain gluten.

Also----soy should not contain gluten....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe that I was getting mildly ill (gas) from oat extract in my sunscreen. I stopped using it and I now use gluten-free suncreens.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0