Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Autolyzed Yeast
0

12 posts in this topic

The pamphlet that my doctor gave me says to avoid yeast extract and brewer's yeast, but plain yeast is ok, however, I keep running into autolyzed yeast and autolyzed yeast extract on ingredients' lists. Is it safe for celiacs or not? I never imagined I'd be trying to learn the different forms of yeast! Any info anyone has would be helpful. Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I know it is possible for autolyzed yeast extract to be gluten-free, but I can't say for sure that it always is.

The thing to be aware of with any autolyzed protein is that it generates MSG (among other things, presumably) when combined with salt--but the label doesn't have to say anything about this, and can in fact read "no MSG (added)." So if you react to MSG, tread cautiously with autolyzed protein extracts.

--Sarah

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And anyone know the difference between autolyzed and hydrolyzed?

I posted a question on hydrolyzed yeast and hydrolyzed whey and if they were gluten-free. No answer yet.

Eww, we need a food chemist to help us out.

I'm confused, that's for sure. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Hi Guys!

OK this is my understanding: Yeast extract can be made from Barley- so I would avoid it or call the company to find the source. Autolyzed Yeast Extract I'm not sure if it CAN have gluten in it...but i know that it is included in alot of gluten free products. So it doesnt mean NO. I know that is not very helpful, but its better than nothing. It's in the swanson's broth I'm about to eat that is Gluten free. :-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Autolyzed yeast and yeast extract are not sources of gluten, although they are sources of glutamate which is sometimes confused with gluten. Yeast is yeast, it is not derived from any grain.

Brewer's yeast should be avoided as it is a byproduct of brewing beer. It is spent yeast that has already been used to ferment barley.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the answer, I really had no clue.

Isn't Swanson broth off the good list along with Prego sauces? I thought I read they changed their formulas.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know that swanson's beerf broth has gluten in it-- but I'm pretty sure their chicken and vegetable broth is ok. The only ingredient i wasn't 100% sure of was the Autolyzed Yeast.

I wanted to comment on the above post, that Yeast Extract can absolutley have gluten in it as some forms are derived from Brewer's yeast,which means it would have gluten.

Here's what I found:

"Yeast Extraction Or Autolyzed Yeast

Yeast is a single celled plant that has been useful to mankind since pre-historic times.

There are numerous applications of yeast in the food industry.

a. Baker's Yeast: The role of baker yeast in baking industry is to leaven bread and related products. Baker's Yeast is a Halal yeast.

b. Brewer's Yeast: This type of yeast is used in fermenting sugar in malt to produce alcohol and carbon dioxide in beer making.

c. Wine Yeast: This yeast is used in making wine.

d. Alcohol Yeast : Yeast is used in production of alcohol.

e. Torula Yeast: Torula Yeast grows on sulfite waste and sulfite liquors. It is also grown on sugar cane. Torula yeast grown on sulphite liquor containing alcohol is not recommended for Muslims. If it is grown on sugar cane then it is considered Halal.

f. Autolyzed Yeast Extracts or Yeast Extracts: Autolyzed yeast extracts are available as a powder derived from Baker's Yeast or Brewer's Yeast. After brewing the beer, the brewer yeast is separated from the beer and subjected to self digestion, the hydrolysis of yeast cell protein by the proteolytic enzymes indigenous to yeast cell. Brewer's yeast extracts are used in soups, meat products, gravies, snacks, crackers, part of some of the culture media in cheese making. It is used in flavors and also vitamins. Baker's yeast extracts are used in non flavoring foods."

website: http://www.canadianhalalfoods.com/ingdescription.shtml

So it sounds like Autolyzed and Yeast Extracts can come from brewer's (contains gluten) or baker's yeast (is gluten-free)-- so call the company and check on both.

Does anyone else have more information? I'm going to call Swanson's and check on that broth today before I make my soup!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The pamphlet that my doctor gave me says to avoid yeast extract and brewer's yeast, but plain yeast is ok, however, I keep running into autolyzed yeast and autolyzed yeast extract on ingredients' lists. Is it safe for celiacs or not? I never imagined I'd be trying to learn the different forms of yeast! Any info anyone has would be helpful. Thanks!

Hi, go here:

http://gluten-free-blog.blogspot.com/2006/...demic-book.html

Autolyzed yeast is considered safe according to this site.

It is also not listed as unsafe on this site.

Go here:

http://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsaf...ents/Page1.html

Hope this helps! you also need to buy the gluten-free shopping guide on this site, either one is fine. It will save you a lot of hair pulling! Print up the unsafe list and keep it with you!

Also, go through your meds, makeup, otc stuff etc. and toss anything that isn't on the glutenfreedrugs site! You don't want to get gluten by your lip balm or the wrong NSAID!

Congrats on your diagnosis and happy healing!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,115
    • Total Posts
      919,447
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Well, you can probably get an apple or something.  You might be able to get someone to boil you some eggs.  But be careful of things like nuts that should be naturally gluten free.  They have almost always been soaked in a flavor solution that usually containes caramel coloring, "soy" (wheat) sauce and other aditives.  If I am really hungry and must eat in a Chinese restaurant, I order plain white rice and steamed vegetables.  But even so, you must monitor it carefully.  The rice sometimes has other substances added to give it a better texture, and very often the vegetables have in fact had "just a little bit" of soy sauce added.  To be fair, celiac disease is hardly ever found in East Asians, so understandably people are not tuned it to it.  Also, culturally, with the exception of fruits, it is generally thought that the flavor of foods needs to be enhanced, so it is had to find anything natural even in the "western" gorceries. Even in the western restaurants, be careful.  Fish and meat and often vegetables are usually pre-marinated. I will not even attempt to address the issue of cross-comtamination, since that is a whole higher order of things. I do know what I am talking about; I have celiac and have worked here for nearly 7 years.  
    • I'm glad I found these forums!  I will spend some more time this evening reading through them.  But I wanted to get my question out there just to see if anyone else might have answers quicker than I can sift through the forum for them.      I've been feeling terrible for about a year, and after an elimination diet last month, figured out that if nothing else, gluten/wheat is a problem.  After lots of research, I abandoned the elimination diet and added gluten back in, so that I could get tested for Celiac.   I was off gluten for 3 weeks, from mid-June until early July.  I've had it back in my diet for almost 3 weeks now.    My question is this: Since I was off gluten for 3 weeks, and now back on for almost 3, is that enough time on to yield a positive Celiac blood test, if that indeed is what I have?  All the research I've done says 4-6 weeks for a gluten challenge, but is that really necessary if I was only not eating it for 3 weeks?  I am desperate to get this testing done and over with.  I feel terrible all the time and getting through the day is a struggle.  My doctor ran allergy panels already and everything came back clear except for a mild wheat allergy.  So if nothing else, I'll have to give up wheat for sure at the end of all this.  I get the feeling she doesn't know a ton about Celiac though, so I'm doing a lot of the research on my own. Any advice or information would be so appreciated! 
    • Hi Michael, That's quite a spike in blood pressure!  I haven't tested that myself and don't want to if it means I have to eat gluten.  Blood pressure testing to identify food reactions is something that has come up before.  It sounds like it might be possible but I don't know how much study has been done on it.  Probably not much since it is such a simple, straight forward idea. Welcome to the forum!
    • Hi Megan, Did the doctor test you for celiac disease?  You really shouldn't go gluten-free until all the testing for celiac disease is completed.  It is a little odd for a doctor to tell you to go gluten-free for no reason IMHO.  Did he/she explain the reason for it? Personally, I have learned over the years what I can eat safely and what I can't.  Occasionally I get hit but it is rare.  Simplifying your diet is a good first step.  Avoiding processed foods for a while and dairy also is good.  I suggest any change you make last for a month at least. Then try the food again. If you are eating 100 random ingredients/foods each day it is hard to figure these things out.  If you reduce it to a much smaller number of foods then things become simpler. Welcome to the forum!
    • Finally, proof that non-celiac gluten sensitivity is real. ... for the 30 percent of consumers who choose to buy gluten-free products and the 41 percent of ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,154
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    calla84
    Joined