6 replies to this topic

#1 BRCoats

BRCoats

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts

Posted 13 September 2004 - 04:46 PM

Can anyone tell me if Kroger Mild Cheddar cheese is gluten-free? I looked on delphiforums, but it wasn't listed. The ingredients look ok (I think), but I think I ingested gluten this weekend, and am trying to figure out the source. The cheese is all I can think of. ?? (I confess - I'm a newbie). :o
~Brenda

Celiac, gastroparesis, PCOD, heart problems, pacemaker.

Diagnosed 7-12-04 via bloodwork. Never had a biopsy, doc didn't think it was necessary (said I would know just by going gluten-free).

gluten-free two weeks after diagnosis (and my last bag of Oreos). :-)

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 calico jo

calico jo

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 63 posts

Posted 14 September 2004 - 05:27 AM

Look on the back of the package for a toll free consumer services phone number. Give them a call and ask them. They may even be able to supply you with a list of products that are gluten free. I know that in general Kroger stores are gluten aware...that is, they seem to have a growing selection of gluten free items.

I've been intending on calling Kroger myself, too. I shop there often and it would be nice to feel safe buying store brand things instead of name brand.

If I make the call before you, I'll post....

#3 lovegrov

lovegrov

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,536 posts

Posted 14 September 2004 - 05:41 AM

Basically, I have yet to find a hard block cheese like cheddar that isn't gluten-free. I don't even call about them any more. Yes, the Kroger cheese is gluten-free.

Kroger does not have a gluten-free list but they are VERY good when you call about specific items. Some people grouch about them not having a list, but I think it makes sense. The reason they don't have a list is because ingredients change. Something that's gluten-free today might not be tomorrow.

richard