Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Alcohol
0

92 posts in this topic

now i am in college and was just recently diagnosed w/ gluten intolerant and was wondering now since no more beers what kind of alcohol other people with this disease drink thanks

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Hi! I'm a college Junior who was diagnosed in July.

I drink wine, particularly Arbor Mist wines. All wine is gluten-free--it's made from grapes :) 151 Bacardi is gluten-free --check out the website http://www.bacardi.com It's pretty cool. Jose Cuervo tequila is gluten-free, and so is any other tequila with 100% agave (which is a plant).I hear that Kalua (sp?) is gluten-free, but I have yet to inquire at the state store.

Good Luck,

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, virtually all distilled liquors are gluten-free, including the ones made from wheat.

Yes, Kahlua is gluten-free

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some hard ciders are gluten-free too. Strongbow, Magners and Woodchuck are gluten free...more alcohol by volume too compared to beers B) All wines and hard alcohols are gluten free unless they add ingredients after the distillation process. Also as a former beer drinker I've "cheated" and had a Heineken once in a while but had zero problems (whereas if I eat something by accident that might have trace amounts of wheat in it IE Soy Sauce, I instantly feel crappy). HOWEVER, I'm not recommending this as a solution and something to experiment with frequently.

Here is what Heineken states on their website and the info has recently been updated:

"Does Heineken beer contain any gluten?

Heineken is produced from malted barley which by barley's nature contains barley gluten. Traces of gluten can be analysed in beer. There is no maximum limit for beer for "gluten−free". If we apply the limits for food to beer, our beers are far below these limits. For special information check with your General Practitioner."

Best,

Adam

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if you live in Canada, you can get gluten-free Beer :D I just got some last week...cost me $3.25 a bottle...you gotta get 24 in a load and they are only good til March 2005. But worth it. They actually taste like beer..

And I've never had a problem with any vodka/rye/whiskey/rum..

~lisa~

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Hi Im new at this gluten-free stuff....Im a big fan of Vodka......any vodkas we can drink? certain brand for sure?

THANKS!!! ~LIZ~

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hi Im new at this gluten-free stuff....Im a big fan of Vodka......any vodkas we can drink? certain brand for sure?

THANKS!!! ~LIZ~

as far as I know, all vodkas are safe to drink..I'm a vodka and coke girl myself, so I would know.. ;)

~lisa~

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hi Im new at this gluten-free stuff....Im a big fan of Vodka......any vodkas we can drink? certain brand for sure?

THANKS!!! ~LIZ~

Hi. Most vodkas are fine but if you want to be super cautious then Smirnoff is corn based.

Occasionally some hard alcohols have something added after the distillation process which makes them unsafe but there are only a few like that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Even though whiskey is distilled from gluten containing grains, is it still ok to drink? I have heard that the distillation process breaks down the gluten, and I know that Scotch Whiskey (double distilled) is ok. But I am still unclear about whether or not single distilled whiskey is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here are a couple of sources I've found regarding distilled alcohol....

Documents on www.celiac.com:

Which Alcoholic Beverages are Safe?

http://www.celiac.com/st_prod.html?p_prodi...-34104341819.36

Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages

http://www.celiac.com/st_prod.html?p_prodi...-09104362619.a2

Document on www.celiac.org:

http://www.celiac.org/celiac disease-treatment.html

...at the time of this posting the celiac.org site was down, so you may have to try it at another time.

The gist of these articles is that the Gluten peptide is to large to make it through the distillation process. HOWEVER, some celiacs have still reported problems drinking distilled alcohol from grain based beverages. So, try at you own risk.

I have had no problems with Whiskey or Scotch.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone know if Grenadine is gluten-free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I posted this in another category but I was also wondering about Amstel Light beer. I found a quote from a rep at Heineken USA that said that although it contains Barley, the gluten content in Amstel light is "lower than the gluten free standard". Is this possible?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi everyone,

gluten-free beer made from sorghum is almost here...

www.bardsbeer.com

Can't wait!!!

P.S. I've had the Rampo Valley Beer -- It was pretty good -- a little sweet (from the honey), but hey, its beer! :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There's a passover beer made in up town ny and it actually tastes like beer and it is completely gluten-free it says it on the bottle

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's a promo for this site. Under the safe and forbidden list section there is a list of alcohol that is safe for Celiacs with brand names and everything. I keep a copy in my cook book B) I do know that I can drink Peach schnapps and vodka without an issue and I love three-buck-Chuck from Trader Joe's. But who doesn't like wine that costs three dollars a bottle!!

Later.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can't beleive i found this site - b/c all the questions i have are being discussed - and I had no idea what alcohol i could have so i was stuck with captian morgans only b/c i only knew i could have rum (not that there is anything wrong with that but...i like varaity ya i can't spell) everybody on this site is awsome

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Capn Morgan salways made my stomach go nuts -- I opted for Bacardi/7-Up with a lime -- good drink!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm allergic to all alchohol, it i too strong and I get bad hangovers...so I stick to weed and salvia

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone know whether Midori melon liqueur and Triple Sec liqueur is okay?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am going to be going to a wedding this weekend....anyone have any suggestions on what to stay away from at the bar. One of my personal favorites is a malibu bay breeze, is that okay? thanks :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know this is probably a stupid question but can we have smirnoff or bacardi that has malt in it? I accidentally had some the other day and had no problems and i have been gluten-free for 9 years and usually the littlest thing sets me off. Just wondering....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The malt is made from barley and therefore is off limits. The gluten content is probably extremely small, but it's there.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey everyone!

I graduated college 2 yrs ago, but didn't do much drinking because of the whole celiac thing. Now, I work for a wine and liquor distributor! What a coincidence right?!

I have heard a lot of people saying that distilled liquors no matter the source are ok to drink. I still will not chance it though until I have proof that the wheat/barley is COMPLETELY eaten up by the yeast during fermentation. I really don't think it is, but I am going down to Jack Daniel's distillery in September so I will ask the hard questions there.

Some things I learned while working for a liquor distributor:

-Rums are probably all safe. Dark/Gold rums get their color (most always) from being aged in oak barrels. There are a few rums (Goslings-black rum) that is probably colored, but I did not have a problem with it.

-Tequilas- I believe all tequilas are gluten-free. The cheaper tequilas are called mixto-Jose Cuervo/Pepe Lopez/etc (51% agave and 49% other spirits- usually sugar derived) so they are okay as well

-Southern Comfort- One of the brands I represent. I asked some brand managers if it is gluten free and got a YES back from them. I have had it a few times since and I got a headache the first time i drank it (I usually do not get headaches). I will let you know officially because I also inquired about possible caramel color that is added.

-Vodka-I stick to Ciroc(grapes), Luksosowa(potatoes), Teton Glacier(potatoes), Chopin(potatoes) if I drink vodka, wich is rare.

-Triple Sec and Grenadine are gluten-free as well. So enjoy your margaritas and tequila sunrises!

-Brandy/cognac/calvados/armagnac all gluten-free b/c made from grapes, same as wines

Basically, I stay away from the liquors I know contain gluten in their mash b/c I am too paranoid of being contaminated (been gluten-free for 6 yrs) and so far so good.

Any ?'s, just ask me and I can probably find out. Sorry for the long post.

-Rob

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,647
    • Total Posts
      918,450
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Biopsy confirmed?
      Did they say if the villi are damaged?  did they do a full Celiac panel or just a TTG? 
    • Biopsy confirmed?
      Hi all. First post here :-)  I recently received my biopsy results from my endoscopy which showed lymphocytes in my duodenum. My surgeon said this is possibly celiacs and ordered a blood test to confirm. I had the blood test done 2 years ago and it was negative. So my question is could it really be ceilac and has this happened to anyone else? Also does anyone else know if this could be a false reading from the biopsy? And if the blood test is negative will he still assume celiac ... Again I would love to hear your stories on diagnosis if similar to me, So many questions! I get my results on Friday as I have to have further testing for other non-related things from the endo and just want to know the likelihood I guess. Feeling a little daunted and need to start thinking ahead if this is happening  Thanks in advance xx
    • Question on posting
      I have brought this to Admin's attention. 
    • How effective is HD skin biopsy after being gluten free for a year
      I think your Doctor is at fault for not making clear to you what you needed to do in the lead up to the biopsy. If dairy is the suspected cause and you've since cut it from your diet is it possible the biopsy could become invalid? You could end up having a pointless invasive procedure with the danger of a false positive/negative at the end. I think you should get in touch with your Doctor, let them know you've removed dairy from your diet and ask if that will impact on the results.  On the question of psoriasis or DH, that's something I've wondered about as well. Most of my skin issues improved  after gluten-free but they didnt resolve. Dairy has a big impact on them to this day. Whereas when, a year after going gluten-free, some inadvertent exposure to barley malt caused what I think was DH on my elbows it went after I removed the suspect food from my diet.  Hopefully thread below is of interest, best of luck with your diagnosis and ongoing journey to health      
    • Abuse and celiac/gi problems
      my personal symptoms above. Did another blood test and results came negative again, (gene test also negative). Found something that's interesting, useful for those that receive negative results and still convinced they have celiac or have some sort of food sensitivity(like i was). http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2834720/ more links: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4479362/ http://bit.ly/1UlUTpq Kinda solved it for me, cause i personally went through all types of abuse as a child, had symptoms listed above, got better now, hardly any symptoms.  As a note my siblings went through similar situations to a lesser degree, and they both have GI issues growing up. Feel free to ask, and inform people about this, cause all those times the doctor said IBS or 'its in your head' it might be true. ( ~3 doctors I went for celiac didn't believe I have it, just cause i'm asian ;\)
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
    • ChiaChick  »  Peaceflower

      Hi Peaceflower, Just wanted to say thank you for the chat.
      · 0 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,741
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Goodlife79
    Joined