Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Alcohol
0

92 posts in this topic

now i am in college and was just recently diagnosed w/ gluten intolerant and was wondering now since no more beers what kind of alcohol other people with this disease drink thanks

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Hi! I'm a college Junior who was diagnosed in July.

I drink wine, particularly Arbor Mist wines. All wine is gluten-free--it's made from grapes :) 151 Bacardi is gluten-free --check out the website http://www.bacardi.com It's pretty cool. Jose Cuervo tequila is gluten-free, and so is any other tequila with 100% agave (which is a plant).I hear that Kalua (sp?) is gluten-free, but I have yet to inquire at the state store.

Good Luck,

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, virtually all distilled liquors are gluten-free, including the ones made from wheat.

Yes, Kahlua is gluten-free

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some hard ciders are gluten-free too. Strongbow, Magners and Woodchuck are gluten free...more alcohol by volume too compared to beers B) All wines and hard alcohols are gluten free unless they add ingredients after the distillation process. Also as a former beer drinker I've "cheated" and had a Heineken once in a while but had zero problems (whereas if I eat something by accident that might have trace amounts of wheat in it IE Soy Sauce, I instantly feel crappy). HOWEVER, I'm not recommending this as a solution and something to experiment with frequently.

Here is what Heineken states on their website and the info has recently been updated:

"Does Heineken beer contain any gluten?

Heineken is produced from malted barley which by barley's nature contains barley gluten. Traces of gluten can be analysed in beer. There is no maximum limit for beer for "gluten−free". If we apply the limits for food to beer, our beers are far below these limits. For special information check with your General Practitioner."

Best,

Adam

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if you live in Canada, you can get gluten-free Beer :D I just got some last week...cost me $3.25 a bottle...you gotta get 24 in a load and they are only good til March 2005. But worth it. They actually taste like beer..

And I've never had a problem with any vodka/rye/whiskey/rum..

~lisa~

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Hi Im new at this gluten-free stuff....Im a big fan of Vodka......any vodkas we can drink? certain brand for sure?

THANKS!!! ~LIZ~

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hi Im new at this gluten-free stuff....Im a big fan of Vodka......any vodkas we can drink? certain brand for sure?

THANKS!!! ~LIZ~

as far as I know, all vodkas are safe to drink..I'm a vodka and coke girl myself, so I would know.. ;)

~lisa~

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hi Im new at this gluten-free stuff....Im a big fan of Vodka......any vodkas we can drink? certain brand for sure?

THANKS!!! ~LIZ~

Hi. Most vodkas are fine but if you want to be super cautious then Smirnoff is corn based.

Occasionally some hard alcohols have something added after the distillation process which makes them unsafe but there are only a few like that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Even though whiskey is distilled from gluten containing grains, is it still ok to drink? I have heard that the distillation process breaks down the gluten, and I know that Scotch Whiskey (double distilled) is ok. But I am still unclear about whether or not single distilled whiskey is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here are a couple of sources I've found regarding distilled alcohol....

Documents on www.celiac.com:

Which Alcoholic Beverages are Safe?

http://www.celiac.com/st_prod.html?p_prodi...-34104341819.36

Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages

http://www.celiac.com/st_prod.html?p_prodi...-09104362619.a2

Document on www.celiac.org:

http://www.celiac.org/celiac disease-treatment.html

...at the time of this posting the celiac.org site was down, so you may have to try it at another time.

The gist of these articles is that the Gluten peptide is to large to make it through the distillation process. HOWEVER, some celiacs have still reported problems drinking distilled alcohol from grain based beverages. So, try at you own risk.

I have had no problems with Whiskey or Scotch.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone know if Grenadine is gluten-free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I posted this in another category but I was also wondering about Amstel Light beer. I found a quote from a rep at Heineken USA that said that although it contains Barley, the gluten content in Amstel light is "lower than the gluten free standard". Is this possible?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi everyone,

gluten-free beer made from sorghum is almost here...

www.bardsbeer.com

Can't wait!!!

P.S. I've had the Rampo Valley Beer -- It was pretty good -- a little sweet (from the honey), but hey, its beer! :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There's a passover beer made in up town ny and it actually tastes like beer and it is completely gluten-free it says it on the bottle

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's a promo for this site. Under the safe and forbidden list section there is a list of alcohol that is safe for Celiacs with brand names and everything. I keep a copy in my cook book B) I do know that I can drink Peach schnapps and vodka without an issue and I love three-buck-Chuck from Trader Joe's. But who doesn't like wine that costs three dollars a bottle!!

Later.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can't beleive i found this site - b/c all the questions i have are being discussed - and I had no idea what alcohol i could have so i was stuck with captian morgans only b/c i only knew i could have rum (not that there is anything wrong with that but...i like varaity ya i can't spell) everybody on this site is awsome

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Capn Morgan salways made my stomach go nuts -- I opted for Bacardi/7-Up with a lime -- good drink!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm allergic to all alchohol, it i too strong and I get bad hangovers...so I stick to weed and salvia

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone know whether Midori melon liqueur and Triple Sec liqueur is okay?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am going to be going to a wedding this weekend....anyone have any suggestions on what to stay away from at the bar. One of my personal favorites is a malibu bay breeze, is that okay? thanks :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know this is probably a stupid question but can we have smirnoff or bacardi that has malt in it? I accidentally had some the other day and had no problems and i have been gluten-free for 9 years and usually the littlest thing sets me off. Just wondering....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The malt is made from barley and therefore is off limits. The gluten content is probably extremely small, but it's there.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey everyone!

I graduated college 2 yrs ago, but didn't do much drinking because of the whole celiac thing. Now, I work for a wine and liquor distributor! What a coincidence right?!

I have heard a lot of people saying that distilled liquors no matter the source are ok to drink. I still will not chance it though until I have proof that the wheat/barley is COMPLETELY eaten up by the yeast during fermentation. I really don't think it is, but I am going down to Jack Daniel's distillery in September so I will ask the hard questions there.

Some things I learned while working for a liquor distributor:

-Rums are probably all safe. Dark/Gold rums get their color (most always) from being aged in oak barrels. There are a few rums (Goslings-black rum) that is probably colored, but I did not have a problem with it.

-Tequilas- I believe all tequilas are gluten-free. The cheaper tequilas are called mixto-Jose Cuervo/Pepe Lopez/etc (51% agave and 49% other spirits- usually sugar derived) so they are okay as well

-Southern Comfort- One of the brands I represent. I asked some brand managers if it is gluten free and got a YES back from them. I have had it a few times since and I got a headache the first time i drank it (I usually do not get headaches). I will let you know officially because I also inquired about possible caramel color that is added.

-Vodka-I stick to Ciroc(grapes), Luksosowa(potatoes), Teton Glacier(potatoes), Chopin(potatoes) if I drink vodka, wich is rare.

-Triple Sec and Grenadine are gluten-free as well. So enjoy your margaritas and tequila sunrises!

-Brandy/cognac/calvados/armagnac all gluten-free b/c made from grapes, same as wines

Basically, I stay away from the liquors I know contain gluten in their mash b/c I am too paranoid of being contaminated (been gluten-free for 6 yrs) and so far so good.

Any ?'s, just ask me and I can probably find out. Sorry for the long post.

-Rob

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,354
    • Total Posts
      920,511
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Welcome!   You were smart to think about cross contamination.  Although it is great that there are so many gluten-free options out there, in the beginning it is best to try a whole foods diet, until your son feels a bit better.  The learning curve for the gluten-free diet is steep.  It is better for you to get everything down before letting others feed him.   When I was diagnosed, my hubby had been gluten free for 12 years.  I thought I knew the drill and converted right over to those gluten-free goodies I baked him.  Turned out, like many of us, I had some food inolerances not related to gluten but as a result of gut damage.  So, additives like Xantham gum made me think I was getting glutened, but I was not.  So, again, try to stick to naturally gluten free foods that are less processed for a while.  When you do venture out, I use "find me gluten free" and read the reviews from celiacs (not a person who thinks gluten-free is a way to lose weight! )   Here are some great tips from out Newbie 101 thread:  
    • I have the same problem. Was told it was psoriasis but no treatments worked even injections. I was daignosed celiac in may, and noticed a year ago the palm of my hand would itch intensely then get small blisters. I believe they are both dh. Have been gluten-free since diagnosis but still have issues with both areas. Thankful digestive issues cleared but would love to know how long before they clear up? I hope we both get feed back and best wishes to you!
    • Yes it most certainly could be a false negative, and I would bet you a dozen donuts that it is (gluten free, of course.   )  At the very least you can be sure it is related to gluten.  These gluten rashes take forever to clear up.  I don't know about you, but whenever I start to doubt my gluten intolerance, I just look at my skin, and the old blood stains on my sheets, and I am reassured that it's not all in my head, and I need to avoid gluten as if it were a bucket of battery acid.
    • Hello, My fiance and I are going to Singapore for our honeymoon next year and I was wondering if anyone knew any cafes/restaurants etc that have gluten-free dishes? We previously went two years ago and enjoyed ourselves so much that we definitely wanted to go back our our honeymoon. Catch is I got diagnosed as being gluten intolerant a few months ago, negative for Coeliac though. If I eat gluten I have bad nausea, bloating, diarrhea etc. Not pretty for a honeymoon :-) I am more than happy to eat fruit at breakfast and make do with steamed rice at dinner etc but if anyone has any ideas on anywhere I can safely eat that would be much appreciated. I don't care how much it costs! Also is it possible for me to bring packaged gluten-free food into Singapore from Australia? I am not sure on the rules. Thank you!!
    • Went in and talked to the manager of our pm and asked about the gluten free pizza, and he told me he can't guarantee its 100% gluten free because of the flour in the air from the other crusts being made.  I value the honesty.   The other employee also mentioned changing gloves.   I was thinking wow great, until I walked out and got to thinking about cross contamination from everyone grabbing the toppings out of the same bins and spreading the sauce with the same utensils.    My son was just diagnosed this week so we are new to the whole lifestyle.   So any help or info is greatly appreciated.    Thanks  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,423
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Kimmieellis
    Joined