Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Starbucks Frappuccino
0

9 posts in this topic

I was in Starbucks today getting my weekly coffee frappucino. The barista and I were just talking and gluten free came up in our conversation. I told her the reason I get the plain coffee frappucino was because of the gluten in mocha. She then reached down into the fridge and brought out a carton of the plain coffee frappucino mix and handed it to me. Right there on the carton, plain as day, maltodextrin was listed.

Before all of you panic, I have been reading about maltodextrin being safe if manufactured in the US because they use corn instead of wheat but if a product is made in any other country to beware. Also supplements (vitamins, etc) often made in other countries use wheat, not corn. I found this out about the supplements when I changed brands of Betaine HCI, a digestive supplement. The new brand I bought contained maltodextrin, obviously made in another country because suddenly I had the big D and as soon as I quit taking it and switched to my original brand the big D went away.

I would appreciate any info regarding Starbucks, because I really like their frappucinos

Thanks

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I have a Mocha Latte a couple of times a week (am allergic to casein, but addicted to my Latte). The Mocha is gluten free. I have bought the bottled Starbucks Fraps in the past and they are also gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Very rarely is maltodextrin derived from wheat.

I am not a coffee drinker, but there are many Starbucks fans on this board, so I'm sure others will chime in.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I work at Starbucks. I just started so I do not know the answer yet. I'll print out this thread and bring it to work tommorow morning and find out for sure :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only drinks at Starbucks that are NOT gluten free are the frapps with the chips in them. For that reason, if I get a frapp, I ask them to clean out the blender extra carefully for me.

As you said, in the US maltodextrin is safe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




You may have gotten sick because of the dairy or something else in there because I have never gotten sick from the starbucks fraps as well as other things containing maltodextrin.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the mocha is def. gluten free.. I made some today at work and looked at the ingredients. The frapp mix is also. Like said before, avoid the chips and request to have the blender cleaned extra well! enjoy!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I was in Starbucks today getting my weekly coffee frappucino. The barista and I were just talking and gluten free came up in our conversation. I told her the reason I get the plain coffee frappucino was because of the gluten in mocha. She then reached down into the fridge and brought out a carton of the plain coffee frappucino mix and handed it to me. Right there on the carton, plain as day, maltodextrin was listed.

Before all of you panic, I have been reading about maltodextrin being safe if manufactured in the US because they use corn instead of wheat but if a product is made in any other country to beware. Also supplements (vitamins, etc) often made in other countries use wheat, not corn. I found this out about the supplements when I changed brands of Betaine HCI, a digestive supplement. The new brand I bought contained maltodextrin, obviously made in another country because suddenly I had the big D and as soon as I quit taking it and switched to my original brand the big D went away.

I would appreciate any info regarding Starbucks, because I really like their frappucinos

Thanks

Dear gaynonna,

CarlaB is right. All Starbucks Frapps are gluten free with the exception of the ones with chips! Maltodextrin in the U.S. is corn derived, so we are safe there. It is such good news these are okay. I am a coffee lover, so it is important.

Sincerely,

NoGluGirl

P.S. I found out these drinks were safe by typing in gluten-free in SD and this site pops up. I do not live in San Diego, but the product updates section is essential for us.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No matter where maltodextrin is made, if it's in a food or drink sold in the U.S., it MUST list wheat if that's what it's made from. That was a law even before the allergen law took effect. If the maltodextrin doesn't clearly indicate wheat, it's not made from wheat.

As far as I know this law does not apply to non-food or non-drink items.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,654
    • Total Posts
      921,619
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Don't freak out worrying about other maladies yet. You would be absolutely amazed at the things that can/will resolve on the gluten free diet. Some take longer than others -- neurological seem to take the longest for most people but really, I guarantee, there will be things you had no idea or expectation of resolving will. There were tons for me and then there were things I sort of "woke up one day" & said, "hey, that's gone and that & that & that". Other, larger things had taken my attention so I hadn't paid attention to the smaller things until...... On the other hand, not everything is related to celiac but I bet you wouldn't find a handful of celiacs who didn't say something very similar to what I said above. Yes, thyroid problems are common with celiac but I'll also tell you there are/have been people on here who were hypothyroid before dx but after being gluten-free for a while they actually went back to normal thyroid numbers. My husband is one (yes, we both are celiac - it happens). He was on synthroid for 20 years or more. Guess what? He's not on it anymore. We've had his thyroid panel done several times since about a year gluten-free & he is no longer hypothyroid. 
    • Yes please, that'd be awesome Having a fun time trying to reply on my phone due to broken screen but will be back on tomorrow after results of doctor appointment to get to the bottom of why they've given me seemingly wrong advice re: next steps. Yup I'll admit to pity, anger, frustration and outright fear, been through the mill of emotions in this first week that's for sure. One thing before I go for that; back when I was self-diagnosing I wanted a full thyroid panel (T3, T4 etc.) and also ESR & CRP checks for vasculitis and similar maladies. Now it seems from my reading they can often follow celiac so my worry level of those has gone up a notch, more blood tests ahoy it seems? Main reason for worrying about those is the nearly constant tight / tender head I have at the moment. Top and sides of scalp. Could be the stress tensing the shoulders and occipital muscles at back of head but after the celiac diagnosis being missed I'm fearful of anything else being missed. Did anyone else have this tight head feeling at the start? Feels like the skin is being pulled inwards, sometimes goes down for a few minutes here and there and gets worse when sitting I think. I see the term "brain fog" a lot but luckily don't seem to have too much of that at present, this is more a physical sensation.
    • I don't have a lot of faith in the allergy testing naturalpaths do. I had them done, but really it wasn't very helpful. Foods that were okay on the blood work- I was still having obvious reactions to. Skin testing through an allergist didn't show up food allergies either. I agree the food elimination diet is a better way to go and doesn't cost a bunch of money. I did a whole 30 diet a while back that could have been helpful if the foods I reacted to were corn, dairy,  soy, grains and sugar- but I react to more than that.  I do need to do a major elimination diet- just haven't gotten up the willpower yet.   
    • Quick search gave too many responses to TGI Fridays but none to TGI Fridays Buns (or similar) so... I was talking with my sister-in-law (Gluten Intolerant) and she spoke highly of a pre-packaged bun from Fridays. I was hesitant but she gave me one (apparently you can buy them from the restaurant?) and I tried it. Since I'm slow to react I won't know about gluten for a bit but I can definitely say it is the closest to "real" I've had in years! Spongy, doesn't crumble while eating a sandwich and tastes good. Color me impressed! I tried to determine the manufacturer or if Fridays actually makes them but I can't locate anything worth pursuing. Anyone have information on this? Thanks in advance.
    • Thanks cyclinglady! I will!
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,654
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    bentcreekmom
    Joined