Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Modified Maize Starch
0

5 posts in this topic

Do most people avoid m-m-starch even if the label says gluten free??

Thanks

Greg

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Maize is derived from corn and not a gluten concern.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Help it's back <_<

 

My stomach has been good for about 2 weeks.  Tonight I had a chicken and veg stir fry with Sweet Chilli & Garlic Stir Fry Sauce, this is the only processed food/sauce I have had in 2 weeks.  Within an hour and half after eating, my stomach became uncomfortable and I felt sick, then low and behold my tummy blew up, back pain and yawning my head off. 

 

Seriously, what is going on I have looked up Maize Starch; but that is meant to be ok, right?  Please :(  tell me what I have missed?

 

My doctor 2 weeks ago told me to keep off Gluten, Wheat, Milk, white rice and pototoes.  I have not been tested for Coeliac as yet, as I took myself of wheat a month ago.  Next week I am planning to reintroduce gluten etc, as directed by my doctor so I can be tested in 5 weeks.

Sweet Chilli & Garlic Stir Fry Sauce

Ingredients:
Water, Sugar, Minced Chilli Paste (5%)(Chilli Peppers, Water, Salt, Acetic Acid), Chinese Rice Vinegar (3%), Maize Starch, Spirit Vinegar, Garlic (2%), Sake, Salt, Chilli Powder, Colour:Paprika Extract.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This topic is more than six years old.

"Maize" is the scientific name for corn, and is used in many European countries as the name instead of "corn." Corn is gluten-free.

During the healing process, you may have reactions to foods, even though they are gluten-free. Perhaps the chilli?

If you are in Canada or the USA, modified starch is not a worry unless the word "wheat" appears on the label. MFS is almost never wheat, but if it is the law requires that wheat be disclosed on the label.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This topic is more than six years old.

"Maize" is the scientific name for corn, and is used in many European countries as the name instead of "corn." Corn is gluten-free.

During the healing process, you may have reactions to foods, even though they are gluten-free. Perhaps the chilli?

If you are in Canada or the USA, modified starch is not a worry unless the word "wheat" appears on the label. MFS is almost never wheat, but if it is the law requires that wheat be disclosed on the label.

Thank you for your reply. oops I am still blindly stumblying around the site. :unsure:

 I checked their website and it had wheat gluten in it.  The allergy warning on the package didn't say wheat, but on the website it stated Allergy Warning - Wheat Gluten. And here's the thing...on another page it says it is suitable by showing the cross grain.  Confused? :blink:  I am

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.