Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Sugar Free Hershey's And Reeses Pb Cups


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 BRCoats

BRCoats

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts

Posted 16 September 2004 - 12:55 PM

Hi all,

In my quest to go sugar free, I picked up some Hershey's miniatures (plain chocolate) and Reese's Peanut Butter Cups (mini's) - both sugar free. Hershey's ingredients are: Lacticol (Milk); Chocolate; Cocoa butter; polydexrose; cream (milk); milkfat; contains 2% or less of : soy lecithin; PGPR (Emulsifier); Artificial Flavor; and sucralose. The PB Cups are: Lacticol (Milk); peauts; chocolate; cocoa butter; cornstarch; peanut oil; milkfat; contains 2% or less of: polydextrose; partially hydorgenated soybean and cottonseed oils; salt; cream (milk); soy lecithin and PGPR, emulsifiers; natural and artificial flavor; TBHQ (Preservative); and sucralose.

What do you think? Are they gluten-free? I know the regular ones are. Or should I just contact the company? I thought I'd give the board a try, just in case someone had already contacted them.

Thanks!
Brenda
  • 0
~Brenda

Celiac, gastroparesis, PCOD, heart problems, pacemaker.

Diagnosed 7-12-04 via bloodwork. Never had a biopsy, doc didn't think it was necessary (said I would know just by going gluten-free).

gluten-free two weeks after diagnosis (and my last bag of Oreos). :-)

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 lovegrov

lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,534 posts

Posted 17 September 2004 - 05:44 AM

Hershey does not hide gluten so if it has wheat, rye or barley it will clearly say so. Same with Kraft and a host of other companies. According to the ingredients you listed, these are gluten-free.

richard
  • 0

#3 terri

terri

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 286 posts

Posted 17 September 2004 - 06:28 AM

Someone gave me a white chocolate Reese's Peanut Butter Cup and I just got off the phone with them. They are gluten free. The representative was very nice and explained what anything I couldn't identify came from.
  • 0
Terri
Northern Virginia

gluten-free since March 27, 2004

#4 BRCoats

BRCoats

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts

Posted 17 September 2004 - 12:11 PM

Hey,

Before even receiving a reply from anyone, I ate them. No reaction from gluten! I was pretty sure they were gluten-free according to the ingredients, but I'm such a newbie....I was just so SCARED!!! :lol:

Anyway, they are actually pretty good. Definitely not the real thing....but good. It makes me feel like I've had some chocolate anyway. :)

Thanks for the replies!!

Brenda
  • 0
~Brenda

Celiac, gastroparesis, PCOD, heart problems, pacemaker.

Diagnosed 7-12-04 via bloodwork. Never had a biopsy, doc didn't think it was necessary (said I would know just by going gluten-free).

gluten-free two weeks after diagnosis (and my last bag of Oreos). :-)

#5 Guest_momof3_*

Guest_momof3_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 September 2004 - 02:58 AM

Does this only apply to sugar free? I just ate a regular reese PB cup. I'll have to get the wrapper out of the trash to see.
From what I can see, the regular reeses PB cups are fine. I hope im right.
momof3
  • 0

#6 Thomas

Thomas

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 183 posts

Posted 20 September 2004 - 01:28 PM

I thought the regular kind of reeses peanut butter cups were gluten-free.
  • 0

#7 BRCoats

BRCoats

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts

Posted 20 September 2004 - 05:39 PM

The sugar filled pb cups are gluten-free too. :D

Brenda
  • 0
~Brenda

Celiac, gastroparesis, PCOD, heart problems, pacemaker.

Diagnosed 7-12-04 via bloodwork. Never had a biopsy, doc didn't think it was necessary (said I would know just by going gluten-free).

gluten-free two weeks after diagnosis (and my last bag of Oreos). :-)


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: