Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Cream Of Tartar Ok?


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Narnia75

Narnia75

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 February 2007 - 06:07 AM

Someone in our church group just found out he has a gluten allergy, so we are trying to accomodate him when we bring snacks. I am planning on making schaumtorte which is egg whites, sugar, then fruit on top. But I am supposed to use cream of tartar with the eggs. I know why it is there: to stabilize the egg whites while you beat the heck out of them. But I don't know what it is. Can someone tell me if it is safe for a gluten free diet? Thank you so much!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 jerseyangel

jerseyangel

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,938 posts

Posted 28 February 2007 - 06:23 AM

Hi Narnia and welcome! :)

Yes cream of tartar is safe for a gluten-free diet. If you are going out to buy it, I would suggest McCormicks--they are a company that will disclose any added gluten ingredients on the label. I use their products exclusively.

Just for fun, here's a little info. on cream of tartar

http://www.ochef.com/933.htm

Your dessert sounds delicious :D
  • 0
Patti


"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: