This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Cycling Season Is Starting Up...

mkh

mkh Rookie

I've just started training again for the upcoming cycling season and although I've been racing for 2 years, this is the first season of racing that I've had to do gluten-free. So far it's been very frustrating because I notice that I bonk 20 minutes into every ride I start, and am wondering if anyone has tried to make their own energy bars? Because I really can't get myself to eat the fruit/nut bars and gels generally don't keep me going for very long. Any suggestions?

-mia

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Heather22 Rookie

Hi Mia,

I don't know if I can help you much, as I don't eat solids when exercising. But, I do make protein bars from time to time.

I never really measure, but found the combination of the following tastes the best:

- peanut butter

- honey

- whey protein powder (chocolate)

- rice crisp cereal/quinoa flakes

-ground flaxseed

- raisins/dried cranberries

- nuts/seeds, etc.

- carob chips

What I do is melt the nut butter and add honey. Thoroughly mix in the protein powder. Add bulking food (gluten-free rice krispies). Then add what ever combination of nuts/seeds/dried fruit/carob chips.....

Mold into pan and refridgerate. Cut into squares and wrap in plastic. Store in fridge.

Because of my other sensitivities, I stopped eating these, but my husband (who doesn't have Celiac) loves them.