Jump to content


   Follow us: Twitter Facebook Google Plus One {$this->lang->words[
   arrowShare us:
   

   arrowSubscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

   arrowJoin Celiac.com's New Online Support Group


 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Broth?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 FreyaUSA

FreyaUSA

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 249 posts

Posted 19 September 2004 - 08:16 AM

I've read a couple times elsewhere on this board that companies add broth to raw chicken and, from these posts, it's my understanding that this broth is NOT gluten-free? I'm very confused. Could anyone clear this up for me?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 tarnalberry

tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts

Posted 19 September 2004 - 05:57 PM

Well, it's not that the broth is not gluten-free, it's that we may not know if it's gluten-free. Broth certainly can contain modified food starch, or natural flavors - two suspect ingredients. When I was in Ft. Wayne last week and hit the grocery store, they chicken (I think it was Purdee? I don't know... I dont' see it in CA a lot) said right on the package: "enhanced with up to 15% injected broth solution". It might be gluten-free, but I wasn't able to call the company.
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#3 Nadtorious

Nadtorious

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 132 posts

Posted 20 September 2004 - 08:27 AM

I've always reacted to the broth that they put in chicken, pork, etc. I found a store in Denver that sells meat without the broth or any additives and haven't had a problem with it.
Nadia
  • 0
Eat, drink, and be merry!

#4 hapi2bgf

hapi2bgf

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 174 posts

Posted 20 September 2004 - 08:33 AM

The local warehouse store sells Tyson's bagged frozen boneless chicken breasts which have broth added. When I called the company I was told that the chicken broth is gluten-free. I made the lady explain and she said they just boiled chicken and chicken parts in water and that was the broth which is added to the meat. I eat the chicken regularly and never have a problem.
  • 0

#5 lovegrov

lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,533 posts

Posted 20 September 2004 - 09:34 AM

According to the USDA, if a company includes wheat or barley in a broth or "flavor" in raw meat, they must clearly list the wheat or barley. Despite all the warnings we always get about this, I have yet to find wheat added to a raw or fresh poultry or pork.

There are, however, chemicals that might disagree with some people.

richard
  • 0

#6 FreyaUSA

FreyaUSA

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 249 posts

Posted 20 September 2004 - 11:55 AM

Thank you for your answers! It's boggling sometimes to figure this all out.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: