Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Progresso Soups
0

10 posts in this topic

Hi all,

Before I knew that I was gluten intolerant, I depended on Progresso soups in a can for quick meals/snacks. They always listed whether or not the soup contained egg product, so I loved how easy it was to pick up a can or two to have around.

I emailed them (Betty Crocker) asking about gluten. They always list if the soup containers wheat ingredients but I wanted to see about hidden sources, etc.

Here is their reply:

Thank you for contacting Progresso regarding gluten in Progresso products.

It is our primary goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package.

However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing, so we want to assure you if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or other sources of gluten, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the product

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Wow! This is great news.... I haven't even investigated this since going gluten-free in March of 2003. I always used to use progresso as a quick lunch.

Thanks,

This good news comes just in time for cold weather!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are 5 Progresso soups that my daughter and I occasionally eat for lunch.

They are:

Progresso Traditional Chicken Rice with Vegetables (good)

Progresso Traditional Chicken and Wild Rice (good)

Progresso Vegetable Classics Lentil (our favorite)

Progresso Vegetable Classics Split Pea (a little on the runny side, but tastes good)

Progresso Vegetable Classics Garden Vegetable (New, we have it but haven't tried it yet)

There are more Progresso Soups that are gluten-free, but these are also dairy free. I like being able to have some hot soup and one can is enough for my daughter and I. My boys won't eat soup! :rolleyes: I am looking forward to the weather cooling down and then I will start making some homemade. But it is nice to have some cans on hand...

God bless,

Mariann

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I like their cream of mushroom and Manhattan clam chowder (read the label to make sure they haven't changed recently; I haven't had them in a while). They now have two versions of their New England clam chowder. One is gluten-free and one isn't, so read carefully.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I like their cream of mushroom and Manhattan clam chowder (read the label to make sure they haven't changed recently; I haven't had them in a while). They now have two versions of their New England clam chowder. One is gluten-free and one isn't, so read carefully.

richard

I spoke to Progresso directly about their clam chowder. They have two flavors: Rich & Hearty (gluten-free) and Traditional, which I assume is the one you are warning us about. The labels give no warnings in accordance to their response above in this topic. Also, if you're concerned about the pollock, the fish is in it's natural state, not processed. Please tell us how you know this to be contaminated with Gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




That post was from 5 years ago, a lot can change in that time, reformulations occur frequently!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

chicken corn chowder, chicken & vegetable, french onion are also gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I spoke to Progresso directly about their clam chowder. They have two flavors: Rich & Hearty (gluten-free) and Traditional, which I assume is the one you are warning us about. The labels give no warnings in accordance to their response above in this topic. Also, if you're concerned about the pollock, the fish is in it's natural state, not processed. Please tell us how you know this to be contaminated with Gluten.

Post was five years ago. At the time, one of them CLEARLY had wheat or barley listed -- I don't remember which. If there's no wheat or barley listed now, they've change the recipe during the past 5 years.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just called Progresso today. The woman on the phone checked their gluten policy and said that the only products they ensure to be gluten free are labeled as such, either on the front of the can or in small, white, bold print on the back: http://progresso.com/Products/Gluten-Free

 

As for soups not labeled as gluten-free, she said Progesso does not hide gluten in any of its ingredients (e.g. the Modified Food Starch is safe; if it had wheat, it would say Modified Wheat Starch). However, she did add that, unless the product is labeled as gluten free, Progresso cannot guarantee that the product hasn't been contaminated through the sourcing or manufacturing process.

 

I hope this helps everyone!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I buy the clam chowder and it states it's gluten free, the light isn't and we buy are Traditional Chicken Cheese Enchilada Flavor,

I also like the cream of mushroom for cooking.

http://progresso.com/Products/Gluten-Free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,098
    • Total Posts
      920,347
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I eat them with no issues and know several other Celiacs that eat them with no issue.
    • I am sorry that you are sick! i think you need to really adhere to a gluten free diet that consists of ONLY whole foods (no processed gluten-free foods) and do not go out to eat, until you start to see improvement.  Each tiny gluten exposure can set you back.  It sounds like you really became even more ill after the gluten challenge.   I was just anemic when diagnosed.  I waited seven weeks for my endoscopy due to work issues, so i took the time to consume lots of gluten.  Like a loaf of sourdough per day not to mention all the cakes, cookies that I loved.  (Okay, I just ate a few out of each package......)  by the end of seven weeks, I knew I had celiac disease.  I had a bloated stomach visible under my left rib cage, pinching when I bent over, indigestion, etc.  Not to mention some weird Fibro pain my my shoulders, tingly legs, etc.   Most resolved, but it took about two years. If you  ask for thyroid panel, be sure it includes testing for thyroid antibodies.   
    • My daughter, who is almost 21 and has celiac disease, was diagnosed with Epilepsy a year ago. Hindsight being 20/20, we realized she had been having seizure since she was a teenager but the random passing out and feelings of being 'out of it' were attributed to dehydration or poor nutrition and sleep habits during numerous trips to the emergency room. In our reading about Epilepsy, I have found some mention of celiac and gluten issue connections and even where a strict adherence to a gluten-free diet provided a lot of improve the with frequency and severity of seizures.  I would be interested to know if anyone else shares this experience.
    • I have also reacted to various Planters products, believing them to be safe because gluten is not listed in the allergens but have had almost identical reactions to yours.  It did not occur to me that I might be getting zapped from them until just recently when I ate some of their Salt and Vinegar almonds and became really ill and then recognized that I had reacted to them before. I have notice in the past few months that the 'Hermans' brand nuts, which have never mentioned wheat in their allergens now carries the 'processed in a plant that processes wheat' disclaimer.  It makes me wonder if all nuts are processed in the same manner and if all nuts and nut products should be considered unsafe? I know that I will not trust the Planters brand any longer regardless of whether wheat is listed or not.
    • I've heard some people say that they're gluten free, and some say they're not.. I had a container of planter's cashews that I ate a few days ago and I haven't been feeling that great since then. I thought I was fine, but yesterday I woke up with a headache and was feeling really gassy all day. Then since last night, every once in a while I'll have some stomach cramps. They last for a few minutes and then go away.. that has happened 3 or 4 times since last night. It seems weird that I wouldn't have a reaction right away though.. or at least within a few hours of eating them. I ate some on thursday and on friday, and I didn't really start to feel sick until saturday. It's been a while since I last got glutened though, so maybe my reaction has changed? Or maybe I'm being paranoid and I just ate too many cashews haha. But that's the only thing I've eaten in the past like 2 weeks that was different. Has anyone else had a problem with planter's nuts?
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,133
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Mycaringkidsmom
    Joined