Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            



Celiac.com Sponsor:

 
   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts



  arrowShare this page:
   
Celiac.com Sponsor:
Photo
- - - - -

Pam Cooking Spray


  • Please log in to reply

6 replies to this topic

#1

 
IsAMom

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
 

Posted 15 March 2007 - 07:35 AM

I thought I remember hearing Pam cooking spray is gluten-free, but want to confirm. Does anyone know whether it is gluten-free or not. Thank for your replies.
  • 0
Annette in MN
IsAMom to Isaac(7), Isabel(5) and Isaiah(4)
diagnosed celiac 4/1998
Both DSs diagnosed 4/2006 at 5 & 2 yrs of age

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,101 posts
 

Posted 15 March 2007 - 07:59 AM

Regular Pam is gluten-free. We use it all the time. However, I recall there being one specialized version (baking?) which is not gluten-free.

Pam is made by ConAgra. They are a company with a full gluten disclosure policy. Read the ingredients. If gluten is present you will see it clearly listed as wheat, barley, rye, or oats. If you don't see one of those words, then the product is gluten-free.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3

 
jnclelland

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 314 posts
 

Posted 15 March 2007 - 08:04 AM

Regular Pam is gluten-free. We use it all the time. However, I recall there being one specialized version (baking?) which is not gluten-free.

Pam is made by ConAgra. They are a company with a full gluten disclosure policy. Read the ingredients. If gluten is present you will see it clearly listed as wheat, barley, rye, or oats. If you don't see one of those words, then the product is gluten-free.



The one that's not gluten-free is actually called something like "Pam with flour," so it's pretty obvious. I use Pam for Grilling, because it's the only cooking spray I've found that's soy-free as well as gluten/dairy-free.

Jeanne
  • 0

#4

 
IsAMom

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
 

Posted 15 March 2007 - 08:23 AM

Thanks, I thought it was gluten-free but saw the "grain alcohol" listed and it made me second guess its gluten-free status.
  • 0
Annette in MN
IsAMom to Isaac(7), Isabel(5) and Isaiah(4)
diagnosed celiac 4/1998
Both DSs diagnosed 4/2006 at 5 & 2 yrs of age

#5

 
Luluplayin

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 12 December 2013 - 06:57 AM

Well, dang....just saw a post on Facebook and no...Pam is not gluten free folks!
PAM® Original, PAM® Butter, and PAM® Olive Oil do not contain any ingredients derived from wheat products. However, PAM® Baking is not gluten-free, as it contains real flour, which is derived from wheat.

http://www.pamcookin....com/about-PAM/


Ok, sorry, can't find my post to revise it...yes, just the baking one according to Pam has gluten, but I still posted the question on their facebook page to see what they say.
  • 0

#6

 
kareng

    Narwhals, narwhals, swimming in the ocean.....

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,757 posts
 

Posted 12 December 2013 - 07:06 AM

Well, dang....just saw a post on Facebook and no...Pam is not gluten free folks!
PAM® Original, PAM® Butter, and PAM® Olive Oil do not contain any ingredients derived from wheat products. However, PAM® Baking is not gluten-free, as it contains real flour, which is derived from wheat.

http://www.pamcookin....com/about-PAM/


Ok, sorry, can't find my post to revise it...yes, just the baking one according to Pam has gluten, but I still posted the question on their facebook page to see what they say.

 

 

The info on this thread is more than 6 years old. Products change over time.  Pam has no gluten ingredients and I use it all the time. However, baking sprays with flour, of course, have gluten.  Those are meant for baking a cake when the recipes says butter and lightly flour the pan.  You wouldn't use those for normal cooking or even cookie baking.


  • 0

"Children in a family are like flowers in a bouquet: there's always one determined to face in an opposite direction from the way the arranger desires."
~Marcelene Cox

 

 
"Earth laughs in flowers."
~Ralph Waldo Emerson
 
flower-3-smiley-emoticon-emoji.png
 

 




 

 
 

 


#7

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,101 posts
 

Posted 12 December 2013 - 07:07 AM

This topic is more than six years old. My comment on 15 March 2007 still stands. With the exception of PAM Baking, all versions of PAM are gluten-free. ConAgra will clearly disclose gluten in any of their products.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: