Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Tapioca Starch / Is This A Allergin To Wheat Intolerants


  • Please log in to reply

4 replies to this topic

#1 zachsmom

 
zachsmom

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts
 

Posted 18 March 2007 - 05:51 AM

it seems ( maybe only to me as I could have purchased a look alike container) as though a gerber baby food has changed a babyfood .... Mango dessert which the last time I bought it ... was just plain old mango with no dessert,.. now has tapioca starch... is this a problem for wheat intolerants.. He eats rice flour fine but .. I realize this is not rice flour but something totally differnt ... HElp .. I need to know if I just glutened the baby.... ahahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I need help and I need it fast.. Celiac busters .... ( lol ) but help really ...
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,048 posts
 

Posted 18 March 2007 - 05:56 AM

Tapioca is gluten-free. It is safe for celiacs.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 zachsmom

 
zachsmom

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts
 

Posted 18 March 2007 - 05:58 AM

okay I am awake now..... this is in most flours ... and stuff that we are using to combat the wheat intolerance... But I know some folks are allergic to it ... But I guess I am going to have to see.
But are most folks who are not Celiac but wheat intolerant able to eat it or is this a who knows ans you have to see ... just wondering.
  • 0

#4 zachsmom

 
zachsmom

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts
 

Posted 18 March 2007 - 06:02 AM

thanks Psawyer... I was in a panick....... stuff hasnt slipped by me in a while .... but this one did. I guess they changed something or just have a similiar lable for a slightly differnt product... but I have ingrained in my head from this web site to allways read ingredients.... I guess better at the grocery store .. and not after you have fed your baby the product.




thanks for your speedy response.
  • 0

#5 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 18 March 2007 - 08:04 AM

tapioca, iirc, is a root, not even a grain, and is definitely unrelated to wheat and safe for celiacs. there are a few people who do not handle tapioca well, but that's the exception rather than the rule. (heh, so are all of us, though. :) )
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: