This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Uninsured celiac disease-er

SocietyInDenial

SocietyInDenial Newbie

I am a new poster, so here is a little bit of my story...

Three years ago I was a full-time student who was constantly sick from Celiac Disease, but still in the dark. To manage my stress better, and not mar my academic career with bad grades, I decided to go to school part-time while rehabing my body and researching what was wrong with me. In doing so I forfitted my insurance benfits, which, at the time, I didn't realize how vital they were going to be. Before my insurance ran out I had a blood test for celiac disease and it said that I wasn't positive (we know what that means!), but I have a B12 and an Iron Deficiency. My doctor administered a once-a-week B12 injection that she said was "enough to sustain a horse". After five weeks, she tested my blood once again, and my levels hadn't changed at all. She said that the reason could be from celiac disease and malabsorption.

Soooo... I have been doing this gluten-free thing without medical supervision for two and a half years. Everything sans-gluten was going great until recently. I have been having problems with unexplained weight gain, swelling of hand and feet, frequent and somewhat drastic mood swings, a lack-luster libido, inconsistency with bowel movement (even though I am completely gluten-free), dizziness while eating, muscle pain, and exhaustion. I researched my symptoms in conjunction with celiac disease, and it looks like I may have hypothyroidism.