Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Chewing Gum


  • Please log in to reply

9 replies to this topic

#1 LindaB

 
LindaB

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
 

Posted 28 January 2004 - 04:28 PM

I am confused about chewing gum. Several lists say chewing gum is gluten free and yet it has gum base in it which is on the forbidden list. Who is right and does anyone actually chew any of these gums. I used to chew gum frequently because it helps with hearburn, and would love to try it again.

Linda

Edited by LindaB, 28 January 2004 - 04:29 PM.

  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 gf4life

 
gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts
 

Posted 11 February 2004 - 04:37 PM

Hi Linda, boy it took a long time for someone to answer your question, huh? Oh well. :rolleyes:

Here is what I have to say, the reason that gum base is on the forbidden list is that not all gum bases are the same. Each company is going to have a different formula and so some will be gluten-free, while others are not. To be on the safe side it was put on the forbidden list and the only way to verify for sure if it is safe is to call each company.

Here is a list of gums that are supposed to be gluten-free:

Beechnut: peppermint, spearmint, and cinnamon flavors
Bubbilicious
Bubble Tape
Bubble Yum
Carefree
Chicklets: regular and tiny
Clorets
Dentyne
DoubleBubble
Freedent: peppermint, winter fresh, spearmint flavors
Fruit Stripe
Ice Breakers
Trident
Wonka's gumballs
Wrigleys

I hope this helps.

God bless,
Mariann
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

#3 jaimek

 
jaimek

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 220 posts
 

Posted 12 February 2004 - 08:57 AM

My dietician, who specializes in celiac, told me that your safest gum would be any type of wrigleys. I am a big gum fanatic so Extra is what I opt for. Hope this helps!
  • 0
gluten-free since 2/6/04

#4 Connie R-E

 
Connie R-E

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 168 posts
 

Posted 12 February 2004 - 09:27 AM

There is a gum list under "gluten-free Foods, Products..." called "gluten-free Gum 11-2003".
We chew Wrigley's with no problem. :)

Connie
gluten-free since 1-'98
  • 0

#5 LindaB

 
LindaB

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
 

Posted 13 February 2004 - 10:06 PM

Thank you all for responding about the gum issue. I am going to buy some Wrigleys chewing gum and try it.

Linda
  • 0

#6 tammy

 
tammy

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 339 posts
 

Posted 22 February 2004 - 05:27 PM

:D :D Hi All! :D :D

Gum, cool I will go out and buy Wrigley's! :D
  • 0

#7 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 14 June 2004 - 02:26 PM

My dietician, who specializes in celiac, told me that your safest gum would be any type of wrigleys. I am a big gum fanatic so Extra is what I opt for. Hope this helps!


So did my nutritionist...Wrigley's....whenever I chew gum it's Wrigley's...I never knew about those other ones. I've had no reaction to Wrigley's.

-celiac3270
  • 0

#8 LeeV

 
LeeV

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
 

Posted 30 June 2004 - 05:49 AM

Are all Wrigley's gluten-free, even the sugar free, which is what my daughter can have since she has diabetes also? Thanks.

Lee :unsure:
  • 0

#9 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 30 June 2004 - 07:35 AM

ALL Wrigley's gums.

richard
  • 0

#10 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 02 September 2004 - 04:53 AM

http://www.glutenfre...st=0

This is a link to another gum post........I haven't read the whole thing, but Molly (flagbabyds) mentioned Altoid gum..........in a later discussion about altoids, we recognized altoids as being gluten-free and somebody asked about Altoid gum. Molly thought it was gluten-free, somebody else said it can't be cause it has wheat something on the label........anyway, verify anything in this post, but there might be a few different things in this post.........?
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: