Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Is Whey Ok?


  • Please log in to reply

3 replies to this topic

#1 Killarney

 
Killarney

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
 

Posted 27 September 2004 - 12:29 PM

Is whey gluten-free?

Also is "glutamate" gluten-free? I would assume it's not because it starts with glut, but I haven't seen it listed anywhere. It seems like every soup has glutamate in it!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 27 September 2004 - 02:41 PM

Whey is fine......I know it's some form of milk, such as a protein.....can't remember what part of the milk...anyway, always gluten-free.
  • 0

#3 Boojca

 
Boojca

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 224 posts
 

Posted 28 September 2004 - 06:14 AM

You really don't want to know about whey...it's a very weird consistency...but it is gluten free but NOT dairy free. It IS dairy, actually.

As for glutamate, not a clue what that is (other than it's usually preceded by mono-sodium...)

Bridget
  • 0

#4 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 28 September 2004 - 06:59 AM

According to the ingredient lists here, glutamate is gluten-free.

richard
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: