Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook Celiac.com Forum RSS      

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts
arrowShare this page:
Subscribe Today!

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:
- - - - -

Confused About....

  • Please log in to reply

2 replies to this topic



    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 28 September 2004 - 10:30 AM

I have read in some places that vinegar is safe, some places that it's not, and some places that certain kinds are safe and others aren't. What's the story with vinegar?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:



    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 872 posts

Posted 28 September 2004 - 10:43 AM

Everything currently says it is safe for people with gluten intollerance, however, I personally have problems and nobody seems to know why. I have tried 3 different kinds of vinegar all with similar gluten reactions.

Try it and see...

  • 0
gluten-free since July 2004

Other Intolerances:
Strawberries and Banannas (2007)
Nitrates (April 2006)
Yeast (which includes all vinegar so no condiments) (Oct. 2004)
Peanuts (Nov. 2004)
Soy (Oct. 2004)
Almonds (Sept. 2004)
Corn (Sept. 2004)
Lactose/Casein (1999)



    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts

Posted 28 September 2004 - 11:18 AM


Malt vinegar is not safe and some flavored might not be (for instance Heinz apple cider FLAVORED -- not the real apple cider vinegar -- is not gluten-free). All the rest is gluten-free.


If you tried 3 different vinegars and reacted to all, it's not gluten. Only a very tiny percentage of vinegar is even made from wheat to start with and the odds that all three of these are from wheat are exceedingly small (Heinz, for instance, is from corn). Some people do, however, just have a problem with vinegar.

  • 0

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: