7 replies to this topic

#1 disneyfan

disneyfan

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts

Posted 18 April 2007 - 06:58 AM

Has anyone found that their body is not digesting some vegetables? I have noticed the next day that zucchini, red/green peppers, and sometimes spinach have not been digested and I am wondering why these foods would cause a problem. I have been eating gluten free for about 2 months and I continue to find this happening. Is there some relation to certain vegetables that celiacs can't process or is it just part of the healing process?

Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Felidae

Felidae

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,098 posts

Posted 18 April 2007 - 07:30 AM

It could be that you have other intolerances such as dairy, soy and/or nightshades. Some people can't tolerate these foods while their intestines are healing. Possibly this makes these foods exit your system too quickly. Or, maybe your intestines are still healing and in time the vegetables will be digested fully.

It's kind of a "wait and see" or "trial and error" thing when you are in the early stages of being gluten-free.
Tapioca intolerant
First cousin dx'd with Celiac Disease
Grandmother died of malnutrition b/c everything made her sick... sounds like celiac to me.
Gluten-free since June 2005
Dx with IBS February 2005
Blood tests both negative (or inconclusive?) for celiac (in 2002 and 2004)

#3 CarlaB

CarlaB

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,049 posts

Posted 18 April 2007 - 07:35 AM

It was quite a while before I consistently started digesting foods. I had to overcook veggies for a long time after going gluten-free. I bet it will clear up after you are on the diet a while longer. I know 2 months feels like a long time, but it's not really. You're still doing some healing.