Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Carnation Instant Breakfast
0

15 posts in this topic

What carnation instant breakfast are gluten free. I am trying to add some calories into my diet and someone said this would help. Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

All are gluten free except Chocolate Malt. But a good rule of thumb is to always read the label.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For sure powdered Chocolate, Vanilla and Strawberry, but somewhere in the back of my mind I think you should double check on the already prepared ones.

I'm in Canada, though, I don't know if they are different than in the U.S.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
All are gluten free except Chocolate Malt. But a good rule of thumb is to always read the label.

mg,

Read the label? Why didn't I think of that?

best regards, lm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

.....read the label as ingrediencs may change.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




.....read the label as ingredients may change.

mg,

I wasn't being facetious with you. I was being facetious with htg.

best regards, lm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The powdered mixes mentioned are all okay with, as stated, the exception being the Malt. The last time I checked the Ready to drink were NOT safe, you could check with them though to see if they got smart and changed it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just confirmed this by Carnations website:

All powdered Carnation Instant Breakfast are gluten free (other than Chocolate Malt)

All PRE-MIXED Carnation Instant Breakfast drinks contain BARLY and therefore NOT Gluten Free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I realize this thread is old, but I'm ticked at Carnation right now b/c as I pulled out an IB packet this morning, I read on the package that it's made on equipment that also processes wheat. So if it was fine 3 years ago, why did they have to go and mess it up??!!! That used to be one of my favorite breakfasts and SO convenient!!! (At least I didn't buy it new after my diagnosis thinking it was clean -- this was left over from earlier this year.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I realize this thread is old, but I'm ticked at Carnation right now b/c as I pulled out an IB packet this morning, I read on the package that it's made on equipment that also processes wheat. So if it was fine 3 years ago, why did they have to go and mess it up??!!! That used to be one of my favorite breakfasts and SO convenient!!! (At least I didn't buy it new after my diagnosis thinking it was clean -- this was left over from earlier this year.)

It may still be okay for you. Not everyone is so sensitive that they worry about shared lines. If your supersensitive then do avoid it but if not then it may be okay. It has likely always been made on shared equipment but now they are letting us know.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I went to buy the powder carnation instant breakfast (chocolate) and the last ingredient listed is wheat starch. So I'm assuming its not safe to drink, right?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I went to buy the powder carnation instant breakfast (chocolate) and the last ingredient listed is wheat starch. So I'm assuming its not safe to drink, right?

Correct, it is not safe for us to use.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wrote to Nestle encouraging them to remove wheat starch as an ingredient in the Carnation Instant Breakfast powders (as they now ALL contain it according to the labels). I'm not really sure what to make of their reply. It sounds as if they are listing wheat starch as an ingredient but that ingredient is no longer present(?), which is baffling, not to mention confusing and/or misleading. Anyway, I thought I'd share their response with everyone. Maybe you can make sense of it.

"Thank you for contacting CARNATION

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't find it confusing at all. Verbose, but clear:

The ready-to-drink ones all contain barley malt, albeit at a very low level (<1 ppm).

The Chocolate Malt powder contains both wheat and barley.

The other powders no longer contain wheat starch, but are made on shared equipment.

CAUTION: Many of the posts in this topic are probably out-of-date.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Man this stinks... I love the chocolate flavored one but the last ingredient listed was "wheat starch."  The other flavors may offer cross-machine contamination equipment processing.  Anyone know of any other good chocolate instant breakfast gluten-free brands?  Thanks,

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.