Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Carnation Instant Breakfast
0

15 posts in this topic

What carnation instant breakfast are gluten free. I am trying to add some calories into my diet and someone said this would help. Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

All are gluten free except Chocolate Malt. But a good rule of thumb is to always read the label.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For sure powdered Chocolate, Vanilla and Strawberry, but somewhere in the back of my mind I think you should double check on the already prepared ones.

I'm in Canada, though, I don't know if they are different than in the U.S.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
All are gluten free except Chocolate Malt. But a good rule of thumb is to always read the label.

mg,

Read the label? Why didn't I think of that?

best regards, lm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

.....read the label as ingrediencs may change.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




.....read the label as ingredients may change.

mg,

I wasn't being facetious with you. I was being facetious with htg.

best regards, lm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The powdered mixes mentioned are all okay with, as stated, the exception being the Malt. The last time I checked the Ready to drink were NOT safe, you could check with them though to see if they got smart and changed it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just confirmed this by Carnations website:

All powdered Carnation Instant Breakfast are gluten free (other than Chocolate Malt)

All PRE-MIXED Carnation Instant Breakfast drinks contain BARLY and therefore NOT Gluten Free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I realize this thread is old, but I'm ticked at Carnation right now b/c as I pulled out an IB packet this morning, I read on the package that it's made on equipment that also processes wheat. So if it was fine 3 years ago, why did they have to go and mess it up??!!! That used to be one of my favorite breakfasts and SO convenient!!! (At least I didn't buy it new after my diagnosis thinking it was clean -- this was left over from earlier this year.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I realize this thread is old, but I'm ticked at Carnation right now b/c as I pulled out an IB packet this morning, I read on the package that it's made on equipment that also processes wheat. So if it was fine 3 years ago, why did they have to go and mess it up??!!! That used to be one of my favorite breakfasts and SO convenient!!! (At least I didn't buy it new after my diagnosis thinking it was clean -- this was left over from earlier this year.)

It may still be okay for you. Not everyone is so sensitive that they worry about shared lines. If your supersensitive then do avoid it but if not then it may be okay. It has likely always been made on shared equipment but now they are letting us know.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I went to buy the powder carnation instant breakfast (chocolate) and the last ingredient listed is wheat starch. So I'm assuming its not safe to drink, right?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I went to buy the powder carnation instant breakfast (chocolate) and the last ingredient listed is wheat starch. So I'm assuming its not safe to drink, right?

Correct, it is not safe for us to use.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wrote to Nestle encouraging them to remove wheat starch as an ingredient in the Carnation Instant Breakfast powders (as they now ALL contain it according to the labels). I'm not really sure what to make of their reply. It sounds as if they are listing wheat starch as an ingredient but that ingredient is no longer present(?), which is baffling, not to mention confusing and/or misleading. Anyway, I thought I'd share their response with everyone. Maybe you can make sense of it.

"Thank you for contacting CARNATION

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't find it confusing at all. Verbose, but clear:

The ready-to-drink ones all contain barley malt, albeit at a very low level (<1 ppm).

The Chocolate Malt powder contains both wheat and barley.

The other powders no longer contain wheat starch, but are made on shared equipment.

CAUTION: Many of the posts in this topic are probably out-of-date.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Man this stinks... I love the chocolate flavored one but the last ingredient listed was "wheat starch."  The other flavors may offer cross-machine contamination equipment processing.  Anyone know of any other good chocolate instant breakfast gluten-free brands?  Thanks,

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,354
    • Total Posts
      920,511
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Welcome!   You were smart to think about cross contamination.  Although it is great that there are so many gluten-free options out there, in the beginning it is best to try a whole foods diet, until your son feels a bit better.  The learning curve for the gluten-free diet is steep.  It is better for you to get everything down before letting others feed him.   When I was diagnosed, my hubby had been gluten free for 12 years.  I thought I knew the drill and converted right over to those gluten-free goodies I baked him.  Turned out, like many of us, I had some food inolerances not related to gluten but as a result of gut damage.  So, additives like Xantham gum made me think I was getting glutened, but I was not.  So, again, try to stick to naturally gluten free foods that are less processed for a while.  When you do venture out, I use "find me gluten free" and read the reviews from celiacs (not a person who thinks gluten-free is a way to lose weight! )   Here are some great tips from out Newbie 101 thread:  
    • I have the same problem. Was told it was psoriasis but no treatments worked even injections. I was daignosed celiac in may, and noticed a year ago the palm of my hand would itch intensely then get small blisters. I believe they are both dh. Have been gluten-free since diagnosis but still have issues with both areas. Thankful digestive issues cleared but would love to know how long before they clear up? I hope we both get feed back and best wishes to you!
    • Yes it most certainly could be a false negative, and I would bet you a dozen donuts that it is (gluten free, of course.   )  At the very least you can be sure it is related to gluten.  These gluten rashes take forever to clear up.  I don't know about you, but whenever I start to doubt my gluten intolerance, I just look at my skin, and the old blood stains on my sheets, and I am reassured that it's not all in my head, and I need to avoid gluten as if it were a bucket of battery acid.
    • Hello, My fiance and I are going to Singapore for our honeymoon next year and I was wondering if anyone knew any cafes/restaurants etc that have gluten-free dishes? We previously went two years ago and enjoyed ourselves so much that we definitely wanted to go back our our honeymoon. Catch is I got diagnosed as being gluten intolerant a few months ago, negative for Coeliac though. If I eat gluten I have bad nausea, bloating, diarrhea etc. Not pretty for a honeymoon :-) I am more than happy to eat fruit at breakfast and make do with steamed rice at dinner etc but if anyone has any ideas on anywhere I can safely eat that would be much appreciated. I don't care how much it costs! Also is it possible for me to bring packaged gluten-free food into Singapore from Australia? I am not sure on the rules. Thank you!!
    • Went in and talked to the manager of our pm and asked about the gluten free pizza, and he told me he can't guarantee its 100% gluten free because of the flour in the air from the other crusts being made.  I value the honesty.   The other employee also mentioned changing gloves.   I was thinking wow great, until I walked out and got to thinking about cross contamination from everyone grabbing the toppings out of the same bins and spreading the sauce with the same utensils.    My son was just diagnosed this week so we are new to the whole lifestyle.   So any help or info is greatly appreciated.    Thanks  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,423
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Kimmieellis
    Joined