Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Mcdonalds Must Read
0

179 posts in this topic

im not sure if the fries are gluten-free because they dont have a special place for them, and they usually bake them in with the oils left over from the breaded chicken and other products.

If you are talking about McDonald's, they have dedicated fryers specifically for the French Fries.

Ten pages of this thread is a lot to travel through, but it contains very useful and informative information.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
................

Another thing to point out from McDonalds... I thought I was safe eating the Grilled Chicken Ceasar Salad... but, I was wrong:

Chicken Selects

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

McDonalds fries = gluten free

McDonalds burgers = gluten free (without bun)

Soda = gluten free

Value Meal = Fries + Burger + Soda

Therefore, McDonalds is gluten free

But when you think about it, the Mcdonald's itself is just waiting to destroy your intestines more than the gluten haha.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But when you think about it, the Mcdonald's itself is just waiting to destroy your intestines more than the gluten haha.

I must respond here! McDonald's is not guilty of anything, but catering to 90% of public demand.

What YOU choose to put into YOUR mouth is YOUR responsibility only! No need to blame companies like McD's.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"I don't belive that to be true, Glix. . .are you sure?"

Every ice cream I've ever checked has been gluten-free UNLESS it has obvious stuff like cookies, cookie dough, cake, pie, etc. I've also seen one or two fudge type things that have been dicey. Otherwise, ice cream appears to be gluten-free. If anybody can show otherwise, please let us know.

For me, this is a product I've stopped checking so rigoriously.

richard

I went to a Cold Stone and was informed that most of their ice cream was gluteny.... :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Well......some of McDonalds is gluten-free.......but apple pies aren't gluten-free, chicken nuggets aren't gluten-free, etc.

CHICKEN NUGGETS?

dshfuhauidfaioghfuighi

My life sucks.

:angry:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My life sucks.

:angry:

Yeah, for a few minutes...... then you get over it. ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I went up to the counter at McD's recently just to see what reaction the workers would give me when I questioned them about gluten. The lady barely understood my question, and looked at me like I was high when I asked if the fries were made seperately, on a dedicated fryer. Then she shook her head and said, "Uhh...noo." There is no way, in my opinion, that a fast food place is going to be gluten-free, with all the nasty cross contamination that occurs there. I know we all have to take a risk sometimes, but eating at a place like this is an awful big one.

My daughter worked at our local McD's and she said the fryer for fries was only used for fries. They have a seperate one for everything else.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My daughter worked at our local McD's and she said the fryer for fries was only used for fries. They have a seperate one for everything else.

I noticed though that one of the ingredients in the fries is natural beef flavor which they say may contain wheat.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This post by me in this thread about six months ago is worth re-posting, it seems.

I would suggest that you investigate *all* the information available, and then make a personal decision that is right for you. There is much in this thread alone.

Also see:

http://www.csaceliacs.org/documents/FinalC...ds023006wlh.pdf

Regarding the fries, while it is true that wheat is used as a starting ingredient in the United States (but NOT in any other country that I am aware of), the final product has been independently tested and found to contain no detectable gluten.

You decide for yourself what is right for you.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

McDonald's no longer maintains a gluten free list of products. Their fries contain wheat (beef flavoring) but not wheat gluten protein. Cross contamination is always a concern with multiple shifts if the managers are not conscience of allergies. I get sick every time even with dedicated fryers due to an additional wheat allergy not just celiac. Red Robin and Chick-fil-a are very careful and do maintain a gluten free list. Just be careful! Burger King and Hardees now have a gluten-sensitivities list on there websites!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And you have to worry about a new employee using the wrong fryer. Trust me, I've worked at DQ and Starbucks and I've seen so many new employees cross contaminate or break rules about food safe standards.

I've literally stood there, told them what to do, then watched them do the opposite. It depends on whether you feel comfortable with that store.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't wanna hear nothing about Mcdonalds!! Those Mcdonalds are evil and I have been glutened by those so called gluten-free french fries.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

:} If your fries are fried in the same fryer as the nuggets, yes you can be glutened.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

:} If your fries are fried in the same fryer as the nuggets, yes you can be glutened.

And, have you read the 164 posts prior to your statement on this thread? If not, you can do a search for the topic of McDonald's here. There is some great information here, with documentary facts.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And, have you read the 164 posts prior to your statement on this thread? If not, you can do a search for the topic of McDonald's here. There is some great information here, with documentary facts.

No. I just related MY experience with restaurant. We are allowed to relate our experiences and share our opinions. And now I'm finished with this... I don't eat there anymore...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

don't forget to make sure the french fries are fried separately from the chicken nuggets

Exactly, just because they don't use flour for a coating on there fries doesn't mean that they don't fry them with the fish and chicken that do have flour. Cross contamination, Watch out for it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Exactly, just because they don't use flour for a coating on there fries doesn't mean that they don't fry them with the fish and chicken that do have flour. Cross contamination, Watch out for it.

If you are referring to McDonald's, it is their policy to have dedicated fryers just for the french fries and hash browns and they are located in a separate section of the kitchen, to avoid such cross contamination.

Of course, when choosing to order in a fast food restaurant, you are at the hands of unskilled and uninformed employees regarding your dietary needs. And, generally it's a hectic work environment. They cater to 95% or more, who do not have dietary concerns (or at least, don't admit it :blink: ).

The risk is yours.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Look here for allergen information on MacDonalds:

http://nutrition.mcdonalds.com/nutritionexchange/nutrition_ingredients.html#1

French Fries:

Potatoes, vegetable oil (canola oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, natural beef flavor [wheat and milk derivatives]*, citric acid [preservative]), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (maintain color), salt. Prepared in vegetable oil (Canola oil, corn oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil with TBHQ and citric acid added to preserve freshness). Dimethylpolysiloxane added as an antifoaming agent.

CONTAINS: WHEAT AND MILK *(Natural beef flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

<SIGH>

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Look here for allergen information on MacDonalds:

http://nutrition.mcdonalds.com/nutritionexchange/nutrition_ingredients.html#1

French Fries:

Potatoes, vegetable oil (canola oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, natural beef flavor [wheat and milk derivatives]*, citric acid [preservative]), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (maintain color), salt. Prepared in vegetable oil (Canola oil, corn oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil with TBHQ and citric acid added to preserve freshness). Dimethylpolysiloxane added as an antifoaming agent.

CONTAINS: WHEAT AND MILK *(Natural beef flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients).

And that is somewhat true, but quite misleading. Read on.

<SIGH>

Lisa, I hear you, my friend. :blink:

This post by me in this thread about six months ago is worth re-posting, again, it seems.

I would suggest that you investigate *all* the information available, and then make a personal decision that is right for you. There is much in this thread alone.

Also see:

http://www.csaceliacs.org/documents/FinalC...ds023006wlh.pdf

Regarding the fries, while it is true that wheat is used as a starting ingredient in the United States (but NOT in any other country that I am aware of), the final product has been independently tested and found to contain no detectable gluten.

You decide for yourself what is right for you.

If you are worried about the undetectable residual gluten after all that processing, I have to ask, why on earth are you even thinking about eating in a restaurant--ANY RESTAURANT--due to possible cross-contamination. In every restaurant I have ever been to, the facility has been shared with gluten products, and the dishes, cutlery and dishwashers are shared equipment.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry, but I was curious about the fries. I went to the website and this is copied directly from the allergy info page. I am soooooooo disappointed!

French Fries

French Fries:

Potatoes, vegetable oil (canola oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, natural beef flavor [wheat and milk derivatives]*, citric acid [preservative]), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (maintain color), salt. Prepared in vegetable oil (Canola oil, corn oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil with TBHQ and citric acid added to preserve freshness). Dimethylpolysiloxane added as an antifoaming agent.

CONTAINS: WHEAT AND MILK *(Natural beef flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

BonnieS, please read my post preceding yours. Then, if you still are unsure, please read this entire thread (all 174 posts). The fries have been independently tested and there is no detectable gluten in them. It is possible to start with wheat and end up with a gluten-free result. It is not common, but it is possible.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

French Fries

French Fries:

Potatoes, vegetable oil (canola oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, natural beef flavor [wheat and milk derivatives]*, citric acid [preservative]), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (maintain color), salt. Prepared in vegetable oil (Canola oil, corn oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil with TBHQ and citric acid added to preserve freshness). Dimethylpolysiloxane added as an antifoaming agent.

CONTAINS: WHEAT AND MILK *(Natural beef flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients).

I would skip them just because so many of the ingredients don't resemble food

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,344
    • Total Posts
      920,486
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • What's an " iodine test"?  Haven't heard doctors doing that to diagnose DH.
    • Hello! I've just been given my blood results and told they are highly suggestive of coeliacs but will have to wait till next month to see the gastroenterologist and who knows how much longer for a biopsy. My igA, igG and tissuetrans igA were all over 250 and tissuetrans igG was the only one that was normal. These results don't mean much to me yet but I'm told they are very high. I'm now quite fearful of how much damage I've gone to myself. I've had stomach problems for 25 years (just turned 40) and have often steered clear of too much bread and pasta for how bloated it made me feel but the symptoms were always vague and inconsistent so I kept eating. I had a couple of boats in the past few months (thanks kids) which I took a lot longer than normal to recover from then last Friday I had a blowout with wine, cheese, crackers, pizza and chocolate cake. I'm sure I've probably had blowouts like that before but I have never felt so sick before and am still slowly recovering. This is what finally prompted me to go back to my GP after being fobbed off so many times over the years. So I guess my question and my concern is whether there is still  chance of a false positive with levels like this? I worry what else it might be if not coeliac. I'm also worried that I may have done so much damage to myself that I will have several disorders going on! Thankyou!!    
    • Here's what the Klondike Bar makers say on the FAQ page of their website (August 2016): Are your products gluten free? Nope. They are not. We have not validated for gluten free. We do not operate allergen-free manufacturing sites, however we do have allergen management programs in all our facilities. The intent of these programs is to avoid unintentional cross-contamination of allergens between products. Our product labels adhere to the FDA’s strict regulations regarding declaration of ingredients and allergens. We do not use the terms “Natural” or “Artificial Flavorings” to hide the existence of any allergens. RECIPES CAN CHANGE. We strongly recommend that allergic consumers refer to ingredient declarations EVERY TIME they purchase processed foods.
    • I tried the iodine test but couldn't leave it on very long because it itched too much. I left it on maybe 30 minutes lol. Did anyone try it and have the same response??
    • Had my scope today. Dr said my esophagus is damaged and stomach inflamed. Waiting on biopsy results. Taking protonic and flagyl and he said to go ahead and try cutting gluten out to see if that helps. Thanks for the feedback everyone! 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,414
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Vic40
    Joined