Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Trick Or Treat List


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 flagbabyds

flagbabyds

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,345 posts

Posted 03 October 2004 - 10:11 AM

This is something I got from my ROCK group, it is very useful

Gluten-Free Trick or Treating - 2004

Disclaimer: This list is for reference only and the user should contact manufacturers directly. It is a guideline and the user accepts full responsibility for use of it. At the time of it’s posting, it is believed to be accurate with current gluten-free information. As a gluten-free consumer, you are responsible for making your own food selections. I am not a medical expert, I’m a mom of a Celiac pre-schooler who is always on a quest for gluten-free knowledge.

Notes: Please beware of candy that is not in it’s “normal shape.” Often times, that means the ingredients are different, and could very well contain gluten. Bags of mixed treats that do have gluten containing treats that touch each other should be discarded due to cross-contamination. If there is a treat that may not be listed on here, do not be alarmed… just check with the manufacturer. I couldn’t get them all on here and I’m sure there are some I have forgotten.

Thanks: I would like to thank all of the people who have shared information to make this list possible… including several ROCK leaders (Sue of NJ ROCK, Carrie of Reno ROCK, and Melissa of TampaBay ROCK) who consistently share their information with me and our ROCK Northern Virginia chapter. I’d also like to thank Lindsay Amadeo of Iowa (who maintains a wonderful gluten-free commercial product listing which includes many tricks and treats), SillyYaks Yahoo!groups members including Judy Kramer, and members of the St. John’s Celiac List Serv. Thanks to EVERYONE who responded in my quest for updating my list from last year.

~ Have a Spook-Tacular Halloween!
Melonie Katz

GLUTEN FREE “SUGGESTIONS”:
<sum> 3 Muskateers
<sum> After Eight Dinner Mints
<sum> Airheads (January 2004)
<sum> Allan Brand Candy Canes
<sum> Almond Joy by Hershey’s
<sum> Altoids - gluten will be listed on label as wheat, rye, barley, or oats (Kraft product)
<sum> Ande’s Mints (September 2003)
<sum> ANDI Bars (Gluten Free and Casein Free) available through www.glutenfreepantry.com
<sum> Astro Pops
<sum> Baby Ruth by Nestle (February 2004)
<sum> Bazooka Gum (August 2004)
<sum> Beechnut: Peppermint, Spearmint, Cinnamon flavors (September 2003)
<sum> Big League Chew Gum (Original, Grape, Strawberry)
<sum> Bit O Honey (February 2004)
<sum> Bottle caps
<sum> Break Bar by Glutino (looks/tastes like a Kit Kat, but it IS gluten-free, whereas KitKats are not) available at www.allergygrocer.com
<sum> Breath savers Mints (Sugar Free, Iced Mint, Mint Cinnamon, Peppermint, Spearmint, Vanilla Mint, WinterGreen)
<sum> Bubbilicious Gum (April 2003)
<sum> Bubble Yum Gum
<sum> Butterfinger (February 2004)
<sum> Butterfinger BBs (February 2004)
<sum> Butterfinger Poppables
<sum> Butterfinger: Pumpkins (September 2003)
<sum> Cadbury Candy Bars (Fundraising Bar, Bunnies, Caramilk, Caramilk Roll, Crunchie, Dairy Milk, Easter Egg Creams, Easter Parade, Fruit & Nut, Golden Caramel, Hazelnut, Mini Eggs, Roast Almond, Rum & Butter)
<sum> Candy Corn by Goelitz (October 2003) is also VEGETARIAN. Verified: 10/22/03
<sum> Carefree Gum (September 2003)
<sum> Carmel-a-lot by Cambridge (September 2003)
<sum> Certs Mints
<sum> Charleston Chews by Cambridge (September 2003)
<sum> Charms: Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy September -2003)
<sum> Charms: Squares, Pops, Blow Pops, Super Blow Pops Zip A Doo Da, Family Fun, Super Sour Balls, Pops Galore (October 2003)
<sum> Chicklets - regular and tiny size (January 2004)
<sum> Chunky by Nestle (February 2004)
<sum> Clark Bars (September 2003)
<sum> Clorets Gum
<sum> Clorets Mints
<sum> Crowe’s by Tootsie (March 2004)
<sum> Dentyne Gum all September 2003
<sum> Dots by Tootsie - Regular, Tropical, or Wild Berry are gluten-free (March 2004)
<sum> Double Bubble Gum (October 2003)
<sum> Dove (September 2003)
<sum> Eclipse Gum by Wrigley’s (is also vegetarian) (August 2003)
<sum> EnjoyLifeFoods BIG Cookies – gluten-free and available through www.glutenfreepantry.com
<sum> EnviroKidz Cereal Bars (marked gluten-free) (September 2004)
<sum> Extra Gum by Wrigley’s (is also vegetarian) (August 2003)
<sum> Farley: Candy Corn, Harvest Mix, Jellybird Eggs, Holiday Creams (Christmas Easter) (September 2003)
<sum> Farley: Yogurt Raisins, Banana Chips, Pineapple Wedges, Fruit Snacks (September 2003)
<sum> Farley candies: Fruit Flavored Jells & JuJu & Bears, Giant Jellies, Gummy Bears, Jelly Bird Eggs, Jelly Rings, JuJu Coins, Jumbo Jelly Beans, Orange & Lemon Slices, Speckled Bird Eggs, Tiny Jelly Eggs
<sum> Ferrara Pan: all, including Red Hots, Lemonheads, Jaw Busters, Boston Baked Beans, Atomic Fireballs, Black Forest Gummies, Grape Heads, Jellybeans (March 2003)
<sum> Freedent: peppermint, spearmint, winter fresh (September 2003)
<sum> Fresh Fruit, Of course!!!!
<sum> Fruit Stripe gum - all (September 2003)
<sum> Fun Dip
<sum> General Mills general statement: read label. Wheat, rye, barley, oats will be listed
<sum> Glenny’s Potato Crisps and Soy Crisps (assorted flavors are gluten free and can be found at www.GlutenSolutions.com)
<sum> Gobstoppers
<sum> Goobers by Nestle (February 2004)
<sum> Heide products: all products made gluten-free in gluten-free plant
<sum> Hershey’s Almond Kisses
<sum> Hershey’s Bites
<sum> Hershey’s Plain Chocolate Bars
<sum> Hershey’s Plain Kisses
<sum> Hershey’s Kisses with Almonds
<sum> Hershey’s Giant Kiss
<sum> Hershey’s Swoops: check label. Gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley or oats
<sum> Hershey's general statement: check label. Gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley or oats
<sum> Honey Acres candies: Honey Gummies (are also vegetarian), and Honey Mints (are also vegetarian) (September 2003)
<sum> Hot Tamales (February 2004)
<sum> Ice Breakers Gum
<sum> Jelly Belly (except buttered toast flavor)
<sum> Jolly Rancher Lollipops
<sum> Jolly Ranchers (Hershey's product. Check label. Gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley or oats)
<sum> Junior Mint by Cambridge (September 2003)
<sum> Junior Mint Chews by Cambridge (September 2003)
<sum> Just Born: Valentines Day Mike and Ike, Valentine’s Day Peep Hearts, Easter Peeps, Eggs, Bunnies, Easter Mike and Ike, Jelly Beans, Halloween Pumpkins, Ghosts, Cats, Christmas Trees, Snowmen, Teenie Beanie Holiday Mix (February 2004)
<sum> Kettle Valley brand Fruit Leather (apple, Tropical Blend, Watermelon, Strawberry, Raspberry, WildBerry) available at www.allergygrocer.com
<sum> Kraft Caramels (September 2003)
<sum> Kraft will list major allergens
<sum> Laffy Taffy by Willy Wonka (October 2003)
<sum> Lifesavers general statement: gluten will be listed on label as wheat, rye, barley or oats (Kraft product)
<sum> Lifesavers Gummies
<sum> M&M’s – Plain (January 2004)
<sum> Manischewitz: Milk and Dark Chocolate Coins (January 2003)
<sum> Mars Bar
<sum> Marvel Candy Sticks (marked as gluten-free) and found at some Wal-Mart stores
<sum> Mega WarHeads (June 2003)
<sum> Mike and Ike (February 2004)
<sum> Milky Way Midnight (January 2004); note: other Milky Ways are NOT gluten-free
<sum> Mounds
<sum> Nabisco general statement: read label. Wheat, rye, barley, oats will be listed
<sum> Necco Brands (Canada Mints, Candy Stix, Haviland Peppermint Patties/Thin Mints, Mary Janes, Mary Janes Peanut Butter Kisses, Wafers, Talking Pumpkins, Wintergreen Lozenges, Conversation Hearts (September 2003)
<sum> Nerds by Willy Wonka (October 2003)
<sum> Nestle general statement: gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley oats (February 2004)
<sum> Newman's Own: all sweet dark chocolate products, choc bar, butter toffee crunch (January 2004)
<sum> Oh Henry by Nestle (February 2004)
<sum> Orbit Gum by Wrigley’s (is also vegetarian) (August 2003)
<sum> Payday
<sum> Pearson Nips (by Nestle February 2004)
<sum> Pez (June 2004)
<sum> Pixie Sticks
<sum> Pretzel Packs made by Ener-G Foods or Glutino (specially marked gluten free) and are available at www.GlutenSolutions.com
<sum> Raisnettes by Nestle (February 2004)
<sum> Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Miniatures
<sum> Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
<sum> Rolo
<sum> Running Rabbit Licorice (confirm gluten-free status) (Ingredients: corn syrup, turbinado sugar, cornstarch, dextrose, licorice root extract, tapioca dextrin, anise oil, salt, separating agents (mineral oil & bees wax). 5oz box (approx. 35 pieces) Free of: Wheat, Gluten, Dairy, Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Egg, Soy, Rice, Potato, Yeast, Sesame and is available at www.allergygrocer.com
<sum> Runts
<sum> Russell Stover: check label. Gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley or oats
<sum> Russell Stover: PB Ghost, Buzzard Nest, Marshmallow Pumpkins (September 2003)
<sum> Sees ( Almond Royal, Toffee-ettes, Asst Sugar Sticks, Sugar Twists, Dark Chocolate with Almonds Candy Bar, Candy Canes) (January 2003)
<sum> Skittles (September 2003)
<sum> Smarties Brand Smarties (October 2003)
<sum> Smarties Double Lolly, Mega Lolly (October 2003)
<sum> Snickers (No Crispy or No Poppables!!)
<sum> Snickers Pumpkins (September 2003)
<sum> SnoCaps by Nestle (February 2004)
<sum> Sour Patch Kids by Trebor Allen Swedish Fish (Sepetmber 2003)
<sum> Spangler LolliPops: Dum Dums, Astro Pops, Picture Pops (June 2004)
<sum> Spangler: all candy canes, xmas shop pops (December 2003)
<sum> Spree (February 2004)
<sum> St. Claire’s Sweets (All are gluten, casein, nut, egg, GMO, soy, corn, peanut, shell fish free and they are certified organic. They have certifications from all their suppliers that they are gluten and all the other allergens free. And available through www.econturalsolutions.com.
<sum> Starburst Fruit Chews (September 2003)
<sum> Starburst JellyBeans (September 2003)
<sum> Stretch Island 100% Fruit Snack (Apricot*, Berry, Blackberry, Great Grape, Rare Raspberry available at most East Coast Trader Joe’s) (September 2004)
<sum> Sugar Babies (September 2003)
<sum> Sugar Daddies (September 2003)
<sum> Sunkist chewy candies - Fruit Gems, Jelly Beans, Orange & Cream Chews, Super Sour Stars October 2003)
<sum> Sunkist Fruit Slices (April 2004)
<sum> Swedish Fish by Trebor Allen (September 2003)
<sum> SweetTarts (February 2004)
<sum> Swoops by Hershey’s (Regular, Reece’s, Almond Joy, York)
<sum> Tangy Taffy
<sum> Tart N Tiny
<sum> Teenee Beanie made by Just Born (February 2004)
<sum> TicTacs (April 2003)
<sum> Tootsie Rolls & Pops
<sum> Tootsie: Pops, Carmel Apple, Mutuant Fruitant, Flavor Roll, Twisties, Peppermint, Tropical Dot Fruit Smoothies, Hot Choc Pops (March 2004)
<sum> Tops: all, including Ring Pops, Push Pops, Baby Bottle Pops, Juicy Drop Pops and Chews, etc. (August 2004)
<sum> Trident Gum all (June 2004)
<sum> Trolli Gummi: Peachie O's, Squiggles, Sour Bite Crawlers, Octopus (September 2003)
<sum> Turtles by Nestle (February 2004)
<sum> Welch’s Fruit Snacks – all (April 2004)
<sum> Werther’s Originals
<sum> WonderBall by Nestle (February 2004)
<sum> Wonka: check label. Gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley or oats
<sum> Wrigley’s Gum (all are gluten-free June 2004)
<sum> York Peppermint Patties
<sum> Zours made by JustBorn (February 2004)


DEFINITE NO-NO’s:
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE KitKat
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE 1,000 Grand Bar by Nestle
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE 3 Muskateers Chewlicious Chocolate Flavored Chews
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Brach’s Fruit Rippers (clearly lists wheat as ingredient)
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Brach’s Candy – ALL! (Thank you for your interest in Brach's and for contacting us about the gluten free status of our Brach*s candy products. For your information, we do not consider any of our products gluten free at the present time. Please be advised that we do plan to undertake a project to determine the gluten status of each and every one of our products. ~Brach's Consumer Relations)
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Ghiradelli: white choc chips and choc masterpiece collection
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Goldfish (All Varieties)
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Haribo licorice, fruity pasta, sour spagetti, strawberry wheels Jun-04
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Hershey Hugs
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Jelly Belly Buttered Toast Flavor, or any bag that may contain Buttered Toast inside
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE M&M Crispies (blue bag)
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Magic Milk by Nestle
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Most Commercially Made Rice Krispy Treats (usually contains malt)
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Most HomeMade Rice Krispy Style Treats
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Most licorices unless purchased from a health food store and is clearly marked gluten-free
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Nestle Crunch
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Nestle Treasures Crunch
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Pretzel Flipz
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Rice Krispy Treats (contains malt)
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Snickers Crispy
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Snickers Poppables
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Snickers Poppables
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Snyder’s of Hanover MiniPretzel Packs
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Twizzlers Licorice (contains: Corn syrup, flour, sugar, cornstarch, shortening, molasses, and flavorings are mixed together to make the candy)
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Whoppers
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE Willy Wonka Oompas
<sum> NOT GLUTEN FREE/NOT EDIBLE: Play Dough or PlayDough Mini Packs

OTHER NON-EDIBLE “TREAT” OPTIONS:
<sum> A Grab Bag from a Dollar Store such as 50 pack of miniature army men, etc.
<sum> Balloons
<sum> Books from the dollar store
<sum> Bracelets
<sum> Cars (like HotWheels, etc.)
<sum> Couple of Legos from a large tub of Legos
<sum> Crayola Model Magic (Individual Packs)
<sum> Crayons
<sum> Dress Up “stuff” (magic wands, boas, etc.)
<sum> Erasers
<sum> FunPads/Activity Pads from the Dollar Store
<sum> Gift Certificates (.50 increments to McDonald’s)
<sum> Hair scrunchies
<sum> Magic Markers
<sum> MardiGras Beads
<sum> MightyBeanz trading beanz
<sum> Neon GlowLites/Glo Bracelets/Glo Necklaces
<sum> Pencils
<sum> Pennies
<sum> Pinata Stuffers (Kazoos, whistles, toys, etc.)
<sum> Plastic Leis used at Hawaiian theme parties
<sum> Postage Stamps
<sum> Rubber Stamps
<sum> Sidewalk Chalk
<sum> Small Bottles of Bubbles
<sum> Small Spiral Notebooks
<sum> Stamps
<sum> Stickers
<sum> Temporary Tattooes
<sum> Toothbrushes
<sum> Trading Cards (Pokemon, YuGiOh, Baseball Cards, Bratz, etc.)
<sum> www.OrientalTrading.com (miscellaneous goodies)
<sum> www.SwizzleSticks.MakesParties.com (miscellaneous goodies)

OPTIONS FOR DEALING WITH CANDY
THAT DOES CONTAIN GLUTEN:
<sum> Donate it to your local food bank
<sum> Have gluten-free goodies on hand to “trade” your child for the unsafe stuff
<sum> Save it to use for making a Gingerbread house for the holidays (just for viewing, of course!)
<sum> Some dentists will accept your child’s candy and will “trade” it for some healthy options
<sum> Sort it, “buy it back” from your child, allow him/her to use that money to buy more gluten-free goodies
<sum> Sort it, separate it, toss it
<sum> Sort it, separate it, trade it with another child who can have that candy & trade for the gluten-free goodies
  • 0
Molly

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Mom22

Mom22

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 86 posts

Posted 03 October 2004 - 10:46 AM

Molly,
Thanks for the list. I actually found something on the definite no-no list (snickers poppables) that I didn't realize wasn't gluten-free as I assumed they were because snicker's candy bars are, but saw this before I gave them to our son. This board just goes to show how useful and helpful it is to others. Thanks again for posting!

Mom 2 2
  • 0

#3 celiac3270

celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts

Posted 03 October 2004 - 03:54 PM

Great list.......i don't trick or treat, but it'll be nice for eating candy in general....i didn't realize that lifesavers were made by kraft......i, too, learned something from the list :)
  • 0

#4 gf4life

gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts

Posted 03 October 2004 - 06:24 PM

I had gotten a copy of that list a few weeks ago. I took the liberty of modifying it to work with a gluten and dairy free diet. Make sure you always read the labels though since manufacturers change ingredients all too often.

GLUTEN FREE & DAIRY FREE SUGGESTIONS:

· Airheads (January 2004)
· Allan Brand Candy Canes
· Altoids - gluten will be listed on label as wheat, rye, barley, or oats (Kraft product)
· ANDI Bars (Gluten Free and Casein Free) available through www.glutenfreepantry.com
· Astro Pops
· Bazooka Gum (August 2004)
· Beechnut: Peppermint, Spearmint, Cinnamon flavors (September 2003)
· Big League Chew Gum (Original, Grape, Strawberry)
· Bottle caps
· Breath savers Mints (Sugar Free, Iced Mint, Mint Cinnamon, Peppermint, Spearmint, Vanilla Mint, WinterGreen)
· Bubbilicious Gum (April 2003)
· Bubble Yum Gum
· Candy Corn by Goelitz (October 2003) is also VEGETARIAN. Verified: 10/22/03
· Carefree Gum (September 2003)
· Certs Mints
· Charms: Fluffy Stuff Cotton Candy September -2003)
· Charms: Squares, Pops, Blow Pops, Super Blow Pops Zip A Doo Da, Family Fun, Super Sour Balls, Pops Galore (October 2003)
· Chicklets - regular and tiny size (January 2004)
· Chick-O Stick
· Clorets Gum
· Clorets Mints
· Crows by Tootsie (March 2004)
· Dentyne Gum all September 2003
· Dots by Tootsie - Regular, Tropical, or Wild Berry are gluten-free (March 2004)
· Double Bubble Gum (October 2003)
· Eclipse Gum by Wrigleys (is also vegetarian) (August 2003)
· EnjoyLifeFoods BIG Cookies -available through www.glutenfreepantry.com (Check ingredients to make sure the flavor you buy is dairy free)
· EnviroKidz Cereal Bars (except Chocolate flavored:contains milk) (marked gluten-free) (September 2004)
· Extra Gum by Wrigleys (is also vegetarian) (August 2003)
· Farley: Candy Corn, Harvest Mix, Jellybird Eggs, Holiday Creams (Christmas Easter) (September 2003)
· Farley: Banana Chips, Pineapple Wedges, Fruit Snacks (September 2003)
· Farley candies: Fruit Flavored Jells & JuJu & Bears, Giant Jellies, Gummy Bears, Jelly Bird Eggs, Jelly Rings, JuJu Coins, Jumbo Jelly Beans, Orange & Lemon Slices, Speckled Bird Eggs, Tiny Jelly Eggs
· Ferrara Pan: all, including Red Hots, Lemonheads, Jaw Busters, Boston Baked Beans, Atomic Fireballs, Black Forest Gummies, Grape Heads, Jellybeans (March 2003)
· Freedent: peppermint, spearmint, winter fresh (September 2003)
· Fresh Fruit, Of course!!!!
· Fruit Stripe gum - all (September 2003)
· Fun Dip
· General Mills general statement: read label. Wheat, rye, barley, oats will be listed
· Glennys Potato Crisps and Soy Crisps (assorted flavors are gluten free and can be found at www.GlutenSolutions.com)
· Gobstoppers
· Goldenberg's Peanut Chews by Just Born
· Honey Acres candies: Honey Gummies (are also vegetarian), and Honey Mints (are also vegetarian) (September 2003)
· Hot Tamales (February 2004)
· Ice Breakers Gum
· Jelly Belly (All flavors of Jelly Beans EXCEPT: Cafe Latte, Buttered Toast, Caramel Corn, Buttered Popcorn, Chocolate Cherry Cake, Chocolate Pudding, Strawberry Cheesecake) Do not get bags of assorted due to cross contamination from these flavors.
· Jolly Rancher Lollipops
· Jolly Ranchers (Hershey's product. Check label. Gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley or oats)
· Just Born: Valentines Day Mike and Ike, Valentines Day Peep Hearts, Easter Peeps, Eggs, Bunnies, Easter Mike and Ike, Jelly Beans, Halloween Pumpkins, Ghosts, Cats, Christmas Trees, Snowmen, Teenie Beanie Holiday Mix (February 2004)
· Kettle Valley brand Fruit Leather (apple, Tropical Blend, Watermelon, Strawberry, Raspberry, WildBerry) available at www.allergygrocer.com
· Kraft will list major allergens
· Laffy Taffy by Willy Wonka (October 2003)
· Lifesavers general statement: gluten will be listed on label as wheat, rye, barley or oats (Kraft product)
· Lifesavers Gummies
· Marvel Candy Sticks (marked as gluten-free) and found at some Wal-Mart stores
· Mega WarHeads (June 2003)
· Mike and Ike (February 2004)
· Nabisco general statement: read label. Wheat, rye, barley, oats will be listed
· Necco Brands (Candy Stix, Mary Janes, Mary Janes Peanut Butter Kisses, Wafers, Talking Pumpkins, Wintergreen Lozenges, Conversation Hearts (September 2003)
· Nerds by Willy Wonka (October 2003)
· Orbit Gum by Wrigleys (is also vegetarian) (August 2003)
· Pez (June 2004)
· Pixie Sticks
· Pretzel Packs made by Ener-G Foods or Glutino (specially marked gluten free) and are available at www.GlutenSolutions.com
· Running Rabbit Licorice (confirm gluten-free status) (Ingredients: corn syrup, turbinado sugar, cornstarch, dextrose, licorice root extract, tapioca dextrin, anise oil, salt, separating agents (mineral oil & bees wax). 5oz box (approx. 35 pieces) Free of: Wheat, Gluten, Dairy, Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Egg, Soy, Rice, Potato, Yeast, Sesame and is available at www.allergygrocer.com
· Runts
· Sees (Asst Sugar Sticks, Candy Canes) (January 2003)
· Sesame Seed Crunch (INGREDIENTS: Sesame Seeds, Corn Syrup, Sugar, Honey)
· Skittles (September 2003)
· Smarties Brand Smarties (October 2003)
· Smarties Double Lolly, Mega Lolly (October 2003)
· Sour Patch Kids by Trebor Allen Swedish Fish (Sepetmber 2003)
· Spangler LolliPops: Dum Dums, Astro Pops, Picture Pops (June 2004)
· Spangler: all candy canes, xmas shop pops (December 2003)
· Spree (February 2004)
· St. Claires Sweets (All are gluten, casein, nut, egg, GMO, soy, corn, peanut, shell fish free and they are certified organic. They have certifications from all their suppliers that they are gluten and all the other allergens free. And available through www.econturalsolutions.com.
· Starburst Fruit Chews (September 2003)
· Starburst JellyBeans (September 2003)
· Stretch Island 100% Fruit Snack (Apricot*, Berry, Blackberry, Great Grape, Rare Raspberry) (September 2004)
· Sunkist chewy candies - Fruit Gems, Jelly Beans, Orange & Cream Chews, Super Sour Stars October 2003)
· Sunkist Fruit Slices (April 2004)
· Swedish Fish by Trebor Allen (September 2003)
· SweetTarts (February 2004)
· Tangy Taffy
· Tart N Tiny
· TicTacs (April 2003)
· Topps: all are gluten-free, (but read labels for dairy), including Ring Pops, Push Pops, Baby Bottle Pops, Juicy Drop Pops and Chews, etc. (August 2004)
· Trident Gum all (June 2004)
· Trolli Gummi: Peachie O's, Squiggles, Sour Bite Crawlers, Octopus (September 2003)
· Tropical Source 100% Gluten Free & Dairy Free chocolate bars (available at Whole Foods and other healthfood stores) http://www.nspiredfo...ropicalsrc.html
· Welchs Fruit Snacks all (April 2004)
· Wonka: check label. Gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley or oats
· Wrigleys Gum (all are gluten-free June 2004)
· Zours made by JustBorn (February 2004)

God bless,
Mariann
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

#5 lilliexx

lilliexx

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 141 posts

Posted 04 October 2004 - 03:33 PM

thanks for posting those lists!! i always LOVE raiding my son's trick or treat candy after he goes to sleep!! mwahahahahhaha :)
  • 0
Gluten free since July 2004

I have made it one year and feel much much better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

#6 kschmitz

kschmitz

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 04 October 2004 - 07:05 PM

Didn't see "Milkduds" on the yes or no list. Does anyone know if this candy is gluten-free?

Thanks!!

ks
  • 0

#7 Guest_barbara3675_*

Guest_barbara3675_*
  • Guests

Posted 04 October 2004 - 07:42 PM

Just got back results from Enterolab that I am not only gluten sensitive, but cow's milk too. I just read the list of candy for milk sensitive people and I don't see any chocolate there. I have the gluten thing figured out pretty good and have been eating gluten-free for two months now. I think I really need some help in learning how to eat dairy free!!!!!!!! You mean to tell me there is dairy in chocolate candy? I have been eating M&M's and Junior Mints thinking they are o.k. Maybe I need someone to tell me what the trigger words are in the ingredient list so I don't eat milk things accidentally. Does this mean I can't eat butter or cheese too? I need help. Barbara
  • 0

#8 gf4life

gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts

Posted 04 October 2004 - 08:32 PM

Hi Barbara,

There are only two on the list, plus another that didn't get added:

· Goldenberg's Peanut Chews by Just Born
· Sharffen-Berger Gourmet Dark Chocolates
· Tropical Source 100% Gluten Free & Dairy Free chocolate bars (available at Whole Foods and other healthfood stores) http://www.nspiredfo...ropicalsrc.html

There are only a few kinds of chocolates that are dairy free. Mostly they are dark chocolate. Most chocolate candy bars contain milk products. Health food stores are your best bet when it comes to finding dairy free chocolates. Some of the chocolate chips are okay. Read the labels though. A lot of brands contain milkfat, which would not be safe.

And yes, butter and cheese are out, also ice cream, yogurt, whipped topping, coffee creamer (except Mocha Mix), whey, lactose, sodium caseinates (and any caseinates for that matter), and anything that contains any kind of milk ingredient, if you are going to be 100% dairy free. It isn't fun and it is a bit hard to get used to at first, but it is possible to be gluten and dairy free and still eat tons of great foods. There are lots of posts about it here, or you can e-mail me if you want some personal help.

God bless,
Mariann
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

#9 lovegrov

lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,536 posts

Posted 05 October 2004 - 04:50 AM

Milk Duds are yet another Hershey product. As with any Hershey product, just read the ingredients to see if they are gluten-free. They were last time I looked.

Also, Hershey Hugs are listed as not gluten-free but I think they are. But before you eat one, read the ingredients to make sure. Maybe they've changed since I last looked.

richard
  • 0

#10 judy04

judy04

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 148 posts

Posted 05 October 2004 - 07:36 PM

Dear Barbara,

I was thinking just like you until the word "milk chocolate"
jumped out at me. I'm not sure about dark chocolate.
  • 0
judy


gluten-free since 11/03, neg biopsy, IGA elevated

#11 judy04

judy04

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 148 posts

Posted 05 October 2004 - 07:40 PM

Mariann,

Are you able to use coconut milk? I have some but afraid to use it,
I seem to react to all dairy, even soy and rice milk.
  • 0
judy


gluten-free since 11/03, neg biopsy, IGA elevated

#12 Tree

Tree

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Posted 05 October 2004 - 07:46 PM

Here's something we've done for years at Halloween to reduce the amount of candy in the house...I'll be adapting it for gluten-free this year!

The Candy Witch

Our neighborhood has a Candy Witch. You can tell she's a Candy Witch, because her teeth are gone from all the candy she's eaten. Because her teeth are gone, it's not as bad for her to eat candy as it is for us.

Soooo...on Halloween night, we choose 3 pieces of candy to eat, and put the rest on the porch for the Candy Witch (we really don't want to let her into the house). She takes the candy, and leaves us a different treat, instead (like movie passes, gift certificates to a toy store, etc.). All is well.

This suggestion comes with a note of apologies to all pagans; no disrespect intended. I'm trying to think of a different, non-terrifying, creature to substitute for the Candy Witch, but coming up blank at the moment. My older daughter just suggested the Candy Bunny....

Tree
  • 0

#13 gf4life

gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts

Posted 06 October 2004 - 12:52 PM

Judy,

Yes, I can have Coconut Milk. I haven't tried it much though. It doesn't really work well as a substitute for cooking, baking, etc.

And most "milk" chocolates do contain milk in some form(anywhere from whole milk to just milkfat). There are some semi-sweet and dark chocolates that do not contain milk. You just have to read the labels.

God bless,
Mariann
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: