Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Forbidden Ingredients?
0

7 posts in this topic

I read "Wheat Free, Worry Free", and made a copy of the page that contains a list of "forbidden foods". Why do some products that seem to be gluten free have ingredients from this forbidden list? For instance; cirtic acid, mono- and diglycerides, all flavorings, etc. I'm concerner because I've heard Jiff PB is ok, yet it has mono- and diglycerides in the ingredients. I heard Cheetos are ok, yet they have cirtic acid in the ingredients. Is there a better list I should be going off of. We are only 2 months into the gluten-free world and I'm still floundering out here. All of you are so very helpful.

Thanks,

TBird

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Wheat free does not mean gluten free. Sometimes malt flavoring is used too. You have to look for things that say Barley, Rye, Oats. Malt flavoring could be from barley. Hope this helps a little.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It sounds like you have a list which is at best misleading.

The examples you mention should not be considered "forbidden," but rather as representing conceivable sources of gluten. If you have doubts about them, you should check with the manufacturer, but in most cases they are not a concern.

Also, be aware that there are a number of manufacturers who have a policy of clearly labeling gluten. With these brands/companies you just read the ingredients. If you don't see the gluten listed (as wheat, rye, barley or oats) then it simply isn't there.

The list that I use is:

Arrowhead Mills, Aunt Nelly's, Balance, Baskin Robbins, Ben & Jerry, Bertoli, Betty Crocker, Blue Bunny, Breyers, Campbells, Cascadian Farms, Celestial Seasonings, ConAgra, Country Crock, Edy's, General Mills, Good Humor, Green Giant, Haagen Daz, Hellman's, Hormel, Hungry Jack, Jiffy, Knorr, Kozy Shack, Kraft, Lawry's, Libby's, Lipton, Martha White, Maxwell House, McCormick, Nabisco, Nestle, Old El Paso, Ortega, Pillsbury, Popsicle, Post, Progresso, Ragu, Russell Stover, Seneca Foods, Skippy, Smucker, Stokely's, Sunny Delight, T Marzetti, Tyson, Unilever, Wishbone, Yoplait, Zatarain's.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

T-Bird...I am relatively new to this, too, and it definitely can be overwhelming! This site has a very comprehensive list of what is ok and what is not. If you go to the site index, the 8th item down is a safe and forbidden food list. It even lists things that might be ok in the US, but not other countries and why. I guess I feel pretty comfortable using this guide since it comes from the celiac.com website.

Citric Acid is listed as safe, as are mono and diglycerides according to this list...I'm confused that they would be on a forbidden list.

Good luck!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are many lists and some are old. It could be that in the past items like citric acid and mono and diglycerides were indeed sometimes made from wheat, but those two items are no longer considered a threat.

As already explained, there are a number of things that are not actually "forbidden" but instead should just be checked. These items are actually almost always gluten-free, but on rare occasions can have gluten.

Malt is one item that can be and sometimes is made from something other than barley, but it's so rare you MUST assume that anything that says malt or malt flavoring comes from barley.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Malt is one item that can be and sometimes is made from something other than barley, but it's so rare you MUST assume that anything that says malt or malt flavoring comes from barley.

I have to say I have only ever come across it as barley malt. Thanks for pointing this out Richard.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
It sounds like you have a list which is at best misleading.

The examples you mention should not be considered "forbidden," but rather as representing conceivable sources of gluten. If you have doubts about them, you should check with the manufacturer, but in most cases they are not a concern.

I think that sums it up pretty well. A lot of things that in the US are derived from corn are derived from wheat in Europe...

The amount of gluten is speculative anyway... but I know I react to things in Europe labelled with dextrines and maltodextrine for instance which is safe if made in the US.

Also, be aware that there are a number of manufacturers who have a policy of clearly labeling gluten. With these brands/companies you just read the ingredients. If you don't see the gluten listed (as wheat, rye, barley or oats) then it simply isn't there.

That depends on the policy...and its exact wording...

Some companies say they will not knowingly hide gluten which isn't the same thing.... especially when they buy raw materials since unless they are told specifically for instance that a maltodextrine they jusy bought 400 tons of from a supplier does contain gluten they can use it unknowingly...

This can be a don't ask don't tell policy or just plain not specifically asking...

The bottom line is I doubt the purchasing dept has instructions to ask... rather they source the cheapest bulk sources ...

At the moment the $ is so weak it's doubtful any of the sources of these items is likely from Europe but if the $ were much stronger then its possible that its cheaper to buy 500 tons of maltodextrine from a European source than a domestic one.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,688
    • Total Posts
      921,755
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Yeah I ended up allergic to corn, olives, sesame, whey, and peanuts and intolerant to dairy, soy, yeast, enzyme issues with breaking down meats, and egg yolks, along with extreme bloat with any kind of carbs/sugars in moderate amounts. And very adverse reactions to certain artificial sweeteners. So your not alone in all the other issues cropping up, it happens as our bodies adjust.  I eat a bunch of stir frys with veggies, egg whites, plenty of  avocados, and toasted and raw forms of almonds, coconut, cashews, walnuts, hemp seeds, pumpkin seeds, flax seeds, sancha inchi seeds, chia seeds, and sunflower seeds in all forms including making them into butters, spreads, and incorporating them into sauces.   Most meals are forms of soups, omelettes, and stir frys. I do the seeds and nuts on rotation same with my veggies and snack on fruits in small amounts along with some homemade baked goods I make for markets. I do suggest a rotation of foods, my dietician said I need to rotate my foods to prevent more issues, making sure I am off one one for at least 7-14 days at a time completely. I find changing up the spices and rotating my cuisine base works well. I also make puddings, and protein shakes along with nut/seed milks, and different bases and extract flavorings to get my random cravings Taken care of. Guess take what you can from this and and see how it can help you,    As to the tinging, I ended up with both B vitamin and magnesium deficiency issues, the magnesium one caused a fire like tingling in my arms, legs and back, along with muscle pain. Ended up on a doctors best powder form of it so I can dose it out right, and found epsom salt bathes helped.  
    • Hi, I've gained so much knowledge on this forum over the past few months, which I am so thankful for. I can see how much hell people are going through with this disease and it's so lovely to see how much support and advice people give to others on here. I'd like a little bit of reassurance and advice myself from anyone that can help. I've been gluten free for six months. Two weeks after going gluten free I realised I also had a problem with corn so cut out processed food. Over the following weeks and months I continually had problems with food; fruit, dairy, a lot of vegetables, nuts, soya....it's basically dwindled down to just eating potatoes (not white potatoes), cucumber, lettuce, small amounts of red onion, spring onion, sprouts and beetroot. There may be more things I could be okay with but to be honest I'm too scared to try.  Is this all normal? Am I an extreme case? I've been taking some digestive enzymes and probiotics for about six weeks, my acid reflux has dramatically decreased but I always have a lot of loud noises going on in my guts, I'm guessing this is the probiotics working.  I've lost nearly 3st in weight since this started - which I'm not complaining about as I was overweight due to thyroid problems. I've had loads of blood tests done recently, all organs are working 'great' according to my doctor, the only thing they've picked up on is ketones, I seem to be having a glucose problem, which might explain my exhaustion and weight loss. I also have permanent numbness and sometimes tingling in one of my legs and sometimes hands and one shoulder, I thought it could have vitamin B12 deficiency but that's okay according to blood tests. I would be greatful for any replies. Thanks for reading.
    • Hi everyone, I am doing job in restaurant at evening 5 to 12 during working hours no time to do a dinner. I'm thinking to make a shake but don't know the gluten free vitamin or supplement brand which one is good for me and easily available in Berlin Germany to make me fit cause last one week i feel weak. I'm 28 year old. Sincerely
    • Hey there just wanted to warn anyone that has other allergies- these crackers may not be a good choice! I'm mildly sensitive to MSG- I only react if there's a giant amount like in Chinese food or Ramen noodles, etc.  I literally have a to eat TONS of a the offending food before reacting.  Anyway, I was excited to try these Trader Joes pumpkin crackers, kept hearing about them on the radio .... and they're gluten free!  (I have Hashi's).  I ate about 3/4 of the box last night. Woke up this morning with a red itchy face and nasal congestion, headache, anxiety. Hallmark symptoms for me of high MSG intake. (It does say yeast extract on the side but it's pretty far down the list). So if you're sensitive.... stay away! Apparently these particular crackers are loaded with it. 
    • I admit, my blood panel was "mildly positive" with only the DPG IGA being the positive, yet I had a Marsh Stage IIIB (pathologist report) though my visual on the endoscopy was fine.  celiac disease can be hard to diagnose, that is for sure.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,688
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    AbuBakar
    Joined