Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Tamari


  • Please log in to reply

2 replies to this topic

#1 willamina

 
willamina

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
 

Posted 29 January 2004 - 09:15 PM

What is it exactly? Does it contain gluten?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 30 January 2004 - 07:16 AM

Some tamari is made with wheat, but some isn't. (The only tamari I've seen made with wheat is one verson from San-J, but they make a non-wheat version too.)

Essentially it is _the same_ as soy sauce, but made with a slightly different process to ferment the soy beans. It uses alcohol (I believe San-J's is corn based, but not positive on that) instead of wheat.
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#3 Lily

 
Lily

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 116 posts
 

Posted 30 January 2004 - 03:15 PM

The bottle I bought says it's specifically gluten free and it's very good. I bought it at a health food store.

Lily
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: