Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Dennison's Chili,
1 1

5 posts in this topic

I can't decide if anything on Dennison's chili label looks bad, for sure. I tried to look up soy flour, soy pretein, and caramel coloring, with no definitive results. Anyone know for sure? I've eaten it, with only the bit of gassiness I'd expect from beans. But, is that why??? Does anyone know of any good chili, that is gluten-free? The kind I bought at Traders Joe's, tasted yucky, to me!

Thanks, Nita

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

you can make your own chili pretty fast by browning a pound of ground meat (I use turkey) adding a can of black beans, a can of kidney beans, two cans of diced tomatoes, a can of tomato paste, sage, cumin, ground cayanne, salt, and lots of chili powder. takes about half an hour from "take pan out of cabinet" to finished.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We eat Hormel Chili, it is gluten free. I make my own too, it really is easy. Let me know if you need a recipe.

chuot

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dennison's is a ConAgra product. ConAgra will clearly list any wheat if it's there, but not barley, rye or oats. Personally, I don't think you'd find those three hidden in a product like that. Soy flour and soy protein are soy. Caramel color, despite what you hear, really is not a major threat.

Hormel chili WITH beans is gluten-free. Without beans is not.

The best chili, though, is homemade. Make extra and freeze it.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have tried eating Dennison's Chili a couple of times and every time I eat it I feel like I have eaten something with gluten in it. I thought it was possible that I just cross contaminated between me and my husband the first time because he is not gluten free. But after the first time I was supper careful and had the same reaction. I know the ingredients don't have say they have any gluten in them but maybe there is some cross contamination in the manufacturing process that they are not listing. This is just my experience though if you can eat it go for it. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
1 1

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.