Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

I Found gluten-free Tomato Sauce
0

13 posts in this topic

Hi Ya'll

I just wanted to share that I found gluten-free Tomato sauce and tomato paste at Albertson's it is Del Monte Organic I was so surprise to find it that my daughter asked me what I was so happy about. We had totally gluten-free Spegetti the other night well did have regular bread with that so far so good well sort of. Also I have seen on here that people have written about that they have cheated with butter, I'm guessing that they are eating regular butter. I have been getting butter that is gluten-free and Lactose Free Smart Balance brand they also have gluten-free shredded cheese their oil I have not seen anything about gluten-free but is seems to be ok but to others who are very sick with celiac disease I don't know what the oil will do for you. I also enjoy drinking Glucers VitiminWater that is flavored water I wrote to the company to ask if they are gluten-free and they said yes I have not seen anything in the ingrediants that is on the don't eat list. But I did try a new Diet Coke that has new drink out that suppose to have vitimins in it well I started to drink it and have way I looked at the ingredients again and found what I think is Gluten in it Gluecomine I think it said, spelling is prob wrong. After I drank it and the rest of the night I had heartburn and stomachburn.

Just a little Info for Ya'll

Donna

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Donna, I used to do a little dance when I found things that were gluten free. Yay, I can eat! I bet people thought I was crazy.

I think most plain tomato sauces are gluten free, I'd watch out for barbeque and steak sauces, tomato pastes are usually concentrated tomatoes with maybe a bit of salt. But still it pays to read lables all the time.

As for butter, butter is always gluten free, unless it is a flavoured butter or a butter substitute. But I think most of them would be gluten free too. People cheating with butter is a new one on me, maybe they are lactose intolerant and have cheated in that respect. But read labels, or contact the manufacturers as you have been doing.

I think all of the coke range is gluten free, but I can't be positive. I do know diet coke does not agree with me for some reason, and being on a diet it is hard work drinking regular coke, but it is nice.

Do you get the feeling that you will be doing a lot of label reading in the next few months?

Best of luck.

Cathy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Last I checked, Contadina Pizza Sauce was gluten-free. Though I swear I found that on their website.

http://www.contadina.com/ProductCategory.a...t=Pizza%20Sauce

Its not there anymore, so I may give them a call/email.

Let you know what I find out.

Later edit, ahh Del-Monte's site, parent company has the info

http://www.delmonte.com/default.aspx?page=FAQs

-grant

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
We had totally gluten-free Spegetti the other night well did have regular bread with that so far so good well sort of.

Also I have seen on here that people have written about that they have cheated with butter, I'm guessing that they are eating regular butter.

Please don't eat "regular" bread. It's full of gluten and negates the gluten-free spaghetti. Feel free to ask lots of questions and we'll help you to get all the gluten out of your diet.

My signature says that I "cheat with butter". This has nothing to do with gluten. I'm sensitive to dairy, but do eat regular butter, though I probably shouldn't.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Donna, I used to do a little dance when I found things that were gluten free. Yay, I can eat! I bet people thought I was crazy.

I think most plain tomato sauces are gluten free, I'd watch out for barbeque and steak sauces, tomato pastes are usually concentrated tomatoes with maybe a bit of salt. But still it pays to read lables all the time.

As for butter, butter is always gluten free, unless it is a flavoured butter or a butter substitute. But I think most of them would be gluten free too. People cheating with butter is a new one on me, maybe they are lactose intolerant and have cheated in that respect. But read labels, or contact the manufacturers as you have been doing.

I think all of the coke range is gluten free, but I can't be positive. I do know diet coke does not agree with me for some reason, and being on a diet it is hard work drinking regular coke, but it is nice.

Do you get the feeling that you will be doing a lot of label reading in the next few months?

Best of luck.

Cathy

I thought that coke had gluten because it has caramel coloring and caramel can have gluten. Anyone know for sure?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Coke is gluten-free and the reality is that caramel color is also gluten-free -- at least in the U.S. and probably everywhere else as well.

Unfortunately there are too many old lists on the Internet and being passed out by doctors.

The safe and forbidden lists on the celiac.com homepage are pretty much accurate.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is a good thing Coke is gluten free, one beverage I need to make it through the day.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Coke is gluten-free and the reality is that caramel color is also gluten-free -- at least in the U.S. and probably everywhere else as well.

Unfortunately there are too many old lists on the Internet and being passed out by doctors.

The safe and forbidden lists on the celiac.com homepage are pretty much accurate.

richard

On the Clan Thompson site/software is says that caramel coloring is usually gluten-free unless used in meat containing products. Can anyone elaborate?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You were thrilled about finding gluten free tomato sauce, and then went on to eat regular bread. Eating regular bread would be far worse than getting the small amount of wheat you might find in tomato sauce, are you crazy?

Hi Ya'll

I just wanted to share that I found gluten-free Tomato sauce and tomato paste at Albertson's it is Del Monte Organic I was so surprise to find it that my daughter asked me what I was so happy about. We had totally gluten-free Spegetti the other night well did have regular bread with that so far so good well sort of. Also I have seen on here that people have written about that they have cheated with butter, I'm guessing that they are eating regular butter. I have been getting butter that is gluten-free and Lactose Free Smart Balance brand they also have gluten-free shredded cheese their oil I have not seen anything about gluten-free but is seems to be ok but to others who are very sick with celiac disease I don't know what the oil will do for you. I also enjoy drinking Glucers VitiminWater that is flavored water I wrote to the company to ask if they are gluten-free and they said yes I have not seen anything in the ingrediants that is on the don't eat list. But I did try a new Diet Coke that has new drink out that suppose to have vitimins in it well I started to drink it and have way I looked at the ingredients again and found what I think is Gluten in it Gluecomine I think it said, spelling is prob wrong. After I drank it and the rest of the night I had heartburn and stomachburn.

Just a little Info for Ya'll

Donna

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When I read her comment about the bread, I assumed that her family was eating that, not her. Might that not be a possibility?

You were thrilled about finding gluten free tomato sauce, and then went on to eat regular bread. Eating regular bread would be far worse than getting the small amount of wheat you might find in tomato sauce, are you crazy?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
When I read her comment about the bread, I assumed that her family was eating that, not her. Might that not be a possibility?

I assumed she or whoever the gluten-free person was, was eating it and that made no sense to me. As for the tomato sauce, I have never seen any that has gluten in it. Now possibly a prepared sauce for pizza and pasta, but not plain tomato sauce.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You have to read the ingredients but most plain tomato sauce is gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Important to note that the original posting in this thread is over a year old.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,358
    • Total Posts
      920,531
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Here's another thing.  Feeling deprived?  Order two of the same item.  I was hungry by the time dinner arrived! 
    • The doctors just made me feel like I was crazy because they did not have a clue of what was wrong with me. I did a stool test (positive) and I did a genes test (positive for two gluten sensitive genes, one in each chromosome).  Blood test are not so foolproof, if you read the comments/experiences in such topic you will see the problems. Biopsy can give a false negative if taken from an undamaged area. If you have medical problems that go away once on a gluten free diet then gluten is the problem. The medical establishment profit from managing your medical problems and big pharma makes money by pushing pills so we need to be careful because they won't benefit if a gluten-free diet solve your problems. Since I started a Gluten free diet I have been free of the following: (all related to Celiac)  Irregularity, Intestinal noise, Irregular stool, Tooth enamel defects, Rash in upper arms, Abdominal swelling, depression, fatigue, irritability, lactose intolerance, 
      loss of memory, dandruff, uncontrollable bladder, suicidal thoughts, unable to sleep, Canker sores/ Mouth ulcers, high blood pressure, and probably others that I did not realize. I was at the end of my rope, thanks to Google and the people that are able to talk about this I was able to get my life back. I am passionate about this because I know how bad its can get. 
    • Well, I have never cruised on Carnival, but I am sure they can accommodate you.  I assume that you have already alerted them that you require gluten free meals.  If not, please contact Carnival immediately. Here are my own tips.  Some folks eat off the buffet line, but not me or hubby except for coffee/drinks and baked potatoes (jacketed) and fruit that we wash in the restroom (people touch everything!)  Okay, I am OCD, but my last glutening which occurred the previous summer made me sick for three months (GI tested my antibodies to prove it).   When we board, I go to the buffet restaurant ASAP and ask to speak to the Head Waiter (they are usually there greeting customers and often trying to up sell to specialty restaurants.   Let them know you have celiac disease and must be gluten free.  They may try to tell you that each dish is clearly marked gluten free, but really?  Who's to say that some other passenger is not going to switch spoons (or I have seen passengers wandering around with serving spoons...I kid you not!  The staff usually will  go downstairs and fetch a gluten free meal for me from the main dining room's kitchen as there is usually a dedicated area for allergies.  We have to wait up to 20 minutes or so but it is worth it.  Starving?  Get a baked potato wrapped in foil until your gluten-free meal arrives.  Now, do not do this every single time.  Those folks have to go down several levels to fetch food and you don't want to be a pain.  But if the main dining area is closed, they need to make an effort to keep you safe.  On our last cruise, we were advised not to eat anywhere but the main dining room and that included room service (they are not trained to handled allergies).  My headwaiters have sent goodies (prepackaged gluten free rolls and cookies for us to keep in our room.  We can always grab whole fruit (I wash it first) to snack on.  I bring gluten-free non-perishable items with me to eat while at port in case we can't find anything (which can be often).  Again, when we get back to our ship, we contact our headwaiter and he/she can prepare some snacks until we have dinner.   Be grateful and not picky.   We eat all meals in the dining room (or at least as much as possible).  Our headwaiter had a few other celiacs on our cruise this summer, so they prepared some gluten-free waffles, etc. for our breakfast!  What a treat!  At breakfast, we'd have different waiters, so our headwaiter would always instruct our waiters each and every time!  They even let me tour the kitchen and showed me the allergy section.   The only time I did not feel safe was at the buffet.  We once ordered gluten-free pizza and I realized (I watched) that that restaurant didn't really have the gluten-free thing down), do I called him on it.  Got the manager etc.  So, be careful.  Other cruises made us frozen Udi"s which was just fine with us.  They covered it up in foil so that we would not get any cross contamination from their pizza oven. So, have fun!   Tipping?  We prepaid our gratuities, but we gave our headwaiter an extra $200.00 for his time.  For us, it was well worth the service and safety of our food.  It does not hurt to slip some of the tip ahead of time (like after your first meal!)   Oh, I checked your ship.  You must eat in the diningroom if you have special dietary needs.
    • French Celiac / Coeliac Gluten Free Restaurant Card <strong>What is ... What to know about celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and gluten-free diets. View the full article
    • <strong>Celiac Disease & Gluten-free Diet Information at Celiac.com. Gluten Free Diabetes ::The 3 Step Trick that Reverses Diabetes Permanently in ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,432
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    rbeckler60
    Joined