Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Dove Ice Cream Bars


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 wowzer

wowzer

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 675 posts

Posted 06 May 2007 - 10:30 AM

Does anyone know if the Dove dark chocolate ice cream bars are gluten free?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 sixtytwo

sixtytwo

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 182 posts

Posted 06 May 2007 - 11:33 AM

Yes
  • 0

#3 happygirl

happygirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,942 posts

Posted 06 May 2007 - 12:51 PM

If these are the ingredients:
CREAM, SKIM MILK, MILK, SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, NATURAL FLAVOR, MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES, CAROB BEAN GUM, GUAR GUM, EGG YOLKS, CARRAGEENAN, BETA CAROTENE. COATING: SEMISWEET CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, CHOCOLATE PROCESSED WITH ALKALI, CHOCOLATE, COCOA BUTTER, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS), COCONUT OIL, PALM OIL.

I would consider it safe.
  • 0

#4 wowzer

wowzer

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 675 posts

Posted 06 May 2007 - 05:52 PM

Thank you for your replies. I always read the ingredients, but I'm still trying to learn them all. I just was in the mood for one.
  • 0

#5 jkmunchkin

jkmunchkin

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,540 posts

Posted 07 May 2007 - 12:46 PM

Mmmmm... love those! (Actually I love any ice cream - hehe).
  • 0
Jillian

Positive Blood test and Biopsy
Inflamed stomach lining
Gluten free since July 6, 2005
Tarrytown, NY


"Sometimes being a b$tch is all a woman has to hold onto." - Dolores Claiborne

#6 wowzer

wowzer

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 675 posts

Posted 07 May 2007 - 12:57 PM

Me too, but since my favorite which is Stroh's Caramel Nut Cluster can't guarantee CC, I've sort of been eating Edy's. I just don't like it as well.
  • 0

#7 GeoffCJ

GeoffCJ

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 320 posts

Posted 07 May 2007 - 02:59 PM

Those particular one's probably are, but I'm 99% sure my wife bought me a Dove flavor recently that wasn't. Had Malt Flavoring (often to thing to watch for in Ice cream and other sweets.)

She is pretty careful when shopping, lucky me, so often I don't even double check if it makes it on my gluten free shelf, or the fridge (which is entirely gluten free except for bread and salad dressings). For whatever reason I checked, and was glad I did!

Geoff
  • 0
Celiac - Gluten Free since Late December 2006
Positive Dietary response, biopsy, Enterolab

Lactose intolerant - dietary response test only

#8 wowzer

wowzer

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 675 posts

Posted 07 May 2007 - 06:46 PM

Good to know that. I'm hooked on the dark chocolate covered vanilla ones. I didn't see malt flavoring on the list of ingredients.
  • 0

#9 Tree

Tree

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Posted 22 May 2007 - 07:26 AM

If these are the ingredients:
CREAM, SKIM MILK, MILK, SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, NATURAL FLAVOR, MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES, CAROB BEAN GUM, GUAR GUM, EGG YOLKS, CARRAGEENAN, BETA CAROTENE. COATING: SEMISWEET CHOCOLATE (SUGAR, CHOCOLATE PROCESSED WITH ALKALI, CHOCOLATE, COCOA BUTTER, MILKFAT, SOY LECITHIN, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS), COCONUT OIL, PALM OIL.

I would consider it safe.


I would not consider it safe, as chocolate can easily have undeclared barely malt (think of the old labeling on Lindt chocolate). Since barley is not one of the "Big Eight" allergens, it's not required to be disclosed if present in any amount, as wheat is.

However, Dove is made by M & M/Mars which does have a policy of declaring gluten on its labels. Knowing this, I would eat it.

But I won't consider any chocolate safe without resolving the labeling/barley malt issue.
  • 0

#10 debmidge

debmidge

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,566 posts

Posted 23 May 2007 - 03:04 AM

If you never ate chocolate with barley malt in it keep in mind that it has a distinctive flavor - there's a underlying grain flavor in the chocolate so if you get malted chocolate by error keep that in mind. I noticed German chocolates use the barley additive.
  • 0
Husband has Celiac Disease and
Husband misdiagnosed for 27 yrs -
The misdiagnosis was: IBS or colitis
Mis-diagnosed from 1977 to 2003 by various gastros including one of the largest,
most prestigious medical groups in northern NJ which constantly advertises themselves as
being the "best." This GI told him it was "all in his head."
Serious Depressive state ensued
Finally Diagnosed with celiac disease in 2003
Other food sensitivities: almost all fruits, vegetables, spices, eggs, nuts, yeast, fried foods, roughage, soy.
Needs to gain back at least 25 lbs. of the 40 lbs pounds he lost - lost a great amout of body fat and muscle
Developed neuropathy in 2005
Now has lymphadema 2006
It is my opinion that his subsequent disorders could have been avoided had he been diagnosed sooner by any of the dozen or so doctors he saw between 1977 to 2003


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: