Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Johnsonville Brats
0

9 posts in this topic

I know I've read on several occassions that Johnsonville brats are all gluten-free - except, of course, for the beer brats. We just got a new, fancy, shiny grill :D and I had a brat today for lunch. The kind that has cheddar infused into the deliciousness of the bratwurst :wub: ...ooooooooh, but it did NOT sit well.

I don't know if I feel like I was glutened, but it definately sits in the right time frame and symptoms. First I got unbearable pains/cramps and then the D started.

All has calmed down now, which is excellent and speedy, but I'm just wondering if anyone has had a reaction to these. I even went to the fridge between trips to the bathroom (I totally washed my hands, though!!) and double checked the ingredients. Didn't see anything suspect - thoughts? Anyone else been glutened by Johnsonville?

Thanks

Courtney

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I buy them all the time. But recently, I've tried to stay dairy light. To my knowledge, they are still gluten free but perhaps it's the cheese that you reacted to. Glad you feel better.

You could always trie Boars Head as all meats and cheeses are gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am extremely sensitive, and react to minute amounts of cross contamination that don't seem to bother most others.

I contacted Johnsonville a few weeks ago because I was reacting to their product. Initially they advised that the products that I purchased were not made on dedicated lines and that they could tell this by the package UPC, but advised that many of their products were gluten free and could not have cross contamination. After my pushing to try to find out what I need to look for (which products, which UPCs), they admitted that all of their products have potential cross contamination, that they do not have any dedicated gluten free plants, but said that they were planning on producing two products sometime in the future on dedicated lines, but could not give me a time frame.

A case of caveat emptor if you're very sensitive to cross contamination.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I HAD THE SAME THING HAPPEN! Thanks for posting about this.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Do they have any products that do contain wheat ingredients? Ie, where would the cross contamination come from?

best regards, lm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Do they have any products that do contain wheat ingredients? Ie, where would the cross contamination come from?

best regards, lm

They make a beer brat. They recently had a new commercial come out for it that has the most annoying jingle I have heard in a long time. That might be where the CC issue would come in.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
They make a beer brat...... That might be where the CC issue would come in.

OK, so let's discuss that. Beer would be a small volume ingredient. And Johnsonville makes many sausage products. I'm thinking that's a low percentage cross contamination threat. As with any food product, cross contamination (if it exist) is a hit or miss thing. Ie, it's not a constant. If it's there at all, it will sometimes be there, sometimes not. And if it's there, it will be in always changing amounts.

What will always be there, and in the same amounts, are the other ingredients. I'm guessing some people are intolerant of these ingredients.

best regards, lm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
OK, so let's discuss that. Beer would be a small volume ingredient. And Johnsonville makes many sausage products. I'm thinking that's a low percentage cross contamination threat. As with any food product, cross contamination (if it exist) is a hit or miss thing. Ie, it's not a constant. If it's there at all, it will sometimes be there, sometimes not. And if it's there, it will be in always changing amounts.

What will always be there, and in the same amounts, are the other ingredients. I'm guessing some people are intolerant of these ingredients.

best regards, lm

They boil that particular brat in the beer to cook it (if I am even thinking of the same brand). I know I wouldn't be able to consume it. Whether it would CC other varieties I don't know. Different folks have different levels of sensitivity and whether or not to risk CC is up to them and the strength of their reaction. Of course there is also the possibility of folks reacting to something else in it, especially early in the diet when we are not yet clear on what our reactions to gluten are. Of course IMHO folks early in the diet shouldn't be eating something as heavily processed as these are anyway.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had these for TG and had a reaction to them. Not sure it was gluten but something in them didn't sit right. Could just be I am not used to eating this kind of thing now, been a long time since I did.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.