Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Bouillon Cubes?
0

13 posts in this topic

Can anyone tell me why bouillon cubes are a "no no"?

I am knew to this and have recently realized that malt is also something I need to look for ( I have been feeding my daughter rice crispies). Can anyone else give me some common ingredients that are not wheat, oats or barley that I should not give her. If a food has not contained those things I have been giving it to her. Now I know to add malt to that. Anything else??

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

This site has a great list of gluten containing ingredients that people with Celiac disease should avoid. Malt flavoring is on that list because it is usually made from barley. Most mainstream cereals (including Rice Crispies) do have it. General Mills and Post brand cereals will clearly label their gluten. Post is a Kraft brand, and all Kraft and General Mills products will label their gluten. Once you start looking you will be amazed by how many foods are made by Kraft or General Mills. Some mainstream cereals that are currently gluten free are cocoa pebbles, fruity pebbles, berry pebbles, dora stars, trix, and neopet island berry crunch. Health valley makes corn and rice chex like cereal. Make sure that you read every label every time.

Many bouillon cubes may add gluten as a filler. If you have a specific kind at home, then you should call the manufacturer. In general, if the product is not made by Kraft, General Mills or a few other safe companies then I do not buy the product if it lists unnamed "modified food starch" or "natural flavoring." There are gluten free bouillon cubes that say they are gluten free on the box. I forgot the name but you can probably find them at any health food store.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just want to add HerbOX Chicken and Beef bouillon is gluten free. Use it all the time.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just want to add HerbOX Chicken and Beef bouillon is gluten free. Use it all the time.

Could it be that they contain carmel color? Is that off limits too?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the product is from the US then caramel coloring is supposed to be made from corn. When in doubt call or email the company, they can give you the most accurate information about their products. Natural flavoring may have gluten in it, especially if it's in a meat product.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Herbox(Hormel) Bouillian cubes are gluten-free. At least I know the veg, beef, and chicken ones are. I also use them all the time. They are on Hormel's gluten-free list as well.

Hormel's gluten-free list

http://www.hormel.com/faq/faqList.asp?catitemid=41

They have some good things on there. I heard a rumor that the CEO of Hormel has children that are Celiac, and he pushes to get things gluten-free. Not sure if that is true, but dang cool if it was. Now if we can only get guys like Ronald McDonald and the Burger King with Celiac children, we'd be set.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Amen to that!

Good to see you Grant.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would not be worried about the caramel color. Many bouillon cubes use wheat flour (gluten) to hold the cubes together. If you can find bouillon powder there is a much higher likelihood that it will be gluten-free. We use Bovril beef bouillon powder in foil pouches; it is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I would not be worried about the caramel color. Many bouillon cubes use wheat flour (gluten) to hold the cubes together. If you can find bouillon powder there is a much higher likelihood that it will be gluten-free. We use Bovril beef bouillon powder in foil pouches; it is gluten-free.

What if an item states "natural and artificial flavor" is that anything to worry about?? I do see alot of things that contain caramel color.... like Dr. Pepper and syrup.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
This site has a great list of gluten containing ingredients that people with Celiac disease should avoid. Malt flavoring is on that list because it is usually made from barley. Most mainstream cereals (including Rice Crispies) do have it. General Mills and Post brand cereals will clearly label their gluten. Post is a Kraft brand, and all Kraft and General Mills products will label their gluten. Once you start looking you will be amazed by how many foods are made by Kraft or General Mills. Some mainstream cereals that are currently gluten free are cocoa pebbles, fruity pebbles, berry pebbles, dora stars, trix, and neopet island berry crunch. Health valley makes corn and rice chex like cereal. Make sure that you read every label every time.

Many bouillon cubes may add gluten as a filler. If you have a specific kind at home, then you should call the manufacturer. In general, if the product is not made by Kraft, General Mills or a few other safe companies then I do not buy the product if it lists unnamed "modified food starch" or "natural flavoring." There are gluten free bouillon cubes that say they are gluten free on the box. I forgot the name but you can probably find them at any health food store.

You can find some helpful links on this page: http://www.celiac.com/st_main.html?p_catid...-38107355957.47

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
What if an item states "natural and artificial flavor" is that anything to worry about?? I do see alot of things that contain caramel color.... like Dr. Pepper and syrup.

Caramel color is not something to worry about, at least in North America.

I have never found artificial flavor to contain gluten. Natural flavor can hide gluten, but the most likely source of gluten in flavor is barely malt, and that is a relatively expensive ingredient, so it is almost always listed as "malt flavor."

There are a number of manufacturers and brands that have a policy that they will clearly disclose gluten using a plain word in the ingredients. With these companies, if you don't see wheat, rye, barley or oats listed it means it is not there. They won't hide it under vague terms.

My current list of brands that I trust is:

Arrowhead Mills, Aunt Nelly's, Balance, Baskin Robbins, Ben & Jerry, Bertoli, Betty Crocker, Blue Bunny, Breyers, Campbells, Cascadian Farms, Celestial Seasonings, ConAgra, Country Crock, Edy's, General Mills, Good Humor, Green Giant, Haagen Daz, Hellman's, Hormel, Hungry Jack, Jiffy, Knorr, Kozy Shack, Kraft, Lawry's, Libby's, Lipton, Martha White, Maxwell House, McCormick, Nabisco, Nestle, Old El Paso, Ortega, Pillsbury, Popsicle, Post, Progresso, Ragu, Russell Stover, Seneca Foods, Skippy, Smucker, Stokely's, Sunny Delight, T Marzetti, Tyson, Unilever, Wishbone, Yoplait, Zatarain's.

With other brands you need to check with them to see if the natural flavor is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Regarding Knorr products, their website had this to say:

"Always read the label of a Knorr product to make sure they do not contain the food you are trying to avoid.  Even if you have bought the product many times before, you should still check the ingredients list and look for any other allergy information as the recipe might have changed since the last time you bought it."

 

I just wanted people to be aware of this and to be cautious.  Thank you!

 

JanetK

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Regarding Knorr products, their website had this to say:

"Always read the label of a Knorr product to make sure they do not contain the food you are trying to avoid.  Even if you have bought the product many times before, you should still check the ingredients list and look for any other allergy information as the recipe might have changed since the last time you bought it."

 

I just wanted people to be aware of this and to be cautious.  Thank you!

 

JanetK

You are bringing up a 6 year old thread. Ingredients change over the years. Please don't go by any old info- check for current info & ingredients

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,647
    • Total Posts
      918,464
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Biopsy confirmed?
      Right, usually they do an endoscopy after a positive blood antibody test.  The biopsy confirms the antibody results.  Doing them in the reverse order doesn't hurt anything though.  Sometimes people "fail" the antibody tests but still have gut damage.  Not everybody makes the same antibodies or in the same quantities.  Anyway, you should make sure they are doing the complete celiac antibody panel, not just a ttg test. And don't worry if the celiac tests are positive for gliaden antibodies.  Going gluten-free is an adjustment to your diet. Quite a few people around here have managed to adjust successfully.  It takes some effort, but anything worthwhile does they say.
    • Celiac Night Vision
      I don't have scotomas but you might find more help on a forum dedicated to vision issues.  Here are a couple I found.  the last link is a Yahoo search for "eye forum"  There may be others found if you try a search on Google. http://www.medhelp.org/forums/Eye-Care/show/90 http://www.healthboards.com/boards/eye-vision/ https://search.yahoo.com/yhs/search?p=eye+forum&ei=UTF-8&hspart=mozilla&hsimp=yhs-003
    • Positive Biopsy, Negative Blood Tests
      BTW, all first degree relatives of celiacs are supposed to be tested for celiac every 2 years in the absence of symptoms -- immediately if symptoms present. Your kids, your parents & all siblings should be tested. And that goes for your brothers kids too.
    • Positive Biopsy, Negative Blood Tests
      I agree completely with cyclinglady! Do you even know that there is such a thing called silent celiac? No symptoms at all but the villi are damaged.  I see you joined in 2009. Why? Is that when your brother was diagnosed? IMHO you need to do a lot of research & find out just exactly what you're risking. 
    • Positive Biopsy, Negative Blood Tests
      What?  Be sure that next endoscopy tests you for lymphoma (cancer) as well!   Seriously.  You need to do some research as your knowledge of celiac disease is lacking.  Did you fail the entire celiac panel?  Or did your doctor/insurance save cash and just order the very good (but does not catch all celiacs) TTG IgA?  You have a family history, a positive biopsy, what more do you need?  You do realize that this is not about just giving up gluten, don't you?  We just had a member join this year who was told years ago that her tests were "inconclusive" and that she now has suffered with lymphoma (cancer)? Ugh!   Endoscopy in 10 years?  Who would even wait 10 years?  This isn't colon cancer and polyps!   Are you talking about a colonoscopy?  Are you even sure you had an endoscopy?   Be sure you have your bones checked too.....and forget the breath.  You might not have any teeth and implants will be out since your bones will be compromised. Sorry, if I come on strong, but when I was diagnosed I had no tummy issues.  A few months later, my bones began breaking.  I was undiagnosed for a long time because of mis-informed doctors.  At least it was not stupidity on my part.   So, I urge you to research this disease more!  Hopefully you'll ward on another autoimmune disorder by remaining gluten free.  Find what celiac blood tests were actually taken!  Even if you do not think you have celiac disease, something has caused villi damage -- like a parasite, milk, or something......even more sinister! Good luck!  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
    • ChiaChick  »  Peaceflower

      Hi Peaceflower, Just wanted to say thank you for the chat.
      · 0 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,741
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Roemill
    Joined