Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Bouillon Cubes?
0

13 posts in this topic

Can anyone tell me why bouillon cubes are a "no no"?

I am knew to this and have recently realized that malt is also something I need to look for ( I have been feeding my daughter rice crispies). Can anyone else give me some common ingredients that are not wheat, oats or barley that I should not give her. If a food has not contained those things I have been giving it to her. Now I know to add malt to that. Anything else??

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

This site has a great list of gluten containing ingredients that people with Celiac disease should avoid. Malt flavoring is on that list because it is usually made from barley. Most mainstream cereals (including Rice Crispies) do have it. General Mills and Post brand cereals will clearly label their gluten. Post is a Kraft brand, and all Kraft and General Mills products will label their gluten. Once you start looking you will be amazed by how many foods are made by Kraft or General Mills. Some mainstream cereals that are currently gluten free are cocoa pebbles, fruity pebbles, berry pebbles, dora stars, trix, and neopet island berry crunch. Health valley makes corn and rice chex like cereal. Make sure that you read every label every time.

Many bouillon cubes may add gluten as a filler. If you have a specific kind at home, then you should call the manufacturer. In general, if the product is not made by Kraft, General Mills or a few other safe companies then I do not buy the product if it lists unnamed "modified food starch" or "natural flavoring." There are gluten free bouillon cubes that say they are gluten free on the box. I forgot the name but you can probably find them at any health food store.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just want to add HerbOX Chicken and Beef bouillon is gluten free. Use it all the time.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just want to add HerbOX Chicken and Beef bouillon is gluten free. Use it all the time.

Could it be that they contain carmel color? Is that off limits too?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If the product is from the US then caramel coloring is supposed to be made from corn. When in doubt call or email the company, they can give you the most accurate information about their products. Natural flavoring may have gluten in it, especially if it's in a meat product.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Herbox(Hormel) Bouillian cubes are gluten-free. At least I know the veg, beef, and chicken ones are. I also use them all the time. They are on Hormel's gluten-free list as well.

Hormel's gluten-free list

http://www.hormel.com/faq/faqList.asp?catitemid=41

They have some good things on there. I heard a rumor that the CEO of Hormel has children that are Celiac, and he pushes to get things gluten-free. Not sure if that is true, but dang cool if it was. Now if we can only get guys like Ronald McDonald and the Burger King with Celiac children, we'd be set.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Amen to that!

Good to see you Grant.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would not be worried about the caramel color. Many bouillon cubes use wheat flour (gluten) to hold the cubes together. If you can find bouillon powder there is a much higher likelihood that it will be gluten-free. We use Bovril beef bouillon powder in foil pouches; it is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I would not be worried about the caramel color. Many bouillon cubes use wheat flour (gluten) to hold the cubes together. If you can find bouillon powder there is a much higher likelihood that it will be gluten-free. We use Bovril beef bouillon powder in foil pouches; it is gluten-free.

What if an item states "natural and artificial flavor" is that anything to worry about?? I do see alot of things that contain caramel color.... like Dr. Pepper and syrup.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
This site has a great list of gluten containing ingredients that people with Celiac disease should avoid. Malt flavoring is on that list because it is usually made from barley. Most mainstream cereals (including Rice Crispies) do have it. General Mills and Post brand cereals will clearly label their gluten. Post is a Kraft brand, and all Kraft and General Mills products will label their gluten. Once you start looking you will be amazed by how many foods are made by Kraft or General Mills. Some mainstream cereals that are currently gluten free are cocoa pebbles, fruity pebbles, berry pebbles, dora stars, trix, and neopet island berry crunch. Health valley makes corn and rice chex like cereal. Make sure that you read every label every time.

Many bouillon cubes may add gluten as a filler. If you have a specific kind at home, then you should call the manufacturer. In general, if the product is not made by Kraft, General Mills or a few other safe companies then I do not buy the product if it lists unnamed "modified food starch" or "natural flavoring." There are gluten free bouillon cubes that say they are gluten free on the box. I forgot the name but you can probably find them at any health food store.

You can find some helpful links on this page: http://www.celiac.com/st_main.html?p_catid...-38107355957.47

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
What if an item states "natural and artificial flavor" is that anything to worry about?? I do see alot of things that contain caramel color.... like Dr. Pepper and syrup.

Caramel color is not something to worry about, at least in North America.

I have never found artificial flavor to contain gluten. Natural flavor can hide gluten, but the most likely source of gluten in flavor is barely malt, and that is a relatively expensive ingredient, so it is almost always listed as "malt flavor."

There are a number of manufacturers and brands that have a policy that they will clearly disclose gluten using a plain word in the ingredients. With these companies, if you don't see wheat, rye, barley or oats listed it means it is not there. They won't hide it under vague terms.

My current list of brands that I trust is:

Arrowhead Mills, Aunt Nelly's, Balance, Baskin Robbins, Ben & Jerry, Bertoli, Betty Crocker, Blue Bunny, Breyers, Campbells, Cascadian Farms, Celestial Seasonings, ConAgra, Country Crock, Edy's, General Mills, Good Humor, Green Giant, Haagen Daz, Hellman's, Hormel, Hungry Jack, Jiffy, Knorr, Kozy Shack, Kraft, Lawry's, Libby's, Lipton, Martha White, Maxwell House, McCormick, Nabisco, Nestle, Old El Paso, Ortega, Pillsbury, Popsicle, Post, Progresso, Ragu, Russell Stover, Seneca Foods, Skippy, Smucker, Stokely's, Sunny Delight, T Marzetti, Tyson, Unilever, Wishbone, Yoplait, Zatarain's.

With other brands you need to check with them to see if the natural flavor is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Regarding Knorr products, their website had this to say:

"Always read the label of a Knorr product to make sure they do not contain the food you are trying to avoid.  Even if you have bought the product many times before, you should still check the ingredients list and look for any other allergy information as the recipe might have changed since the last time you bought it."

 

I just wanted people to be aware of this and to be cautious.  Thank you!

 

JanetK

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Regarding Knorr products, their website had this to say:

"Always read the label of a Knorr product to make sure they do not contain the food you are trying to avoid.  Even if you have bought the product many times before, you should still check the ingredients list and look for any other allergy information as the recipe might have changed since the last time you bought it."

 

I just wanted people to be aware of this and to be cautious.  Thank you!

 

JanetK

You are bringing up a 6 year old thread. Ingredients change over the years. Please don't go by any old info- check for current info & ingredients

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,670
    • Total Posts
      921,685
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • So my heart has been doing weird stuff post gluten challenge. Skips beats, arrhythmias, chest pain. It was getting a bit better then worse again in July.   My cardiologist has done 2 stress tests, halter monitor, and we have not caught anything other then harmless pvc's. But I KNOW this is not right for my heart and it has gone wacky out of sync and we never catch it on a damn test. All of my doctor's were connected out of a larger practice, so the GI, cardio, neuro, and primary care can all see the mountains of tests I had and think I am a nutcase the moment I walk through the door. I will admit that I informed the old GI about the DGP test being positive and I sent over some info on the test as they were basically using TTG and old gliadin tests, and they were receptive. But for the most part, I do not trust doctors. I was once told I was in false labor when I actually had 13 gallstones and an infection in my bile duct. I have more horror stories, as we all do. So, my protein and RBC were low in the hospital but all up to good levels now so it is not a vitamin deficiency. My heart has already skipped multiple beats today. The other day, it again went out of rhythm for just 20 seconds or so. I am not drinking coffee or alcohol because of the acidity, so it is not that. I was glutened on August 24th and probably once in July. Does anyone have weird heart issues that vanish eventually? If so, how long does it take? I am an over-thinker, which has its pros and cons. I know we are at an increased risk for CAD which is not really my concern right now. My gut is inflamed, my thyroid is inflamed and my adrenal gland was effected by all of this. I sort of wonder if an exposure to gluten causes some kind of myocarditis, an inflammation that would not be picked up a sonogram per se, and may eventually vanish with a gluten free diet. Has anyone ever had experience with myocarditis? I did a lot of reading on Roemheld syndrome, gastro-cardio syndrome, which is basically a set of cardio symptoms resulting from your gut. Praying it is just that! I just feel like now that I have a diagnosis, I need to rebuild a team of doctors that I feel have my back. This is a sucky disease that can have a lot of ill effects and I need a team I feel is intelligent, supportive and willing to research. I already have a new GI and a great Endocrinologist. I am seriously contemplating a new cardio and neuro as they both talk to me like I am a 12 year-old with "hysterical girl syndrome".
    • I was not officially diagnosed with narcolepsy when I was younger and still haven't.  However, even in my junior high and high school years and on through my college years staying awake was always a struggle for me.  maybe the gluten was a factor back in junior high and just didn't realize it.    There were times in church and other times I would just BAM fall asleep without warning.  Frustrating and somewhat embarrassing to say the least.  Now that I have been off gluten for close to a year now, the "feeling" of needing to sleep is becoming less and less.  Still have periods of sudden sleepiness, but not as often any more.
    • when they first came out, I read the ingredients on them, and they don't seem to contain malt.  But the company, at that time specifically posted on the website that they  are not gluten-free.  So I don't drink them.
    • Rum is naturally gluten free, but in cases where it is flavored, spiced, etc. you have to be careful where they might add a malt in the natural flavorings. I been using Admiral Nelsons coconut rums in cooking for finishing off stir frys, and adding a bit of flavor to caramelized ingredients for a few years now, I have never had issues with those. As for the Morgan, I would be careful with the spiced version as they might use a malt based ingredient in it. I did a bit of research and like you found no conclusive evidence to if it contains gluten or not. The plain rum from them is listed on many and been tested by several groups and has come up gluten free. On a side note if your a celiac or have intestinal damage I would avoid alcohol or drink in moderation. I personally only use it in cooking.
    • Hi, It seems they advertise it as a malt beverage.  Malt is made from barley normally, so it would not be gluten-free.  Unless they specify the malt is corn malt, it is always assumed to be barley malt per FDA labeling regs.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,669
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Cjplmon
    Joined