This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Rice/corn Allergy

whitball

whitball Explorer

I have had problems with corn and rice flour. I have very little experience with the variety of flours available and do not know which combinations work. My work involves lots of driving and I cover two counties in Michigan. Eating out has turned out the be a bad thing for me. I eat many meals in my car and have found that pancakes are very easy to snack on. Are there any suggestions for a good pancake mix?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

tarnalberry Community Regular

I'd get a bag of Bob's Red Mill amaranth flour and use the recipe on there - as I recall, it's entirely amaranth flour.

Mango04 Enthusiast

I don't have the bag nearby, but I've seen recipe for pancakes on the back of a package of Bob's coconut flour. I don't remember it containing any corn or rice.

kbabe1968 Enthusiast

You could mix potato flour and sorghum....that would work....

Our pancakes are:

1 cup flour (do 1/2 potato flour - not starch - and half sorghum)

2 tsp baking powder

1 Tbs sugar

pinch salt

1 egg, beaten

1 cup milk

2 Tbs oil

Mix the dry. mix the wet. Pour wet into dry.

I'm sure you could try quinoa flour too, that might work.

We mixed rice & sorghum this week and they were great....a little more dense, but so tasty.

whitball Explorer

thank you all for the suggestions. I'll try them!

corinne Apprentice