This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Getting Pregnant But Not On The Diet

KatieB

KatieB Newbie

I'm new to this whole Celiac thing...

I have no syptoms and the only reason I was ever tested was because my mom has it and pushed for me to be tested. So needless to say, I'm not on the diet. I know, I know... my mom lectures me about it all the time but because I have no symptoms (I don't appear at all under-nurished and am actually over weight) it is very hard to get motivated to cut out gluten.

Now things are changing... My husband and I are wanting to start trying to get pregnant. I want to be as healthy as I can for a baby but I think it is going to take a while to actually get my discipline down to be fully on the diet. So, my questions are (if anyone can help me)...

With this disease and trying to get pregnant what supplements and how much should I be taking?

If I do start trying to go on the diet does that change the amount of vitamins and minerals I should be taking?

Is there any books that actually answer these kinds of questions?

Thanks for any help and resources you can give me. I'm just trying to figure all this stuff out.

Katie

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

tarnalberry Community Regular

Vitamin deficiencies don't show symptoms until they're serious! Relying on symptoms to tell you if you're healthy or not really just isn't reliable - as you know from being an asymptomatic celiac. (You're intestines are being damaged and you aren't fully absorbing your food, but your body doesn't tell you it doesn't feel well.)