Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Arrowroot?
0

10 posts in this topic

I've been gluten-free for almost a year now, and I'm extraordinarily careful about what I eat. I am also lactose intolerent and can't eat any corn products. There is a gluten-free restaurant and bakery that I went to today, and I bought some gluten-free snickerdoodles. Mmmmmmm. I asked about the corn content (there was none), however there was arrowroot in them. I've never had anything with arrowroot, but since it was in so many other gluten-free products, I didn't forsee a problem. I had a reaction from the cookies the way I would if they had flour in them. Anyone else have a problem with arrowroot too?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
I've been gluten-free for almost a year now, and I'm extraordinarily careful about what I eat. I am also lactose intolerent and can't eat any corn products. There is a gluten-free restaurant and bakery that I went to today, and I bought some gluten-free snickerdoodles. Mmmmmmm. I asked about the corn content (there was none), however there was arrowroot in them. I've never had anything with arrowroot, but since it was in so many other gluten-free products, I didn't forsee a problem. I had a reaction from the cookies the way I would if they had flour in them. Anyone else have a problem with arrowroot too?

Are you sure they didn't have dairy in them? Just a thought...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They were also egg and dairy free. Good idea though!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It took me awhile to figure it out, but I am intolerant to tapioca. I thought it was dairy for the longest time, but eventually ruled out dairy as a problem. You may have to do some trials with arrowroot to see if it is bothering you.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is an interesting discussion! I have concidered myself being lactos intolerant for some years, but this fall I've had some pretty bad "stomach attacs", and here i Sweden we have a lot of non-lactos products. However, I started getting stomach aches, heart rushes, cold sweatings from these products and found out that some of them, like yoghurt, have tapioka. Could I have the same problem??

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I'm another who is intolerant to tapioca. It's in so many gluten-free things.....

Tapioca actually makes me sicker than gluten--as soon as I begin to chew, my mouth dries up (!) and it gives me incredible nausea.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For me it takes half an hour, then I get cramps on the left side of the stomach, feel nauseous (but not in a flu-y way), friends say I turn completely white (when its a bad attac) and I have trouble to concentrate on what people are saying, I can even get tinitus.

Once I thought I was going to die, because we had picked mushrooms and made a soup, and I stayed up all night surfing the Internet for images of mushrooms, beacuse I thought I had eaten a poisinous one. HAHA!

This is so exciting, for the first time in 10 years things are actually making sense.

HEURECA! Or should I shout TAPIOCA! http://www.glutenfreeforum.com/style_emoti...fault/laugh.gif

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I discovered my problems in the completely safe to eat cookies, that it was the vanilla that was used. I don't know what it is derived from but I cannot have any grain alcohols so I am guessing that is the problem.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess there is a possibility of intolerance to about anything. I haven't heard of arrowroot difficulty, per se. I use it a lot as a thickening agent. In fact, I used it more often that wheat flour for that purpose, even before I found out about my gluten problem. It seems to work quite well for firming up sauces.

I have heard folks before talk about tapioca problems. So that seems to be more common.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

STARCH OR FLOUR FROM TAPIOCA IS WRONGLY CALL ARROWROOT;

THE REAL ARROWROOT IS FROM "Maranta arundinacea.L" WHAT HAPPENS TO BE KNOWN FOR ITS HIGH DIGESTIBILITY,IT S THE FINEST STARCH EXISTING

BUT INFORTUNATELY CASSAVA FLOUR IS IN FACT THE MOST SOLD AS "ARROWROOT" STARCH WICH DOES NOT HAVE THE SAME NUTRITIONAL PROPERTIES

SO BE CAREFUL WHEN YOU BUY SOME PRODUCT CONTAINING "ARROWROOT"

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.