Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Taco Bell? Are The Corn Tortillas Safe?
0

17 posts in this topic

I USED to eat alot of Taco Bell and Mexican food before i was diagnosed, and now i am wondering what i CAN still eat.

Is it safe to eat the items that have/use Corn Tortillas, or is there alot of "cross contamination" going on?

Wondering? Cause i'm jonzin for a six-pack of Crunchy Beef Tacos! :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

No they are NOT safe. The only safe thing to eat from Taco Bell are their "Pinto and Chesse". Sorry :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not only are the corn tortillas/taco shells not gluten-free because they've been dipped in oil where flour things have been cooked, but the beef in the tacos also is not safe. There's wheat in the spices, according to TB.

If you want to keep eating Mexican go to a REAL Mexican restaurant and talk to the people who run it about your restrictions. Avoid TB like the plague.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What corn tortillas? At my local Taco Bell, the tortillas are all made of flour.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the reference was actiually to the hard taco shells. They would appear to me to be corn.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Try Chipolte! They have burrito bols which is a burrito without the tortilla. You can always buy their chips to have with it. If you get the bol with rice instead of lettuce, everything is dished out with a spoon so no contamination. If you get the lettuce, they use their hands which have also touched the flour tortilla and you can get contaminated. Also Don Pablos has a gluten free menu if you go to their website. Chipolte says their food is free of gluten except for the tortillas, of course and their hot salsa.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would have to 2nd the fact that TB is not a safe place, the Taco seasoning that you buy in the store has wheat flour.

However, the Taco Bell Fajita seasoning (in the grocery store now) appears to be safe.

TB is one thing I really miss. :angry:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called Taco Bell and also emailed. I have not heard back on the email, but the woman I talked to said the corn hard shell tacos have oat flour in them. She did say the pintos and cheese, the bean tostadas, the nacho cheese sauce, the fresh ingredients like the lettuce, tomato etc are gluten-free. I can't remember the other items she named. She said the chips used for nachos are sometimes deep fried so you have to check with each individual store to see if they fry their chips. You can call taco bell at 1-800-TacoBell.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Folks, go to a REAL Mexican restaurant. The food's a lot better and you have a lot more choice.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi!

I had heard the Pintos and Cheese and Tostadas are safe and have had both without any problem.

Kim

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I ordered the Nachos supreme and did not get sick afterward does that mean that it was gluten-free? That is what I had for lunch today and it didn't go right through me like other foods that obviously had gluten, like the bean buritto.

Just wondering?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Angie,

It does NOT mean it's gluten-free. Even Taco Bell says it's not gluten-free. Did you not believe them?

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have heard that the side orders of rice are gluten-free. Does anyone know about the new border bowls they have? They give you a packet of sauce to put on yourself and I know that contains gluten, but how about the main ingredients?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Chipolte rocks!! I wish they had them up here in Boston, but while down in DC two weekends ago chilling with friends I ate there three times...I love their Burrito Bols!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How about Taco Johns? I'm assuming it isn't gluten-free, but does anyone know for sure.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

At Taco John's I always get a bean hard shell taco. The meat seasoning has gluten, the potato ole's are fried in the same oil as the breaded chicken therefore contaminating them. The stores where I live also fry their corn chips in that same oil.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0