Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


- - - - -

Crown Royal Whiskey


  • Please log in to reply

2 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_jokamo_*

 
Guest_jokamo_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 21 June 2007 - 05:09 PM

Is crown royal whiskey gluten free?
Thanks Jodi :P
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Crystalkd

 
Crystalkd

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts
 

Posted 21 June 2007 - 08:12 PM

It is my understanding that all whiskey has gluten in it.
  • 0

#3 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,048 posts
 

Posted 21 June 2007 - 08:38 PM

It is generally accepted that distilled alcohol (and vinegar) does not contain gluten, regardless of the original souce. The distillation process removes any gluten because the large gluten molecule is too big to pass into the distillate.

In the US, "vinegar" when described by that single word, is both distilled and derived from a non-gluten source, so it is not something to worry about. In Canada, the source may vary, but it is distilled.

Some people react to grain alcohol, despite the distillation. We know that some fragments of the peptide do survive in the distillate, and that some people react. Most celiacs do not have a problem with grain alcohol, but you may be in the minority that do.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: