This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Celiac Disease And Italy

bellabrit7

bellabrit7 Rookie

hello all...not only am I a recently diagnosed celiac (about 2 1/2 months now) but I am studying abroad in italy this fall (florence to be exact!) I have read that italians and irish have celiac the most, but does anyone have any information on how to survive there for 4 months? my stay will be in Florence for most of the time. How do I say that I am gluten free? Is it tough to be there amid all the pasta and bread?? any help would be great, thank you!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

kenlove Rising Star

Hi,

My wife was researching a stay next year in Italy where i need to work fro a month, also near Florence.

Open Original Shared Link

lists a celiac guest house and links to other places and restaurants. I've not been to italy since I was diagnosed bust suspect it wont be that hard to get around and find places with gluten free meals.

Being more used to Japan where I carry my own special soy sauce, Italy may be easier.

My job there is working with figs and other fruit so I know I'll always have something to eat!

good luck

Ken

hello all...not only am I a recently diagnosed celiac (about 2 1/2 months now) but I am studying abroad in italy this fall (florence to be exact!) I have read that italians and irish have celiac the most, but does anyone have any information on how to survive there for 4 months? my stay will be in Florence for most of the time. How do I say that I am gluten free? Is it tough to be there amid all the pasta and bread?? any help would be great, thank you!