Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Trix
0

15 posts in this topic

I didn't know that TRIX cereal was gluten free. My daughter is pretty happy today. It is whole grain - CORN. So that could be a fun treat for kids - or adults.

But you guys probably knew this, but I just found out today.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I do not eat breakfast cereal, so I am not up on what is gluten free or not. But, I have never heard of TRIX mentioned on this site before. For that reason alone, I feel skeptical. Perhaps, I am wrong. :blink: and I truely hope so. Just a gut feeling.

It would be wonderful to have a new breakfast product.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I do not eat breakfast cereal, so I am not up on what is gluten free or not. But, I have never heard of TRIX mentioned on this site before. For that reason alone, I feel skeptical. Perhaps, I am wrong. :blink: and I truely hope so. Just a gut feeling.

It would be wonderful to have a new breakfast product.

Trix have been mentioned before on several different threads. If you do a search for "trix" they come up. I believe the problem is that they keep going back and forth saying "yes gluten-free, no not gluten-free" to me that is scary!! I don't eat them because who knows what the current status is each week lol

-Jessica :rolleyes:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Trix became gluten free several months ago, there were a few posts on this site...Cocoa Puffs also hit the market as gluten free during the same time in a "new chocolatey mix" box...Cocoa puffs however are NOT gluten free, that didn't last very long...I had a reaction to Trix and have not tried them again, however, I tried them when they first were named gluten-free and figured maybe there was some serious CC'n going on...General Mills has recently come out with several cereals that are considered gluten-free, which is exciting...but I miss my Raisin Nut Bran and my Honey Bunches of Oats...or Honey Nut Cheerios...haven't been able to find a good subsitute yet...Cero's didn't work out for me, neither did Perky o's. just didn't have the right taste!!

It is exciting that a big company like General Mills is making moves on the gluten-free front...maybe there's hope for other companies soon :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Trix being gluten-free is relatively new. It used to have wheat starch in it. I would read the label every time you buy it, they have a tendency to change ingredients without the "all new" warning.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Gluten wasn't listed on the ingredients, but we called, and they asked the date and the code with the upc - were told yes, they were gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Gluten wasn't listed on the ingredients, but we called, and they asked the date and the code with the upc - were told yes, they were gluten free.

I just finished a box (not in one sitting, over a week or so) with no ill effects.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
General Mills has recently come out with several cereals that are considered gluten-free, which is exciting...but I miss my Raisin Nut Bran and my Honey Bunches of Oats...or Honey Nut Cheerios...haven't been able to find a good subsitute yet...Cero's didn't work out for me, neither did Perky o's. just didn't have the right taste!!

I found a cereal that taste similar to honey nut cherrios. they are really good - By Glutino - Honey Nut - You may like those!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

General Mills brands will clearly list their gluten, so even if they do frequently change their ingredients all you have to do is read the ingredient list to determine if it is gluten free. My son's been eating them for a while with no problems. I wish cocoa puffs were gluten free! ;) Although, the gluten free list that I got from Safeway had their generic brand of cocoa puffs (cocoa astros) listed as gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

oh i do so hope trix is gluten-free! im going to the store tomorrow and i will get to go up the cereal row, i havent done that in awhile :)

btw i heard that coco pebbles are gluten-free? is it true?

im still new at reading lables and i know a lot of companys will clearly lable wheat but what about rye and barley can they be hidin?

also ive heard conflicting stuff about modified food starch and maltrosdextrin (i think i spelled it right)

are they bad or ok?? :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
oh i do so hope trix is gluten-free! im going to the store tomorrow and i will get to go up the cereal row, i havent done that in awhile :)

btw i heard that coco pebbles are gluten-free? is it true?

im still new at reading lables and i know a lot of companys will clearly lable wheat but what about rye and barley can they be hidin?

also ive heard conflicting stuff about modified food starch and maltrosdextrin (i think i spelled it right)

are they bad or ok?? :blink:

Maltodextrin is ok, food starch can be made from corn or wheat when in doubt call the company and they will tell you the source.

Yellow Rose

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I didn't know that TRIX cereal was gluten free. My daughter is pretty happy today. It is whole grain - CORN. So that could be a fun treat for kids - or adults.

But you guys probably knew this, but I just found out today.

Always check the box. I believe at some points it was not gluten free. But it currently is and I have seen it mentioned here before. Pebbles is also gluten-free as is Little Einstein and some sort of icky Micky Mouse rice cereal. It's brightly colored. Daughter dumped a bowl of it all covered in rice milk all over the carpet. What a mess!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cocoa and Fruity Pebbles are both gluten free!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maltodextrin has nothing to do with Malt and is OK.

Modified Food Starch can be from Wheat, barley, corn, tapioca or other stuff. Sometimes asking the company yields the "legal reply" with the stuff about suppliers and etc.

But DO watch for "malt flavoring" in ALL cereals by ALL mfg's! Malt Flavoring is made from barley and NOT gluten-free. That's Kellog's and Post's and Capt Crunch's problem. They all make cereals that WOULD be gluten-free (like Rice Krispies and Capt Crunch) if it weren't for that darned MALT FLAVORING which sweetens cereal without having to count it as a sugar.......

I'm so excited about Trix and General Mills. I'm going to go down the cereal isle too!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I started making my own cereal since I don't trust the current brands on the market. I was eating Mesa Sunrise and Puffins but as soon as I stopped, I started feeling better again. So I think they were contaminated with gluten even though they advertise that they are gluten free. I would be REALLY excited though if Trix were safe. That would be a great snack!

Trix have been mentioned before on several different threads. If you do a search for "trix" they come up. I believe the problem is that they keep going back and forth saying "yes gluten-free, no not gluten-free" to me that is scary!! I don't eat them because who knows what the current status is each week lol

-Jessica :rolleyes:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0