Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Bacon
0

8 posts in this topic

Does bacon have gluten in it? I was under the impression that meat was ok as long as it was not packaged I buy my bacon at a albertsons meat department Thanks Barb

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Most bacons are gluten free. I buy exclusively Oscar Meyer.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use Maple Leaf or Campfire bacon. MMM...bacon! :) Some of the lesser known brands *may* have gluten, usually hiding in any spcies that are used. However, MG is right in that most bacon is gluten-free. I find that larger companies usually make many of their products "allergen" free.

Note: both of these brands are packaged...so eat away! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I use Maple Leaf or Campfire bacon. MMM...bacon! :) Some of the lesser known brands *may* have gluten, usually hiding in any spcies that are used. However, MG is right in that most bacon is gluten-free. I find that larger companies usually make many of their products "allergen" free.

Thanks Everyone

You all are so fast.... hungry must go eat :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Most meat is ok, but you do have to make sure that chicken or turkey hasn't had broth added to it to "plump" it up. I also notice that you're not buying packaged meat. The one problem here is that if they cut it for you and there are other meats that have been cut before you that contain gluten, you're contaminated. For that reason I buy only packaged meat (with the exception of deli meat from this one store that only sells gluten-free meat).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I "heart" bacon. :P

I prefer Hormel's Thick Cut Bacon -- YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMY

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you have Boars Head near ya GET THEM!!! They MARK on the package that they are gluten-free, VERY few things are not gluten-free! Not to mention they taste GREAT!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Most meat is ok, but you do have to make sure that chicken or turkey hasn't had broth added to it to "plump" it up"

If broth added to to poultry (or any meat) has anything with gluten in it it must by USDA law be clearly listed. This is a separate requirement from the allergen law and has been in place for years.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0