Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Amusing, If Painful, Restaurant Experiences

15 posts in this topic

I have found that once I leave city limits, it's "anything goes," and "diner beware." Back before I found that I had Celiac, I preferred dining in Mom & Pop restaurants, but now, I prefer the big corporate chains who are more enlightened. I have had the most incredible experiences in out-lying communities in & around Virginia. Here's one instance: I order a plain salad with just chicken and explain that I'd brought my own dressing. The waitress brings it over & says "it looks so plain....you poor thing!"

Anyone have any amusing anecdotes from their dining experiences?

Angel

Ads by Google:

I can not believe that waitress said that to you!!!! :o I worked in the food service industry for years and believe me I have seen a lot stranger requests than no dressing on the salad!! In fact that is a rather common request. I think that waitress was just way out of line, and i seriously doubt most people in restaurants would treat you like that, so don't let that experience get you down!!

I have asked for a hamburger without the bun explaining I'm alergic to wheat and was asked if I would like bread instead. Seams a lot of people don't know how wheat is used. Oh well. I thought it was funny. Just learned to watch like a hawk when eating out and hope for the best. :huh:

wow...i can not believe these people :o how did they get jobs in the first place if they dont realise that bread has wheat in it!!!!!

I dont eat out often, but i did have breakfast in a restaurant recently and told the waitress to make sure there wasnt any toast on my plate!! She didnt ask why, but asked if i would like fruit instead!! ( so yes, there really are some food servers with a half a brain) ;)