Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Smirnoff
0

19 posts in this topic

Is Smirnoff gluten free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Yes!

But not the "malted beverage" products ... the ones like beer.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Smirnoff is made from corn. Even if you don't believe that gluten does not pass into the distallate, there is no gluten in the mash in the first place.

There is a huge facility in Muscatine, Iowa, that processes corn into ethyl alcohol for Smirnoff, among others. Read here about Grain Processing Corporation. They also make other products from corn, including a well known brand of corn oil, and the World's Best Cat Litter.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Smirnoff is made from corn. Even if you don't believe that gluten does not pass into the distallate, there is no gluten in the mash in the first place.

There is a huge facility in Muscatine, Iowa, that processes corn into ethyl alcohol for Smirnoff, among others. Read here about Grain Processing Corporation. They also make other products from corn, including a well known brand of corn oil, and the World's Best Cat Litter.

Thanks Pete

Interesting link, wish I could get a tour of the facilities. I heard something saying that corn is at an all time high in terms of production. Everyone must be going gluten free!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks Pete

Interesting link, wish I could get a tour of the facilities. I heard something saying that corn is at an all time high in terms of production. Everyone must be going gluten free!

I believe all smirnoff is made with malt, especially the ones with flavor and the orginal one too. I have read all the ones at the grocery store for my husband who has celiac and he can't have any of them.

Sue

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I was referring to the vodka.

There are a number of other beverages which carry the Smirnoff brand. Some of these may be made with malt. In some cases, the same name may refer to different products in different states, due to varying tax laws. Smirnoff vodka is a corn-based spirit, no matter where you buy it. But the "coolers" could be vodka based, or not, depending on the state in which they are sold. Some states tax coolers made from distilled spirits at a much higher rate than non-distilled ones; in these states coolers may be fermented without distillation.

In Canada, all Smirnoff-branded products are gluten free.

I regret any confusion that my post caused.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Smirnoff Ice in the USA is a malted beverage whereas in Canada it is not. So, in Canada it is gluten-free, but in the USA it is not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to clarify as this thread is somewhat confusing:

In the USA,

Smirnoff Vodkas - Gluten Free

Smirnoff Ice (malted beverage sold in six packs of 12oz bottles) - NOT GLUTEN FREE

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just to clarify as this thread is somewhat confusing:

In the USA,

Smirnoff Vodkas - Gluten Free

Smirnoff Ice (malted beverage sold in six packs of 12oz bottles) - NOT GLUTEN FREE

I found this interesting, I emailed the smirnoff company yesterday and today they emailed back stating that smirnoff and smirnoff ice IS GLUTEN FREE and they knew I was emailing them from Ohio.

Now that is confussing. So my husband who has celiac is going to give the smirnoff ice a try and see if he gets sick from it or not, that really is the only true way for him to find out.

Sue

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As I posted previously, some products vary in their content from state to state. Smirnoff Ice is vodka-based in some states. I don't know which ones. In other states it is malt-based. If in doubt, don't.

Reasons may include different tax levels, or the requirement to be sold only in a liquor store versus a corner store. Each state has its own alcoholic beverage laws, and these cause things to be made differently to comply with state law.

Check carefully regarding which version is sold in your state.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Zodiac Vodka is also gluten-free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You might want to check out Luksusova Vodka. It's made from potatoes and it's not too expensive. Check out their web site it talks all about Celiac Disease.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is Smirnoff gluten free?

The Ice product line is made from malt. This is a barley that has sprouted some. Natural and artificial flavors are added to the malt to form the wine cooler.

Barley and malt, which is usually made from barley, malt syrup, malt extract, malt flavoring and malt vinegar. These are "not" gluten free. Just tought you might like to know this bit of info ;)

So, your answer ia no...It is "NOT" Gluten free.

Sammyjo

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This discussion is over 5 years old. Any info discussed that long ago about a product may be out of date.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've read from people that it's corn, but on the bottles of vodka, it says grain..... So I don't chance it. I drink Vikingsford, Luksovosa, or any other potato based ones. Ciroc is grape based and Titos is corn based.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It drives me nuts that Smirnoff just lists "grain". Everything I have read seems to indicate it is made from corn, and while corn is a grain, it makes me uncomfortable enough that I drink Smirnoff much less that I would if I was sure it was naturally gluten free. I think it is really odd that Smirnoff never actually states what they make it from on the bottle or anywhere on their website, at least not that I can find. It's quite disappointing to me since Smirnoff is very popular and would be easier than the others to order at bars.

Apparently, it isn't totally uncommon to do this as this wikipedia page just lists "grain" for several vodkas. Interestingly, there are many naturally gluten free mashes on the list: potato, corn, honey, sugar cane, fruits, coconut, grape, and muscadine.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_vodkas

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It drives me nuts that Smirnoff just lists "grain". Everything I have read seems to indicate it is made from corn, and while corn is a grain, it makes me uncomfortable enough that I drink Smirnoff much less that I would if I was sure it was naturally gluten free. I think it is really odd that Smirnoff never actually states what they make it from on the bottle or anywhere on their website, at least not that I can find. It's quite disappointing to me since Smirnoff is very popular and would be easier than the others to order at bars.

Smirnoff is made from corn. Even if you don't believe that gluten does not pass into the distallate, there is no gluten in the mash in the first place.

There is a huge facility in Muscatine, Iowa, that processes corn into ethyl alcohol for Smirnoff, among others. Read here about Grain Processing Corporation. They also make other products from corn, including a well known brand of corn oil, and the World's Best Cat Litter.

I posted that over five years ago. It was true then, and it is true now. If you don't believe me, then that is up to you. BTW, it is Mazola that they make.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I posted that over five years ago. It was true then, and it is true now. If you don't believe me, then that is up to you. BTW, it is Mazola that they make.

Thanks, psawyer. That's very helpful. I'll drink Smirnoff more confidently now!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,698
    • Total Posts
      921,787
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • When it's that high, it almost always means Celiac.  Sure, you can have Crohns, too.  Just like you can have Celiac and diabetes, the common cold or a hang nail.  I wouldn't jump to Chrohns.  I don't think the tTg really has anything to do with Chrohns?  Where did you see that?  Sometimes, a slightly elevate tTg can be elevated from other issues, but >100 is not a " slightly elevated" reading
    • Hi! I'm new here, and I'm looking for some information because I'm having a hard time finding it.  Over Labor Day weekend I got some kind of intestinal bug. I didn't think much of it until the D persisted once a day up til now. I tried a priobiotic but that didn't help much. I have bad anxiety and began to think that I was just anxious and stressed. No fever, no pain, all bloodwork is normal, so no infection or anemia. My mother has 5 siblings and 3 have celiac. One other one had a high result on a blood test but was never officially diagnosed and insists she doesn't have it. So I went to my local health fair and got the ttg-iga test, just in case. My result came back at >100. So I have called and scheduled a visit with a GI for next week. Aside from the recent intestinal issues I have never thought that I had any signs of celiac. I do have dermatographism and have had that since I was 20 (I am 28). I have severe anxiety. I had PUPPPS when I was pregnant with my daughter and it was miserable. It looks much like the skin rashes that celiacs have. Again, didn't think much of it. Because of my anxiety I am terrified that this high blood test is from something else, like crohn's. I don't have diabetes, my liver and thyroid numbers are fine. I think it's much more plausible that this is celiac because of my family history. But my anxiety says "what if it's crohns?" Does anyone have any insight? Is it true that the ttg iga can be elevated from crohns and not celiac? Is >100 pretty definitive of celiac? I didn't know if crohns was the cause if the number would be this high.  I'm just freaked out. 
    • This does say it is for NCGS....so not  for Celiacs.  There is a drug being developed that may actually break down the gluten in the stomach before it hits the intestines.  However, that is still in clinical trials.
    • could be from your neck, or it is, literally, in your head. perhaps a scan is needed.
    • The anxiety thing is there I take teas, and supplements along with CBD oil to help with it, and long walks and exercise when I get antsy. As for the human interaction it is a mix of other mental issues, and the way I feel about people who can eat gluten. If they are not eating I have no issue talking with people. I mentioned I have issues accepting them as the same species when I see them eating. My reaction to gluten is so ingrained in me that it is not a food but a poison, that watching others eat it causes a subconscious reaction where I find myself avoiding them and looking down on them like something from another planet. I end up disgusted with them and walking away, I will go out of my way to avoid people and places where foods like this are present. This is my TRAUMA part of the gluten exposure, and one of the big things I am trying to address in my life right now. I know it is irrational to do so but I end up doing it, I have never cared about others race, religion, or looks, but if I see them eating a gluten/poison, it somehow changes how I perceive them and interact with them and I hate this part about me. It is taking a lot of mental effort to try to smile and treat them as a human, and not something to be looked down upon in disgust. I just recall that mental state that gluten puts me in with my mind and body turning against me and not doing what I will it and the fear comes back. This diet is pretty much like mine, I take Doctors best Magnesium powder in a tea that is actually brewed with st johns wort (never thought much of it) , I use Liquid Health Stress & Energy along with the Neurologic Support they have, twice-three times a day for B vitamins(along with a bunch of other supplements) . I can not digest meats or carbs well, meats it is a issue with breaking them down same with egg yolks, I literally just burp up the undigested meats hours later. I have found the only way to eat them is to boil/slow cook them til they melt then blend them into a broth and have it with digestive enzymes so only do it with turkey bacon, longhorn, and salmon in small amounts in soups or for flavoring stock for stir frys.  As for Carbs like rice and potatoes I end up getting really gassy and bloated, same with sugars in any amount greater then like the size of my thumb give or take. Oats I only have gluten-free Harvest in about a tbsp amount when tasting recipes of stuff I sell at farmers markets. So I eat mostly fats and protein from egg whites, nuts, seeds, veggies, and vegan protein powders blends balanced for complete proteins. I have at least 1-2 dried fig, dates, handful of banana chips, or a 1/4 of a small fruit with meals for fruits.  My meals are mostly egg white and veggie omelettes, stir frys, and soups, Always with lots of fats and proteins in each meal. I have found having nutritional yeast to help with my mood and energy levels also and find someway of having it in meals often. I keep my foods on rotation and keep getting updated feed back on ratios with my dietician. I also have a rather odd list of foods I can not eat due to allergies/intolerance.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,704
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Fbmb
    Joined