Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Smirnoff
0

19 posts in this topic

Is Smirnoff gluten free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Yes!

But not the "malted beverage" products ... the ones like beer.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Smirnoff is made from corn. Even if you don't believe that gluten does not pass into the distallate, there is no gluten in the mash in the first place.

There is a huge facility in Muscatine, Iowa, that processes corn into ethyl alcohol for Smirnoff, among others. Read here about Grain Processing Corporation. They also make other products from corn, including a well known brand of corn oil, and the World's Best Cat Litter.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Smirnoff is made from corn. Even if you don't believe that gluten does not pass into the distallate, there is no gluten in the mash in the first place.

There is a huge facility in Muscatine, Iowa, that processes corn into ethyl alcohol for Smirnoff, among others. Read here about Grain Processing Corporation. They also make other products from corn, including a well known brand of corn oil, and the World's Best Cat Litter.

Thanks Pete

Interesting link, wish I could get a tour of the facilities. I heard something saying that corn is at an all time high in terms of production. Everyone must be going gluten free!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks Pete

Interesting link, wish I could get a tour of the facilities. I heard something saying that corn is at an all time high in terms of production. Everyone must be going gluten free!

I believe all smirnoff is made with malt, especially the ones with flavor and the orginal one too. I have read all the ones at the grocery store for my husband who has celiac and he can't have any of them.

Sue

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I was referring to the vodka.

There are a number of other beverages which carry the Smirnoff brand. Some of these may be made with malt. In some cases, the same name may refer to different products in different states, due to varying tax laws. Smirnoff vodka is a corn-based spirit, no matter where you buy it. But the "coolers" could be vodka based, or not, depending on the state in which they are sold. Some states tax coolers made from distilled spirits at a much higher rate than non-distilled ones; in these states coolers may be fermented without distillation.

In Canada, all Smirnoff-branded products are gluten free.

I regret any confusion that my post caused.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Smirnoff Ice in the USA is a malted beverage whereas in Canada it is not. So, in Canada it is gluten-free, but in the USA it is not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to clarify as this thread is somewhat confusing:

In the USA,

Smirnoff Vodkas - Gluten Free

Smirnoff Ice (malted beverage sold in six packs of 12oz bottles) - NOT GLUTEN FREE

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just to clarify as this thread is somewhat confusing:

In the USA,

Smirnoff Vodkas - Gluten Free

Smirnoff Ice (malted beverage sold in six packs of 12oz bottles) - NOT GLUTEN FREE

I found this interesting, I emailed the smirnoff company yesterday and today they emailed back stating that smirnoff and smirnoff ice IS GLUTEN FREE and they knew I was emailing them from Ohio.

Now that is confussing. So my husband who has celiac is going to give the smirnoff ice a try and see if he gets sick from it or not, that really is the only true way for him to find out.

Sue

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As I posted previously, some products vary in their content from state to state. Smirnoff Ice is vodka-based in some states. I don't know which ones. In other states it is malt-based. If in doubt, don't.

Reasons may include different tax levels, or the requirement to be sold only in a liquor store versus a corner store. Each state has its own alcoholic beverage laws, and these cause things to be made differently to comply with state law.

Check carefully regarding which version is sold in your state.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Zodiac Vodka is also gluten-free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You might want to check out Luksusova Vodka. It's made from potatoes and it's not too expensive. Check out their web site it talks all about Celiac Disease.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is Smirnoff gluten free?

The Ice product line is made from malt. This is a barley that has sprouted some. Natural and artificial flavors are added to the malt to form the wine cooler.

Barley and malt, which is usually made from barley, malt syrup, malt extract, malt flavoring and malt vinegar. These are "not" gluten free. Just tought you might like to know this bit of info ;)

So, your answer ia no...It is "NOT" Gluten free.

Sammyjo

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This discussion is over 5 years old. Any info discussed that long ago about a product may be out of date.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've read from people that it's corn, but on the bottles of vodka, it says grain..... So I don't chance it. I drink Vikingsford, Luksovosa, or any other potato based ones. Ciroc is grape based and Titos is corn based.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It drives me nuts that Smirnoff just lists "grain". Everything I have read seems to indicate it is made from corn, and while corn is a grain, it makes me uncomfortable enough that I drink Smirnoff much less that I would if I was sure it was naturally gluten free. I think it is really odd that Smirnoff never actually states what they make it from on the bottle or anywhere on their website, at least not that I can find. It's quite disappointing to me since Smirnoff is very popular and would be easier than the others to order at bars.

Apparently, it isn't totally uncommon to do this as this wikipedia page just lists "grain" for several vodkas. Interestingly, there are many naturally gluten free mashes on the list: potato, corn, honey, sugar cane, fruits, coconut, grape, and muscadine.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_vodkas

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It drives me nuts that Smirnoff just lists "grain". Everything I have read seems to indicate it is made from corn, and while corn is a grain, it makes me uncomfortable enough that I drink Smirnoff much less that I would if I was sure it was naturally gluten free. I think it is really odd that Smirnoff never actually states what they make it from on the bottle or anywhere on their website, at least not that I can find. It's quite disappointing to me since Smirnoff is very popular and would be easier than the others to order at bars.

Smirnoff is made from corn. Even if you don't believe that gluten does not pass into the distallate, there is no gluten in the mash in the first place.

There is a huge facility in Muscatine, Iowa, that processes corn into ethyl alcohol for Smirnoff, among others. Read here about Grain Processing Corporation. They also make other products from corn, including a well known brand of corn oil, and the World's Best Cat Litter.

I posted that over five years ago. It was true then, and it is true now. If you don't believe me, then that is up to you. BTW, it is Mazola that they make.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I posted that over five years ago. It was true then, and it is true now. If you don't believe me, then that is up to you. BTW, it is Mazola that they make.

Thanks, psawyer. That's very helpful. I'll drink Smirnoff more confidently now!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,681
    • Total Posts
      921,724
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Ok, I can't seem to find my first lot of blood tests that were done for Celiac screening, they did include TTG I remember that much, and I am getting another copy of it but another test did come in today.  I don't know how different tests are done around the world and I don't get all the medical jargon but this is what it states, ******************************************************************************* HLA DR/DQ Genotyping for Coeliac Disease, Specimen type : EDTA blood Method : Detection of sequence-specific oligonucleotides (Gen-Probe). HLA-DR - 1, 13          DRB1 - 01, 13 HLA-DQ - 5,6        HLA-DQA1 - 5,6      HLA-DB1 - 05, 06 Interpretation : No genotype susceptibility for coeliac disease.  The DQ2 and DQ8 antigens associated with increased risk of coeliac disease were not identified in this patient.  In the absence of these antigens, coeliac disease is extremely unlikely.   *******************************************************************************   I have read the horror stories of blood tests and scope biopsies not be done right or flawed but here is what I do know as of now, At the moment the most non invasive test I can have done say negative.  I have double scopes (endoscopy and colonoscopy) booked for the 12th of October with results from biopsies expected a week or two after. Chances are they will show, a) signs of coeliac disease (even if the odds are low it can still happen), b) show signs of something else entirely and we will be busy dealing with the ramifications of that or c) it will show no signs of coeliac but I will still be suffering from gluten sensitivity (which is harder/impossible to measure clinically). My GP has told me that stress and anxiety can be a cause of all the symptoms I have been experiencing and suggests if the scopes show nothing that I may benefit from something to treat anxiety, i.e. antidepressants.  Not in a, "Oh we don't know what it is so have these," kind of way, he agrees with the thought that the scopes could indeed show coeliac, something else or even be negative. I did tell him that I could have a sensitivity and that even without benefit of clinical results, some people have gone on a gluten elimination diet for a period of time to see if they get any relief.  My question is this, if the scopes come up negative and I try eliminating gluten, how long would it be before I saw any results or improvements?  I have read enough here and elsewhere to know that everybody is different, some see results within days, some see results longer but are there any guidelines for how long a test like this should be undertaken for?  I have heard everything thing from two weeks to two months.  All of this is entirely moot at this point but I know that even if the results said clear, there would always be a little part of me that wonders if it could be a sensitivity that is the problem.  Any thoughts or advice greatly appreciated, and a thank you to all those who have taken the time to respond and offer advice and encouragement so far.        
    • We don't delete accounts but can delete any personal information and change your screen name if you would like. Just send me a personal message with three possible screen names. For the record you can edit most things in your account area with the exception of your screen name.
    • Thanks I never heard of that dye before, I guess I have to find more natural meat thanks for the suggestion. 
    • Yes, I only eat one meal a day. Sometimes salad or fries or whatever I can find. And thanks for the replies again.
    • A colonoscopy is not used to diagnose celiac disease.  An endoscopy is used to obtain biopsies in the small intestine.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,680
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Misalina
    Joined