Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Smirnoff
0

19 posts in this topic

Is Smirnoff gluten free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Yes!

But not the "malted beverage" products ... the ones like beer.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Smirnoff is made from corn. Even if you don't believe that gluten does not pass into the distallate, there is no gluten in the mash in the first place.

There is a huge facility in Muscatine, Iowa, that processes corn into ethyl alcohol for Smirnoff, among others. Read here about Grain Processing Corporation. They also make other products from corn, including a well known brand of corn oil, and the World's Best Cat Litter.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Smirnoff is made from corn. Even if you don't believe that gluten does not pass into the distallate, there is no gluten in the mash in the first place.

There is a huge facility in Muscatine, Iowa, that processes corn into ethyl alcohol for Smirnoff, among others. Read here about Grain Processing Corporation. They also make other products from corn, including a well known brand of corn oil, and the World's Best Cat Litter.

Thanks Pete

Interesting link, wish I could get a tour of the facilities. I heard something saying that corn is at an all time high in terms of production. Everyone must be going gluten free!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks Pete

Interesting link, wish I could get a tour of the facilities. I heard something saying that corn is at an all time high in terms of production. Everyone must be going gluten free!

I believe all smirnoff is made with malt, especially the ones with flavor and the orginal one too. I have read all the ones at the grocery store for my husband who has celiac and he can't have any of them.

Sue

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I was referring to the vodka.

There are a number of other beverages which carry the Smirnoff brand. Some of these may be made with malt. In some cases, the same name may refer to different products in different states, due to varying tax laws. Smirnoff vodka is a corn-based spirit, no matter where you buy it. But the "coolers" could be vodka based, or not, depending on the state in which they are sold. Some states tax coolers made from distilled spirits at a much higher rate than non-distilled ones; in these states coolers may be fermented without distillation.

In Canada, all Smirnoff-branded products are gluten free.

I regret any confusion that my post caused.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Smirnoff Ice in the USA is a malted beverage whereas in Canada it is not. So, in Canada it is gluten-free, but in the USA it is not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to clarify as this thread is somewhat confusing:

In the USA,

Smirnoff Vodkas - Gluten Free

Smirnoff Ice (malted beverage sold in six packs of 12oz bottles) - NOT GLUTEN FREE

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just to clarify as this thread is somewhat confusing:

In the USA,

Smirnoff Vodkas - Gluten Free

Smirnoff Ice (malted beverage sold in six packs of 12oz bottles) - NOT GLUTEN FREE

I found this interesting, I emailed the smirnoff company yesterday and today they emailed back stating that smirnoff and smirnoff ice IS GLUTEN FREE and they knew I was emailing them from Ohio.

Now that is confussing. So my husband who has celiac is going to give the smirnoff ice a try and see if he gets sick from it or not, that really is the only true way for him to find out.

Sue

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As I posted previously, some products vary in their content from state to state. Smirnoff Ice is vodka-based in some states. I don't know which ones. In other states it is malt-based. If in doubt, don't.

Reasons may include different tax levels, or the requirement to be sold only in a liquor store versus a corner store. Each state has its own alcoholic beverage laws, and these cause things to be made differently to comply with state law.

Check carefully regarding which version is sold in your state.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Zodiac Vodka is also gluten-free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You might want to check out Luksusova Vodka. It's made from potatoes and it's not too expensive. Check out their web site it talks all about Celiac Disease.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Is Smirnoff gluten free?

The Ice product line is made from malt. This is a barley that has sprouted some. Natural and artificial flavors are added to the malt to form the wine cooler.

Barley and malt, which is usually made from barley, malt syrup, malt extract, malt flavoring and malt vinegar. These are "not" gluten free. Just tought you might like to know this bit of info ;)

So, your answer ia no...It is "NOT" Gluten free.

Sammyjo

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This discussion is over 5 years old. Any info discussed that long ago about a product may be out of date.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've read from people that it's corn, but on the bottles of vodka, it says grain..... So I don't chance it. I drink Vikingsford, Luksovosa, or any other potato based ones. Ciroc is grape based and Titos is corn based.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It drives me nuts that Smirnoff just lists "grain". Everything I have read seems to indicate it is made from corn, and while corn is a grain, it makes me uncomfortable enough that I drink Smirnoff much less that I would if I was sure it was naturally gluten free. I think it is really odd that Smirnoff never actually states what they make it from on the bottle or anywhere on their website, at least not that I can find. It's quite disappointing to me since Smirnoff is very popular and would be easier than the others to order at bars.

Apparently, it isn't totally uncommon to do this as this wikipedia page just lists "grain" for several vodkas. Interestingly, there are many naturally gluten free mashes on the list: potato, corn, honey, sugar cane, fruits, coconut, grape, and muscadine.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_vodkas

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It drives me nuts that Smirnoff just lists "grain". Everything I have read seems to indicate it is made from corn, and while corn is a grain, it makes me uncomfortable enough that I drink Smirnoff much less that I would if I was sure it was naturally gluten free. I think it is really odd that Smirnoff never actually states what they make it from on the bottle or anywhere on their website, at least not that I can find. It's quite disappointing to me since Smirnoff is very popular and would be easier than the others to order at bars.

Smirnoff is made from corn. Even if you don't believe that gluten does not pass into the distallate, there is no gluten in the mash in the first place.

There is a huge facility in Muscatine, Iowa, that processes corn into ethyl alcohol for Smirnoff, among others. Read here about Grain Processing Corporation. They also make other products from corn, including a well known brand of corn oil, and the World's Best Cat Litter.

I posted that over five years ago. It was true then, and it is true now. If you don't believe me, then that is up to you. BTW, it is Mazola that they make.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I posted that over five years ago. It was true then, and it is true now. If you don't believe me, then that is up to you. BTW, it is Mazola that they make.

Thanks, psawyer. That's very helpful. I'll drink Smirnoff more confidently now!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,385
    • Total Posts
      920,613
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Squirmingitch, I forgot to mention best of luck to you during the storm! I hope you are safe and that your home isn't impacted too badly! I'm on the coast in SC so we will see some storms from it but nothing near as bad as what you will have. Take care and good luck.
    • SquirmingItch, I really appreciate you gathering info for me! To answer your questions, yes, I'm on Dapsone now and have been on it for about 4.5 weeks. I have been gluten free for the same amount of time. I started on 50 mg of Dapsone which didn't seem to help much. I spoke to my doctor about it and after about a week she raised it to 100 mg. Since then I did notice a huge improvement in both my rash and itch. I no longer have any active rashes and my itching isn't completely gone but it's very minimal. I have been getting weekly blood tests done and will soon be moving to monthly.  My DH skin biopsy was done before the gluten free diet and Dapsone. My results for the skin biopsy came back as inconclusive, but even with those results, my doctor was convinced I had DH. I specifically asked her about the fact that she took the biopsy directly from the lesion rather than next to it and if that affects the result. Her explanation was that if it's a fresh enough lesion that isn't scratched, there should be IgA antibodies present. But she said that an inconclusive result isn't surprising because the IgA antibodies come and go from the skin so quickly that it can be very difficult to get a positive result, even in someone who is positive.  That's when she decided to run the celiac blood panel on me. And even though those results came back positive for the deamidated gliadin and negative for tTg, she still is very convinced that I have DH. I am happy that my doctor seems to be certain, but I would just feel better if the results were more definitive. The one other thing I am waiting on is I have been asked to attend grand rounds at the local academic hospital in 2 weeks. I guess grand rounds is where all of the academic dermatologists and dermatopathologists get together to review certain complicated cases. They will meet with me, review all of my pictures, biopsies and blood tests. My situation has been so complicated so they asked me to come. I am hoping maybe then I will get some more answers. 
    • It sure is, it really is. 
    • shellyb, I have info. for you & you may yet be able to get an official dx from your dermatologist as she sounds like she would be willing to learn. If you are dx'd with dh it is definitive & no other testing is needed. You don't need to see a GI. Im in FL & have had a long day watching Tropical Storm Hermine & making preparations for it's track which is over where I live. I'm tired! I will have links for you to reputable medical info. on the rash but it make take me till tomorrow or even longer if we lose power.  I'll be back as soon as I can. Question: You're on Dapsone now? How long have you been on it? How is it working for you? Are you getting the proper testing at regular intervals to make sure it isn't doing bad things to you? Were you gluten free before the skin biopsy?
    • Thank you so much for your quick response, GFinDC. While I wouldn't be completely opposed to another skin biopsy, I already had 4 done (3 were done prior to my dermatologist suspecting DH) so I don't love the idea of  yet another hole and scar on my body. Plus, fortunately I don't have any fresh lesions now, which I believe is needed for the biopsy. I wish I would have known to see a GI before going gluten free but I was so desperate to get any relief that I started that and Dapsone as soon as my doctor mentioned it to me.  My rash is definitely symmetrical and I have it in all of the "classic" DH spots although it basically spread over my entire body. As much as I'd like a more formal diagnosis, I really don't think I can go through all of that again. It was so bad that not only was I getting no sleep but I had to change my sheets every morning because there was blood all over them. Sorry, TMI. The worst part is that this all developed during my ninth month of pregnancy and got much worse after I delivered my baby. So not only was I dealing with this insanely itchy rash but I had a newborn and a toddler to take care of.  My daughters' pediatrician did mention doing DNA testing on me first and then my daughters to see if there's any concern that they may be susceptible. I may just go that route for now. I was just curious if others have had similar test results to mine and how did their doctors treat it? Thanks again!
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,455
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    JLeigh
    Joined