Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Starbucks Gluten Free
0

35 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

I thought I would share some information I got from Starbucks about gluten in their products as I have been searching around and couldn't find anything. I thought I could offer some info to anyone looking!

I was worries about the gluten content of their drinks as:

- The mocha syrup (in mochas, hot chocolates, chocolate frappucinos) is made from a powder which hot water is added to

- Cream frappuccinos are made from a powder which milk is added to

- Coffee frappucinos and chai tea lattes are made from a pre-mix which milk is then added to

I asked these specific questions and got the following reply:

"Thank you for contacting Starbucks Coffee Company regarding gluten-free products. None of our beverages, with the exception of our Strawberries and Cream Frappuccino,

are made with ingredients that contain gluten. However, the vanilla sprinkles

provided at the condiment bar for customer use does contain gluten. The remaining

toppings do not contain gluten."

So good news! :D:D

This was from the UK Starbucks customer care team, though I used to have a summer job at Starbucks and can confirm that they use the exact same pre-mix packs as they do in the US (it is all imported to the UK).

She is also talking only about drinks currently available - so any seasonal things like malt frappucinos or anything with chips in (cookie chips) won't be gluten-free. Also, the US probably have different frappuccinos available, but as the mix is the same, the plain coffee and cream frappucinos and those with syrup/sauce (caramel, vanilla, chocolate, espresso) will be gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

thanks Hannah!

Hi everyone,

I thought I would share some information I got from Starbucks about gluten in their products as I have been searching around and couldn't find anything. I thought I could offer some info to anyone looking!

I was worries about the gluten content of their drinks as:

- The mocha syrup (in mochas, hot chocolates, chocolate frappucinos) is made from a powder which hot water is added to

- Cream frappuccinos are made from a powder which milk is added to

- Coffee frappucinos and chai tea lattes are made from a pre-mix which milk is then added to

I asked these specific questions and got the following reply:

"Thank you for contacting Starbucks Coffee Company regarding gluten-free products. None of our beverages, with the exception of our Strawberries and Cream Frappuccino,

are made with ingredients that contain gluten. However, the vanilla sprinkles

provided at the condiment bar for customer use does contain gluten. The remaining

toppings do not contain gluten."

So good news! :D:D

This was from the UK Starbucks customer care team, though I used to have a summer job at Starbucks and can confirm that they use the exact same pre-mix packs as they do in the US (it is all imported to the UK).

She is also talking only about drinks currently available - so any seasonal things like malt frappucinos or anything with chips in (cookie chips) won't be gluten-free. Also, the US probably have different frappuccinos available, but as the mix is the same, the plain coffee and cream frappucinos and those with syrup/sauce (caramel, vanilla, chocolate, espresso) will be gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When I called here in the US, I was told the carmel sauce contained gluten also. Maybe a mistake? I have been avoiding the Carmel Macchiato so if this is incorrect I would REALLY like to start drinking it again!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the US all drinks are gluten-free EXCEPT the frapps with chips. The chips have gluten. So does the vanilla powder.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When I called them a couple months ago they said that the only drinks that contain gluten are the blended frappachinos (?), the ones with malt. They do not use separate blenders for malt drinks, so basically any drink that is placed in their blenders could be contaminated with malt.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I called Starbucks Customer Service line a few weeks ago and was told that the only beverages that contain gluten are those that include java chips. Everything else is gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All of this is making me glad I pretty much stick with cafe mocha, mocha, mocha (extra mocha anyone?) or iced tea. Sigh!

I've been bitten by the malt contamination before, and all I see them do to clean the blenders is swish and rinse. Of course, they don't think of it as cleaning away toxic residue.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Regarding the malt powder and chips: At Starbucks they will only put the frappucino blenders in the dishwasher at the end of the day, so everything is just rinsed with hot water throughout the day.

So if they currently have malt or chip frappucinos on the menu, I guess there are no guarantees. You could ask them to run a blender pot through the dishwasher or use an unused one :).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
When I called here in the US, I was told the carmel sauce contained gluten also. Maybe a mistake? I have been avoiding the Carmel Macchiato so if this is incorrect I would REALLY like to start drinking it again!

the carmel sauce def does NOT contain gluten, when Ive talked to them, its always been the chips and malt in the frapps. Also i get the carmel macch. all the time!!! they dont bother me one bit! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I get iced tea shaken lemonade. I am a tea drinker so I usually stick with those drinks.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One more thing to add to this topic.

I got sick, so I called the customer care line. ALL of the Christmas drinks have gluten (egg nog latte, gingerbread latte, creme brulee latte).

It was my own stupid fault for not checking and assuming the gingerbread latte is ok because the rest of their syrups are fine....!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
One more thing to add to this topic.

I got sick, so I called the customer care line. ALL of the Christmas drinks have gluten (egg nog latte, gingerbread latte, creme brulee latte).

It was my own stupid fault for not checking and assuming the gingerbread latte is ok because the rest of their syrups are fine....!

I am wondering why they told you that .... I've read the bottles before and saw no suspicious ingredients ... I had a celiac who works there tell me they were okay.

Is it a CYA thing? Is it because the person did not know? Is it because you are in Europe? Is Starbucks just not wanting to guarantee anything in light of recent lawsuits other companies have had?

I would recommend reading the ingredient list yourself and decide if the risk of contamination is worth it .... there are a lot of products there with lots of crumbs, so the risk of contamination is always there.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Do any of you have a love hate thing for Starbucks? :angry: I do for the fact is the coffee isn't good coffee and they take over the land.

Do you know they target areas where smaller cafes/coffee houses are doing good and move in the neighborhood. Heck if you want to open a cafe, beware the starbucks.

My fav line is friends don't let friends drink starbucks! LOL

That said I am happy to know that if I want a coffee from them I can have one. There are hundreds of coffee stands but nothing uniform which is where starbucks comes in. At least I know it is the same from one place to the next.

Can you see me at a drive through of a small coffee stand with 3 cars behind me asking them to check if they have gluten in the mix! HUH

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hello. Turns out it isn't the syrup, it's the sugar topping! Plus the eggnog mix has gluten :(.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hello. Turns out it isn't the syrup, it's the sugar topping! Plus the eggnog mix has gluten :(.

That makes sense. In the US they use eggnog .... not eggnog mix .... last year it was gluten-free here ... but I know things aren't necessarily the same in other countries.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I swear that the Soy Milk they use (at least in Canada) is NOT gluten free! I usually order a Chai Latte with soy. Does anyone know anything about this?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I swear that the Soy Milk they use (at least in Canada) is NOT gluten free! I usually order a Chai Latte with soy. Does anyone know anything about this?

Even though this is an old thread you've brought up, the soy milk they use here at my Starbucks, and every one I have been to in Ontario, is silk, which is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How about a Casein-free Starbucks?

I order my Soy Tazo-Chai...and they "rinse" the steamer cup...and yet a cup of that stuff always gives me a gut-full of discomfort!

My question:

Would it be too out of line for me to ask the barista to wash the cup with soap before using it to make my drink? Do they keep freshly washed steamer cups handy under the counter? Does anyone know about this?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
How about a Casein-free Starbucks?

I order my Soy Tazo-Chai...and they "rinse" the steamer cup...and yet a cup of that stuff always gives me a gut-full of discomfort!

My question:

Would it be too out of line for me to ask the barista to wash the cup with soap before using it to make my drink? Do they keep freshly washed steamer cups handy under the counter? Does anyone know about this?

__________________________

It won't do you any good- the Tazo brand of tea, some of the flavors contain gluten. And the soy milk ..... some brands of soy milk have calcium carbonate, which can also cause stomach upset, or worse, they're made with a form of rice syrup sweetener that was processed with barley, so they while "technically" gluten free, they may upset sensitive individuals.

I don't drink any of the that flavored junk from Starbucks. I've even ordered a plain cup of green tea from them and the server gave me a FLAVORED tea bag which I did not discover at first until I went to drink it in the car- and it smelled like it so I looked at the tag and it was one of the Tazo flavors, so No Go.

If I want tea I carry my own teabags just in case. And a hot beverage carry mug for the car is really the way to go with this, so you can just get hot water when necessary. It is also super easy to mix your own chai spice mix, store it in a jar, and put a little bit (it doesn't take much) in the cup with a tea bag before you go out the door.

I'm not very sensitive but whatever is in the chai soy mix tea at Starbucks has really made me sick, including a migraine, so I avoid it like the plague.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I swear that the Soy Milk they use (at least in Canada) is NOT gluten free! I usually order a Chai Latte with soy. Does anyone know anything about this?

SILK is definitely gluten-free. I have contacted them many times to make sure.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
SILK is definitely gluten-free. I have contacted them many times to make sure.

I posted this on another thread, but in Texas and Illinois Starbucks has switched from Silk. I suspect it is nationwide. I read the label but it wasn't clear that it was gluten-free. There were natural flavors. I need to contact them on Monday.

Also, some Tazo flavors are gluten-free. In fact most of them. However some are not --2 or 3. One unsafe variety is honeybush.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I swear that the Soy Milk they use (at least in Canada) is NOT gluten free! I usually order a Chai Latte with soy. Does anyone know anything about this?

Silk soy milk is definitely gluten-free.....I have verified it with the company directly and read the ingredients listing myself. This is for the US.

The mix used to make Chai latte's is also gluten-free....again, I contacted Starbuck's directly and read the ingredients listing.

As for the way it is steamed, the Starbuck's around here use separate pitchers for mlk and soy milk so no cross contamination and clean the steamers before steaming soy. I have watched them do this. I guess it all depends on the staff working each store....some are more careful than others.

I have had absolutely no problems with their soy latte's at all and I would be sick if they contained gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I posted this on another thread, but in Texas and Illinois Starbucks has switched from Silk. I suspect it is nationwide. I read the label but it wasn't clear that it was gluten-free. There were natural flavors. I need to contact them on Monday.

Oklahoma Starbucks also use a random brand of soymilk. I'm not sure what is in the new brand, but it's not good.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
As for the way it is steamed, the Starbuck's around here use separate pitchers for mlk and soy milk so no cross contamination and clean the steamers before steaming soy. I have watched them do this. I guess it all depends on the staff working each store....some are more careful than others.

I have had absolutely no problems with their soy latte's at all and I would be sick if they contained gluten.

They use separate pitchers for soy or milk in Canada too. I am very sensitive to gluten and I have never been sick from one of their soy latte's either.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sorry I'm a bit confused, I just moved from Europe to US, two weeks ago I asked at Starbucks (a girl in the counter not on the phone) what beverages were gluten free, the answer was: "only the coffee and the unflavored teas"

I have to say that I was very disappointed... and now it seems that the girl was wrong???

If I got it right in US I can have everything except the Christmas beverages and the java chips (which we don't have in Europe and don't know what they are...)

help!!

thank you,

alba.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,145
    • Total Posts
      919,571
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I found when I went gluten free I started eating more dairy and that gave me worse stomach aches and bloating than the gluten did. So now I have to avoid gluten and dairy.  Maybe you have a similar problem with something you are eating.  I hope you feel better soon.  
    • Hi! I received my "official" celiac diagnosis last week. I had an endoscopy last month that was originally looking for ulcers and h. pylori, but they did some biopsies of my duodenum since they were in the neighborhood and the biopsy came back "consistent with Celiac's disease" and later. They urged me to get my blood checked and follow up with my primary doctor. My blood work came back negative, but my doctor was confident it's Celiac so told me to stay away from gluten. I've been completely gluten free (or to the best of my knowledge) for 2 weeks now, and my results are mixed. At first, I felt great! My stomach was no longer CRAZY bloated once I stopped eating pasta and bread, my acne started healing, and the red rash on the back of my arms started to fade. That was the first few days. Lately, though, my acne is once again flaring up and I've been SO EXHAUSTED. I feel so tired all the time. Even now I have fatigue in my head, limbs, and I could hardly walk or move my body earlier today. I'm overweight and I like to go to the gym, but what used to be an easy workout for me is kicking my ass! I used to go to the gym and tear it up: HIIT on the treadmill followed by 40 minutes of heavy weight lifting. Now I can hardly finish 3 reps in my first set without feeling like a nap. I can't run anymore because my body feels clumsy and heavy. Also, I'm still bloated. I don't suffer from painful, acute bloating, but I struggle to pass gas and I look like I have pregnant belly. I think I'm also retaining water all over my body, and I'm not sure if that's normal? For whatever reason, I have this belief that water is mainly retained in the core and not arms, legs, and face. Anyway, I'd love to hear what you have to say/what you've experienced. Is this typical to first going gluten free?
    • Thanks Stephanie & Gemini for the info. that the 4 of 5 doesn't apply to children. I wasn't aware of that until now. 
    • I think the posters above have given you very good information and I will throw in my 2 cents worth.  I am surprised that they did not test her DGP IgA also.  I am sure that would have been positive.  They switched off with antibody classes and usually they do both tests for both antibodies.  IgA is more specific to Celiac but the IgG is also useful.  The testing shows your daughter is producing antibodies to the gluten in her diet. (DGP IGG). THe tTg shows positive for some damage or inflammation. You know........your daughter is only 4.  She hasn't been on the planet or eating gluten that long. It can take years for enough damage to occur for it to be able to be found on biopsy.  I would say it is highly likely that this is Celiac, especially with her symptoms. But because the damage hasn't graduated to bad enough yet, they won't diagnose her. I think you need to do what others have said and get all copies of testing and find someone else who will take a look and give a diagnosis, especially if they have you do a dietary trial and her symptoms go away.  That might be the only recourse if you want faster proof. I know I would want faster.  I would not really be happy if I thought I had to keep feeding her something that was making her sick.  If you keep her on gluten long enough, the diarrhea will probably show up. BTW.........the criteria mentioned regarding diagnosis does not apply to kids.  I know it's silly and stupid but most leading Celiac specialists do not go by this criteria for kids.......adults only.  Keep that in mind because it might come up.  You could recognize it but they might not. Have you considered gene testing, to help bolster a diagnosis? As far as false positives go, it's the other way around. False negatives happen more frequently than many people think.  It's a recurring theme here.  With her symptoms, which is what I had, a bloated belly and tummy aches are telling.  Have they tested her for lactose intolerance?  That can cause similar symptoms, although it sure won't raise those 2 blood tests.  Keep looking for Celiac because there are many red flags here.
    • This 4 out of 5 criteria does not apply to children. I was never given a reason why, but it isn't.     That said, you may try to get a second opinion from another GI who may be willing to give her a firm dx.  We were in your boat 6 years ago and while I'm sure I'll get slammed for it, I wish we had kept gluten in our kiddos diet till he scoped positive for a variety of reasons.  Again, even family is different and you have to find what is best for you!
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,177
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    lolobaggins
    Joined