Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

gluten-free Ranch Dressing
0

28 posts in this topic

Hi

We are a ranch dressing home. We like Annie's, but I need something that is more readily available. Does anyone know about Kraft, Hidden Valley, Wishbone, Newman's Own, etc...

Thanks!! :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
Hi

We are a ranch dressing home. We like Annie's, but I need something that is more readily available. Does anyone know about Kraft, Hidden Valley, Wishbone, Newman's Own, etc...

Thanks!! :D

All of Newman's are gluten free EXCEPT, Family Italian. Kraft will always list. Hidden Valley in the bottle, at last check was not gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I do use hidden valley...here is their response....

All Hidden Valley products are labeled in accordance with the FDA food labeling requirements, including the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (Title II of Public Law 108-282) which requires foods to be labeled that contain the major food allergens: milk, eggs, fish, Crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat and soybeans. Although most flavors of Hidden Valley dressing contain dairy, refer to the ingredients statement on the back of each Hidden Valley product to find this declaration

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, but Hidden Valley has vinegar, not distilled vinegar. That's one thing I've always been unclear on. So I didn't think I could use it. I use Wishbone. The ingredients look OK to me and I've had no problems with it...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

At least in Canada and the USA, "vinegar" when it appears as a single unqualified word in an ingredient list is safe. The only vinegar to worry about is malt vinegar, which is not distilled (all other types are), and it must be labelled as "malt vinegar." It cannot legally be listed as simply "vinegar" without the "malt" adjective.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




At least in Canada and the USA, "vinegar" when it appears as a single unqualified word in an ingredient list is safe. The only vinegar to worry about is malt vinegar, which is not distilled (all other types are), and it must be labelled as "malt vinegar." It cannot legally be listed as simply "vinegar" without the "malt" adjective.

REALLY? You just made my day :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to make sure I have emailed the company and will let you know the response! I have used Hidden Valley for awhile now with no problems and I react easily!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called Hidden Valley a couple of months ago, and the original ranch is gluten free, but some of the variations are not. I stick with the original ranch...it's so good! :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
All of Newman's are gluten free EXCEPT, Family Italian. Kraft will always list. Hidden Valley in the bottle, at last check was not gluten free.

...."at last check" may have been a year ago when there WAS concern about the Vinegar. I would love to use Hidden Vally. I always considered it the best.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks everyone! Now I can shop easier (and cheaper)!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

anyone find a ranch dressing that is

dairy, soy, gluten-free, casein, peanut FREE.

IF SO I SURE HAVEN'T FOUND IT.

GETTING TIRED OF DRY SALAD. :o

JUDY

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
anyone find a ranch dressing that is

dairy, soy, gluten-free, casein, peanut FREE.

IF SO I SURE HAVEN'T FOUND IT.

GETTING TIRED OF DRY SALAD. :o

JUDY

assuming peanut free doesn't mean all-nut free, then you can make your own out of cashews. the recipe is on my As Promised, A Few Recipes thread, iirc. I personally prefer raspberry salad dressing. ;) or honey mustard.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
anyone find a ranch dressing that is

dairy, soy, gluten-free, casein, peanut FREE.

IF SO I SURE HAVEN'T FOUND IT.

GETTING TIRED OF DRY SALAD. :o

JUDY

I found this recipe that describes the dressing as an avacado-mayonaise style sauce, I guess the avacado acts as the cream/mayo

1 avocado

1/4 c. rice milk (or other acceptable milk)

2 dashes of paprika

1 T lemon juice

2 heaping teaspoons dijon mustard (would this be OK?)

one grind of salt

pepper

I also looked up the ingredients that would be found in ranch dressing and they are:

2 teaspoons sugar

1/2 teaspoon vinegar

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon finely chopped fresh dill

1/4 teaspoon finely chopped fresh parsley

1/8 teaspoon onion powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 dash of paprika

---These added to 1/4 cup of mashed avacado and 1/4 rice milk (or whatever). I might have to try this, sounds much healthier than regular ranch!!!

I also found this website that's pretty cool: www.danandsally.com

If anyone tries either recipe let me know how it turns out!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For gluten-free ranch I use the hidden valley dry mix (buttermilk) and add my own milk, sour cream and mayo..its the best and last up to 3 weeks after its prepared..

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
For gluten-free ranch I use the hidden valley dry mix (buttermilk) and add my own milk, sour cream and mayo..its the best and last up to 3 weeks after its prepared..

so the dry mixes are gluten-free too? sweet!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is Hidden Valley's response.....THey will clearly list ingredients....

Thank you for contacting us about HV Full Cal Easy Squeeze Salad Dressing - Original Ranch. We always appreciate hearing from our consumers.

The FDA requires that we list the following allergens on our ingredient labels:

1. Egg

2. Soybean (excluding high refined oil)

3. Dairy

4. Peanut

5. Wheat (barley, rye, oats, or any source of gluten)

6. Fish

7. Crustacean

8. Tree Nut

The modified food starch is derived from corn.For the most accurate source of information, please check the back of the ingredient panel for every purchase as ingredients may change.

Again, thank you for contacting us.

Sincerely,

Marie Mendez

Consumer Response Representative

Consumer Services

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Check out Litehouse and Renees. Go onto their website or email them and this should give you the info your looking for. Almost all litehouse products are gluten-free. It's been a while since i had Ranch kraft. But as of 3 years ago it was gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Here is Hidden Valley's response.....THey will clearly list ingredients....

Thank you for contacting us about HV Full Cal Easy Squeeze Salad Dressing - Original Ranch. We always appreciate hearing from our consumers.

The FDA requires that we list the following allergens on our ingredient labels:

1. Egg

2. Soybean (excluding high refined oil)

3. Dairy

4. Peanut

5. Wheat (barley, rye, oats, or any source of gluten)

6. Fish

7. Crustacean

8. Tree Nut

The modified food starch is derived from corn.For the most accurate source of information, please check the back of the ingredient panel for every purchase as ingredients may change.

Again, thank you for contacting us.

Sincerely,

Marie Mendez

Consumer Response Representative

Consumer Services

Yeah!!!! Jess comes through :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Based on their answer you should be able to get the original mix too b/c I don't think it has gluten in the ingredients either!!!

Here is a fun recipe for the mix:

2 lg bags of glutino pretzels

1 tblsp dill weed

1 tsp garlic powder

1 bottle Orvilles Popping and Topping(Last I checked it was gluten-free and they will list on teh bottle)

Mix it all together and ENJOY!!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whoops....

Add a hidden valley ranch dip mix to those four other ingedients!!! :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ranch dressing is easy to make from scratch:

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1/4 buttermilk (plain milk works, too)

garlic powder

onion powder

dried dill

dried parsely

squeeze of lemon

pinch of fresh ground pepper

Mix with fork, dump on salad, dig in!

Judy,I think you could use rice milk, but I don't know what to substitute for the mayo--is there a rice-based yogurt available? Or could you make your own mayo with canola oil?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
For gluten-free ranch I use the hidden valley dry mix (buttermilk) and add my own milk, sour cream and mayo..its the best and last up to 3 weeks after its prepared..

I do the same thing, it's great. Put a little garlic fresh or bottle in yummy !!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5. Wheat (barley, rye, oats, or any source of gluten)

so is this a standard? they will list any form of gluten as a "wheat" ingredient?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From what they told me, they will list any form of gluten on the package...if it contains gluten!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kraft makes a light ranch dressing that is gluten free. I was really pleased that I bought this before going gluten free and found it to be the only dressing out of about 10 I have in my cabinets that is gluten free! It's decent too!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,376
    • Total Posts
      920,581
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Consider using our forum private message feature to protect privacy....just in case you all did not know 😉 !
    • Hi Beachgrl, It won't hurt anything to go gluten-free now, except the possibility of getting a diagnosis of celiac disease.  When i went gluten-free, it seemed like the initial changes were spread over about 6 weeks.  I had gut spasms for that time.  And other changes, all for the better.  Initial recovery from celiac damage can take up to 18 months, so it can be a slow thing.  Some people get better much faster of course, because we are all individuals and not identical. Going gluten-free for celiac disease is a lifetime commitment though, and some people have a hard time doing that without a diagnosis.  Even minor amounts of gluten can cause us to react, so it is best to eat a very simple diet of whole foods at first.  Avoid dairy and processed foods.  I hope it works out for you.  I know some people with Crohns disease eat gluten-free and find it helps them.  Gluten is a tough thing to digest for all people, but most don't have an immune reaction to it like celiacs do.  
    • Honestly, I would not trust the school to provide a gluten-free meal except for fruit, salads, veggies, etc. I sub in a school cafeteria and I swear everything is breaded or on bread. Utensils are shared. They're very clean but unless you have a very knowledgeable person in there, I just wouldn't chance it. I found a slim Jim type snack that says gluten-free on it. If you want to give me your email or FB account, I can send you some very valuable info on 504's though. They carry the student right through college. I kept a copy of what a friend wrote about her daughter being in a sorority and just how the 504 helped immensely. But, I would definitely get one and still be prepared to pack a lunch. All our meals are delivered frozen and we just hear them up. If your school actually fixes food, that's different. 
    • Oh, I would suggest providing gluten-free goodies (e.g. Candy) or even a frozen cupcake (kept in the teacher's freezer) in the event of a party.  My daughter's classmate is severely allergic to peanuts.  Her mom did that and Abby was never left out!  😊
    • Hi Nobody, Welcome to the forum!  I noticed you said you have been avoiding wheat products.  That's good, but are you avoiding rye and barley also?  Wheat, rye, and barley are the 3 grains that cause reactions in celiac patients.  About 10% also react to oats. If you haven't had the full celiac antibodies test panel, it might be worthwhile getting that done now.  The ttg is just a basic test and is generally followed up by an endoscopy or the full celiac panel. I wouldn't worry a lot about getting cancer.  That doesn't happen often. It is possible some of the other grains you might be eating are contaminated.  A group did a test on several off the shelf products a few years ago that would not normally be thought of as having gluten and found some actually did have low levels of gluten.  Things like corn meal for example.    
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,453
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Chelsealarita
    Joined