Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Vans Waffles

16 posts in this topic

our 9 year old son is not celiac, rather he is severely allergic to wheat and barley. specifically he is anaphylactic. when he was a baby he ate vans waffles. now i noticed the "made in a facility that also makes wheat products." has anyone had a bad reaction to vans waffles?

Ads by Google:
our 9 year old son is not celiac, rather he is severely allergic to wheat and barley. specifically he is anaphylactic. when he was a baby he ate vans waffles. now i noticed the "made in a facility that also makes wheat products." has anyone had a bad reaction to vans waffles?

I have been eating them for about 2 years with no problems. I see the "shared" facility statement on a lot of mainstream and speciality products. I view it as a CYA thing. So far I have had no problems with any products that appear gluten free but I might not be as sensitive as others since I have healed. If the ingredient list looks ok I will try most things at least once. One other thing, on some items like UTZ potato chips the ingredient list always looked ok so I ate them. Recently I have noticed under that listing is the statement "This is a Gluten Free Food". The mainstream producers apparently can see the value in making this known.

Tom

I would not allow him to eat these under his particular circumstances. I have not eaten those in a while so I can't answer reliably about CC but his reaction has the potential to be deadly. Personally I would not risk it.

I've never had a problem with these, however since he is an anaphylatic it might be better to avoid these types of products just in case.

UTZ may be a nation-wide company...but its in a small town...they like to take care of their people :)