15 replies to this topic

#1 lindalev1

lindalev1

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 August 2007 - 02:41 PM

our 9 year old son is not celiac, rather he is severely allergic to wheat and barley. specifically he is anaphylactic. when he was a baby he ate vans waffles. now i noticed the "made in a facility that also makes wheat products." has anyone had a bad reaction to vans waffles?

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 par18

par18

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 434 posts

Posted 02 August 2007 - 03:04 PM

our 9 year old son is not celiac, rather he is severely allergic to wheat and barley. specifically he is anaphylactic. when he was a baby he ate vans waffles. now i noticed the "made in a facility that also makes wheat products." has anyone had a bad reaction to vans waffles?

I have been eating them for about 2 years with no problems. I see the "shared" facility statement on a lot of mainstream and speciality products. I view it as a CYA thing. So far I have had no problems with any products that appear gluten free but I might not be as sensitive as others since I have healed. If the ingredient list looks ok I will try most things at least once. One other thing, on some items like UTZ potato chips the ingredient list always looked ok so I ate them. Recently I have noticed under that listing is the statement "This is a Gluten Free Food". The mainstream producers apparently can see the value in making this known.

Tom

#3 ravenwoodglass

ravenwoodglass

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,791 posts

Posted 02 August 2007 - 03:30 PM

I would not allow him to eat these under his particular circumstances. I have not eaten those in a while so I can't answer reliably about CC but his reaction has the potential to be deadly. Personally I would not risk it.
Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying