Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Jello Pudding
0

7 posts in this topic

In case anyone wants to know, I just received an e mail back from Kraft regarding my attempts at making their pudding dairy free (it is also gluten free). I had tried the instant pudding with rice milk and failed terribly as it was just a cold vanilla soup <_< . They said that I can make the cooked pudding using soy milk but that it would just come out a little thicker. My 6 year old son has been dying for pudding every since he went dairy free and he doesn't like the pre-make zen soy brand. If anyone is in the same boat, it is worth a try.

Nicole

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Nicole,

I use vanilla almond milk to make pudding. I use two small packages of Jello Pudding (the type you cook), and three cups of the almond milk. It calls for four (two cups per package), but as they told you, it comes out very thin.

This ratio makes chocolate and vanilla puddings that are just about the perfect thickness. The butterscotch works, too, but is slightly thinner.

To do a pie, I make the pudding as I explained above, then right after I take it off the heat (while still very hot), I whisk in a half cup Enjoy Life Chips until they are completely melted in. After it cools, the chocolate adds extra body.

I can't use soy, but I wouldn't be surprised if this would work with soy milk, too. (It does not work with Vance's dari free.)

My guess is that it needs some fat to work. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thanks for those ideas and tips. So the jello pudding mix is gluten and casein free. I never knew that, boy have i missed jello. I would love it with whip cream tho, is there a way to make that gluten and casein free to lol

paula

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Paula,

Since Jello is a Kraft company, they will clearly list any gluten on the label. All you need to do is read :)

If you can tolerate soy, I've seen this at whole Foods--

http://www.veganessentials.com/catalog/soy...soy-topping.htm

Nope i cant tolerate soy, why do they have to make so many things with soy to replace casein lol. I am hoping that once i heal i can tolerate some of the stuff that i have had to give up lol.

I guess i need to start reading more huh lol. I always just assumed the pudding mix was full of gluten and casein lol, so i never bothered to read it. What im really craving is banana pudding and bananas. I guess i will have to go to the store and see if is is safe lol

paula

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I have made the Kraft vanilla and chocolate pudding with coconut milk and Vance's DariFree. I made the cooked kind and followed the recipe substituting a can of coconut milk and Vance's for the remaining amount. The chocolate turned out especially well. They were the right consistency and everything.

For whip cream, I found some non-dairy whipping "cream" during Passover that didn't have any soy or gluten. It was just like Cool Whip after I made it. Unfortunately, I didn't stock up on it at the time so now I'll have to wait until next year. If you can tolerate soy lecithin, there is Rich's RichWhip that you can use. It is in the frozen section in a little 1/2 pint milk carton.

I felt like I had discovered gold when I figured out how to make pudding with whip cream that was gluten, casein, and soy-free!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've made some using rice milk. It wasn't Jell-O but an organic brand. I used less milk than they called for and cooked it a little longer. Daughter liked it but I thought it was a bit runny.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,099
    • Total Posts
      920,354
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Oh, Trish at the GlutenFreeWatchDog tested Planter's honey roasted peanuts three years ago.  The can did not state gluten-free, but showed no gluten ingrediants (per Kraft policy).  Test result: less than 5 part per million which is pretty much gluten-free.  
    • What if it were something else that glutened you?  Maybe you ate too much of a good thing?  I once (three months post dx) ate too much gluten-free fried chicken, vomited, passed out and fractured my back (osteoporosis) in the process.  Paramedics, ER doc and Cardio all thought I was having a heart attack.   No.  It was sheer gluttony and bad bones.  Not good to overload with a damaged gut.    Maybe you did get some contaminated nuts.  Afterall, anything processed is suspect.  What might be well tolerated by some, might be too much for others.  We all have our various levels of gluten intolerance.   The old 20 parts per million is just a guideline, but science does not really know (lack of funding......doe anyone really care enough to find out?)  My hubby has been gluten-free for 15 years.  When I was first diagnosed, I tried to eat the gluten-free foods that I normally gave him.   Problem was he was healed and I was not.  Things like Xanthan Gum in commercial processed gluten-free breads make me feel like I have been glutened, but it is just (and still is) an intolerance.  So no bread for me unless I make it myself using a different gum.   Too lazy, so I do without.   so, ask your doctor if you really want to know or lay off the cashews and test them again in a month using a certified gluten-free nut.  I wish this was easier!    
    • I have intolerances to a few foods now, so I was wondering about that.. I love cashews though, and a month or two ago I was eating them all the time with no problems at all. I mean, could I really have developed an intolerance to them since then? I don't know if they're made on shared lines (it didn't say on the package so I assumed they weren't), but I'll give them a call. I'm really, really sensitive to cross contamination. Even if something is just made in the same facility (but not on shared lines) it will make me sick. If that's not it, then I'm not really sure
    • Research with KP and find a celiac-savvy GI in your area ( read the biographies). and ask your PCP/GP for a referral to that specific GI (not his buddy).  Ask the GI for the rest  of the celiac panel or proceed with an endoscopy/biopsies -- 4 to six.  Keep eating gluten daily until all testing is complete.  Document and request in writing.  Do not worry about symptoms.  There are over 300 of them and some celiacs have none!   Research all that you can about celiac disease.  The University of Chicago has a great celiac website that has testing Information etc.   Poet me know how it works out.  Hope you feel better soon!  
    • I react to both wheat and barley.  I've opted to just go completely gluten free, for the sake of simplicity and my sanity.  I don't have a diagnosis of celiac disease, but I strongly suspect it.  Unfortunately, I'm not willing to endure the misery of staying on gluten long enough to pursue further testing.  I just know I need to avoid the gluten grains, so I do.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,134
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Alinapep
    Joined