Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Worchestersauce And A1 Sauce
0

14 posts in this topic

Since I'm new at this (just over 3 weeks) I still just forget and eat stuff, darn! I had Lea and Perrins Worchester Sauce and I'm not sure if its ok, it looks ok but what do I know.

I didn't eat the A1 Sauce but I do love the stuff and would like to know if I can use it in the future. I went to the Kraft web site and they don't list any real nutritional information about it. Shame on them!

Does anyone know?

Susan :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
;) i had a bottle of kroger worchestershire sauce in my hand last night and it stated wheat on the bottle--so i would call to be sure--otay ;) deb
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You may want to check with the company, but I do believe that Lea&Perins in gluten-free in the US (not Canada).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
:D i just was checking out the mainstream gluten-free list and it states that lea & perrins is gluten-free------so :P enjoy---deb
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lea and Perrins is gluten-free. So was French's last time I checked.

Don't get mad at Kraft. Kraft clearly lists any gluten in any product in the ingredients. All you have to do is pick up a bottle and read the ingredients. This is how I wish EVERY company would be.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Hmmmm, well the ingredients in my A1 Sauce (garlic flavor) are:

(an * by the ones I'm not sure are gluten-free)

tomato puree

vinegar

molasses

corn syrup

salt

raisin paste

roasted garlic puree

*spice

orange puree

dried garlic

dried onions

*carmel color

*natural flavor

sugar

tamarind

It has no warning for gluten, or wheat ingredients but I'm just not sure.

Susan

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Because you don't see the words "wheat," "rye," or "barley" in those ingredients, according to Kraft's policy, it's gluten-free. If any of the ingredients you marked had wheat, rye, or barley, it would have said so.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A1 is safe. I have it all the time.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I found a food list, dont know where now... I can look for it if anyone wants that said Frenchs Worcestersire is gluten-free. I know Lea and Perrins is and they also have a steak sauce thats gluten-free.. Heinz 57 is not BOOO HOOOO!!

When I see just vinegar, I get worried...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are you sure Heinz 57 is not gluten-free? It was listed on one of the other sites as being "safe". I just read the label and I could not find anything obviously incriminating. Anyone?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Heinz 57 is not on Heinz's gluten-free list at its web site -- or it wasn't last time I looked.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Are you sure Heinz 57 is not gluten-free?

Heinz 57 is not gluten free, but Heinz Tomato Ketchup is. Weird, I know. But that's what Heinz says. Safeway Tomato Ketchup is gluten-free, too. Then my boyfriend goes out and buys Hunt's Ketchup. NOT gluten-free. Ugh. I told him to get his money back. Dork. :lol:

PS: YAY for A-1 sauce! I love that stuff! I'm totally buying that now!! Woo hoo!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
PS: YAY for A-1 sauce! I love that stuff! I'm totally buying that now!! Woo hoo!

I was so hoping that A-1 was not gluten free; I can't stand the smell of it and Dh consumes it like it was, well, sauce. So every year when we come back I am condemned to A-1 again, sometimes on poached egg!!, a double whammy :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Are you sure Heinz 57 is not gluten-free? It was listed on one of the other sites as being "safe". I just read the label and I could not find anything obviously incriminating. Anyone?

I do believe the "malt vinegar" on Heinz 57 is made with barley malt - so it won't be labeled but it is NOT gluten-free. I think it is labeled as such but it is definitely NOT gluten-free :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,684
    • Total Posts
      921,741
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Hello, I have frequent canker sores (roughly comes back every couple of months). Some blood test results are as following. Component Your Value Standard Range TISSUE TRANSGLUTAMINASE IgG 0.31 Index <=0.90 Index Tissue transglutaminase IgA 0.96 Index <=0.90 Index My doctor said that result is unspecific, and I unlikely have celiac disease, since I do not have other abdominal symptoms. For reference, I do have frequent constipation, excessive gas, frequent canker sore, etc. Do you think an upper endoscopy is recommended? I am a little hesitate considering the risk of this procedure and the fact that my symptoms are not that bad. I appreciate all suggestions.  
    • Hello, I see you posted this a long while ago, and perhaps--I hope-- it's no longer a matter of concern, but I thought I'd mention that shortly before I was diagnosed for celiac's, I had distinct yellow blotches on the corners of my eyelids toward my nose. Some months after I had stopped eating gluten, the yellow gradually went away, and--as it just reappeared now several years later, I googled the issue again.  I am only speculating here, but I do believe it is related to liver problems, which, in turn, are related to celiac's. I don't think liver function tests cover all aspects of liver health. I say this because when I was pregnant I developed a temporary liver condition called interhepatic colestasis of pregnancy (ICP), but my liver function tests had been fine. (The condition is diagnosed based on bile levels in the blood, not on liver function). I discovered upon some research that (of course!) ICP  can be associated with celiac's disease.  My hunch is this-- that celiac's presents two problems to the liver: 1) the malabsorption of nutrients--esp. Vit. K2-- that are vital liver health; 2) since gluten registers as a toxin to the immune system (I think?), perhaps the liver gets overloaded processing so much toxic material. Or perhaps there's some other reason. At any rate, poor liver health and celiac's do seem to be linked, according to a few articles I've found. Anyway, hope your problems are resolved now.  
    • my daughter did stool test from enterolab but this gluten sensitive blood test is from http://requestatest.com/tests/search    
    • OK, was your daughter tested by a doctor or did you do one of these order online stool tests? And the same question goes for your tests. Can you give a link to the company?
    • NO. Approx. 1/3 of the population carries the genes for celiac but that does NOT mean they will ever present with celiac. Only a small percentage of them will. A gene test is really used more to rule out celiac rather than to diagnose it. What I meant was that since your daughter is diagnosed and IF you carry one or both of the celiac genes then there is a greater chance you are celiac or "early stages" especially in light of your symptoms. All 3 of those factors weighed together was what I was referring to.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,685
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    jhc
    Joined