Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Caramel
0

11 posts in this topic

I thought caramel was a no-no. Come to think of it, I'm not sure where I got that idea, but it has been solidly in my mind.

Recently, I've seen a couple of references to items that contain caramel as being gluten-free. A cake recipe and most recently some kind of candy.

Is caramel always a concern? A concern under certain conditions? Never a concern (any more than the average item)?

Please put me on the right path. Thank you!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
I thought caramel was a no-no. Come to think of it, I'm not sure where I got that idea, but it has been solidly in my mind.

Recently, I've seen a couple of references to items that contain caramel as being gluten-free. A cake recipe and most recently some kind of candy.

Is caramel always a concern? A concern under certain conditions? Never a concern (any more than the average item)?

Please put me on the right path. Thank you!

I think it was one of the old thoughts that became clarified with time. I do remember it being a concern a few years ago.

But, there are some people here who cannot drink Coke or Pepsi, but will be fine with 7-up. I have never had any issues with caramel coloring or other.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey jaten,

I have a book titled "Gluten Free Diet" by Shelley Case and in it it says this about caramel color:

* Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolsates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose syrup derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten. *

Here is her bio so I trust her book. :)

Shelley Case, BSc., RD, is a leading North American nutrition expert on celiac disease and the gluten-free diet. She is a member of the Medical Advisory Boards of the Celiac Disease Foundation and Gluten Intolerance Group in the United States and the Professional Advisory Board of the Canadian Celiac Association. A popular speaker and educator, she is a frequent gurest on television and radio, including the NBC Today Show. She has written many articles in publicagions such as Gastroenterology, Pediatrics, Jouranal of Human Nutrition and Dietetics and Today's Dietitian. In recognition for her dedication to educating health professionals and individuals with celiac disease in North America, Shelley received the Queen Elizabeth Golden Jubilee Medal.

Hope this helps, I find this book a great resource!

Joni

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Caramel

Color Golden brown to dark brown

Source Burnt sugar and other carbohydrates

Solubility water

Stability

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Most caramel coloring is safe, and a lot of caramel candies are safe as well (the ones my grandmother makes are). Carmel color comes from the chemical reaction of heating sugar, sugars is gluten free (but not necessarily casein free); thus, true caramel is gluten free. However, artificial crap tends not to be safe, the real thing, or anywhere near as good as the real thing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Shouldn't be a concern for gluten, but might be a concern if you can't have dairy. The coloring is usually free of dairy but the candies aren't.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And, if it (or any other ingredient) were to be wheat, wheat related, wheat derived, etc....it would be required to be listed by FDA law, since wheat is an 8 main allergen.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
And, if it (or any other ingredient) were to be wheat, wheat related, wheat derived, etc....it would be required to be listed by FDA law, since wheat is an 8 main allergen.

Yes, but this does not cover barley, rye, oats.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you all for your answers. Joni, that does sound like a good source, and it corresponds to something I have since read on my own.

"Caramel color According to the FDA Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), caramel color can be made from barley malt. But US companies use corn because it makes a better product."

From GlutenFreeLiving http://glutenfreeliving.com/ingredients.html

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thank you all for your answers. Joni, that does sound like a good source, and it corresponds to something I have since read on my own.

"Caramel color According to the FDA Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), caramel color can be made from barley malt. But US companies use corn because it makes a better product."

From GlutenFreeLiving http://glutenfreeliving.com/ingredients.html

It is a great source. It was a pricey $25.00, but it has detailed information on every ingredient a celiac should question and which ones are safe, and it has all the current FDA regulations. Theres a section about vitamins in foods and vitamin deficiencies of the celiac, some general baking hints and a few recipes, and a list of gluten free products and manufacturers. It is really helping me clear up my questions about what ingredients I can eat safely and when I have to call companies.

Also, there are some companies who will clearly say that their labeling policy is to list all barley, rye, oats and wheat in their products. Progesso for example, is one of them. I tend to stick with those companies.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Although for the most part the caramel color is made with cornstarch in the US I believe some still use gluten as well. I have no dairy intolerance and have had a reaction twice to two different products whose only incriminating ingredient was caramel color. Now actual caramel I have not had a problem with.

Hope this helps.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,337
    • Total Posts
      920,459
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Acne are not itchy or only mildly itchy and they look like red bumps with or without white centers. The bumps are quite separated from each other. What did you start to eat after going gluten-free? More fruits and sugary foods? This can trigger acne.  http://www.ehealthstar.com/conditions/acne-vulgaris Dermatitis herpetiformis can be very itchy and the bumps are more close together and they tend to crust over.  
    • What about Xanthan gum?  It really bothers me, so I avoid most commercially processed gluten-free breads, etc.  Never bothers my hubby though.  
    • I use to get them before I went gluten-free.  I stopped eating oats because it also does give me canker sores and causes my toes to get cracked underneath.  
    • I had quite a few of the medical problems that you have before I figured out that gluten was the problem. I can’t do basic math or writing when I eat gluten also I get depressed, irritable, low energy, etc. The best route to go is to do an elimination diet and monitor how certain foods affect you. I eliminated MSG (Monosodium Glutamate), Nitrite, and oat based on the reactions that I get once I consume them. You must be disciplined on a gluten free diet, there is not such a thing as –It is just one cookie! If you can manage to go 100% gluten-free for three weeks and you see those problems going away, you will have a good idea if that is the cause of your problems. The blood test I did after being gluten-free for two years came back negative so the doctor just make me feel that I was crazy and making things up. I have a stool test done which came back with elevated igA also a gene test indicating I have two genes that code for gluten sensitivity. My lactose intolerance went away too, eating a lot of cheese now. Rash in arms? gone, Brown spots in teeth? Gone, Intestinal noises? Gone, Lack of bladder control? Gone, Constipation? Gone, and a lot others.   
    • Oh you're most welcome!  Another thing --- no steroids, oral or injected for 2 months prior to a dh biopsy. Lay off any topical steroid creams for 2 weeks prior. Really, stand your ground with them. It would also be great if you can get a friend or family member to go with you in case they take the biopsy from somewhere that you can't see such as the back of your neck. Your friend/family member can watch to make sure they don't take it directly ON a lesion. Do you have a primary care doc? You can also go to that doc & ask for a full celiac panel PLUS an eTG or TG3. 60% of people with dh test negative on the celiac blood panel but maybe you're one of the 40% who will test positive. It's worth a shot.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,404
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    GKosmac
    Joined